3rd Party Models/Media Chat / Wizardofid's media 3 (2018)

Author
Message
wizard of id
3D Media Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2006
Location: Sunny South Africa
Posted: 17th Jan 2018 05:55
So new year a new thread.After going on holiday, all refreshed and all. I decided to start out fresh as well, in between doing various projects, working on my world content, and stuff for game guru, things got a bit messy, just better to get a clean slate.

Took a week or two decide what I want to do and decided on revisiting previous released projects and see what I can improve.I happened on one of the earliest projects released on the store, which was a sewer, While the sewer was nice, it only had a few parts which made it's reuse limited.The objective this time around is create a more complete sewer system that will allow reuse and large scale level population, low polygon, with lots of details, side rooms and multi level approach.

The progress so far. It took a while to find matching textures that work with one another, also needed to render a few texture, like the fence and some of the floor grates.I have complete the main sections, and able to move off to creating additional content, like doors, pipes, side rooms.As for 2018 I am looking forward to pushing out new ideas and improve skills as well in the process.


Win7 64bit----iCore5 4590 @ 3.7GHZ----AMD RX460 2gb----16gig ram
wizard of id
3D Media Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2006
Location: Sunny South Africa
Posted: 18th Jan 2018 10:35
Spend most of yesterday and today without power, but managed at least to add side corridors, this will connect with the bottom level and with the side rooms.Next will be one with bars and one with a metal door.

Win7 64bit----iCore5 4590 @ 3.7GHZ----AMD RX460 2gb----16gig ram
wizard of id
3D Media Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2006
Location: Sunny South Africa
Posted: 18th Jan 2018 15:35
Quick engine test to get some idea of the end result, pictures perhaps a bit on the darkside, the floor grates are a bit much, so will need to alternate between, grates, concrete and no floor.General idea is there and fairly happy will need to tweak the PBR some more.



Win7 64bit----iCore5 4590 @ 3.7GHZ----AMD RX460 2gb----16gig ram
Stab in the Dark software
GameGuru TGC Backer
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Dec 2002
Location: Upstate New York USA
Posted: 19th Jan 2018 00:58
Looks very nice so far. It might not be too dark when we get proper lighting in GG.
Do you mind if I ask what modeling software are you using and are you using a different
software for PBR texturing?
The coffee is lovely dark and deep,and I have code to write before I sleep.
wizard of id
3D Media Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2006
Location: Sunny South Africa
Posted: 19th Jan 2018 04:05
Softimage.

Manually producing PBR rextures with gimp when working on large objects.
Win7 64bit----iCore5 4590 @ 3.7GHZ----AMD RX460 2gb----16gig ram
wizard of id
3D Media Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2006
Location: Sunny South Africa
Posted: 19th Jan 2018 15:48
Wasn't loving the grates all that much, adding bridge parts looks significantly better and will be a separate entity, so useful, also added one for straight sections, also added stairs to reach the bottom level, so if a player does fall off or path is blocked, can always be accessed again.

Win7 64bit----iCore5 4590 @ 3.7GHZ----AMD RX460 2gb----16gig ram
wizard of id
3D Media Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2006
Location: Sunny South Africa
Posted: 19th Jan 2018 17:46
So I thought I would post some thing interesting while in the process of importing parts of the sewer, especially with the recent debate, uv maps and mapping large objects.



While my method is limited, especially if you want apply, mask as such, been using this method for a while now.I am not using a single atlas texture to render instead use various texture sources, I am able merge the mesh and render it out as a unique texture and uvmap which combines all the textures in to a single file.However for large objects texture sized gets reduce and results in numerous issues.

The way around this, is to delete exact duplicates and only render out each copy, because they then all share the same texture space, you can simply extract and duplicate faces and paste them were they are needed to complete the final mesh, merge and export, because they then all share the same uv space it is handy for dealing with seamless textures. Only down side is it does increase polygon count slightly, and texture variation is a bit lacking, plus side is that you don't have to worry about orientation or grouping of uv meshes, it also allows using a 100 different textures and you can also add masks directly in the model editor if you wanted to .What I do like is that each mesh part uv map is automatically scaled based on mesh size.

PBR can then be rendered, by extracting information needed from the color, height, AO, and specular map, downside of that is that the specular map needs to be 100% perfect for the gloss map and metalness map, and may require manually editing.


Rendered texture, there is still duplicates that can be removed, but not really needed as the texture sizes is correct and will match up with the rest of the meshes



Polygon faces duplicated and the final mesh, seamlessly assembled.

Win7 64bit----iCore5 4590 @ 3.7GHZ----AMD RX460 2gb----16gig ram
Tarkus1971
Reviewed GameGuru on Steam
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2015
Location: England, UK
Posted: 19th Jan 2018 18:44
Great stuff WOI. Yet another of your packs I have to purchase once it is complete.
Aftershock Quad Core AMD FM2+ 3.5 GHz 8GB Motherboard and Processor, A7700k apu, Asus GT970 STRIX 4gb Nvidia gfx card.
King Korg Synth, Alesis SR18 Drum Machine, Akai MPX8 sample player, Roland Fantom XA Synth, Axus Digital AXK2 Digital Drum Kit, Novation Ultranova Synth, Waldorf Blofeld Synth, Bluedio Vicotry V Headphones, AKG K141 Studio Headphones, Lenovo Ideapad, with Windows 10 64bit, 8Gb Ram and AMD A10 7th Gen Graphics.
Bugsy
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2008
Location: Savannah
Posted: 19th Jan 2018 19:36
fantastic work! I'd love to learn more about your texturing methods.
wizard of id
3D Media Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2006
Location: Sunny South Africa
Posted: 20th Jan 2018 16:25 Edited at: 20th Jan 2018 19:41
Slow process of importing.









Win7 64bit----iCore5 4590 @ 3.7GHZ----AMD RX460 2gb----16gig ram
wizard of id
3D Media Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2006
Location: Sunny South Africa
Posted: 21st Jan 2018 19:16
Ran into a problem with the normal in the shader isn't blending edges all that well, the drawback because of the shader issue, had to tune the normal map to almost nothing. I think with normal, stand alone models this does pose an issues.


Got a big chunk imported today, and just felt like messing about a with all the sliders, in game it isn't that dark....oh well, none the less coming along nicely so far.
Win7 64bit----iCore5 4590 @ 3.7GHZ----AMD RX460 2gb----16gig ram
granada
GameGuru TGC Backer
16
Years of Service
Recently Online
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 21st Jan 2018 19:45
Very nice wizard of id,coming on well.

Dave
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
GeForce GTX 1050 Ti
AMD FX (tm)-9590 Eight-core Processor
31.96 GB RAM
1920x1080,60 Hz
PM
wizard of id
3D Media Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2006
Location: Sunny South Africa
Posted: 22nd Jan 2018 07:34
Thanks mate.

I added the additional entity layer of pipes for the bottom level and spices up things alot, and can now bring back the grate as a separate entity.Will be doing some pipe work now for the 3rd layer, after which I will move onto adding the angled sewer parts.


Win7 64bit----iCore5 4590 @ 3.7GHZ----AMD RX460 2gb----16gig ram
TazMan
GameGuru TGC Backer
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Jan 2011
Location: Worldwide Web
Posted: 22nd Jan 2018 12:05
Hi Wizard, just a note I can't see any of your images. I have checked other people and theirs are showing fine.

Not sure what is happening here.
HP Pavilion Laptop - AMD A8-4555M APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics - 1.6GHz, 8GB Memory, Windows 10 Home, 64-bit Operating System.

I've got something to say - It's better to burn out than fade away.
Belidos
3D Media Maker
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Location: Hertfordshire
Posted: 22nd Jan 2018 13:22
They're showing fine for me Taz

Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.
wizard of id
3D Media Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2006
Location: Sunny South Africa
Posted: 22nd Jan 2018 13:34 Edited at: 22nd Jan 2018 13:35
@TazMan

I am hosting mine externally on imgur
Win7 64bit----iCore5 4590 @ 3.7GHZ----AMD RX460 2gb----16gig ram
reyandekcire
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2016
Location:
Posted: 22nd Jan 2018 18:39
Great models, would expand nicely any urban level.
PM
wizard of id
3D Media Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2006
Location: Sunny South Africa
Posted: 23rd Jan 2018 08:25
Another layer added.

Win7 64bit----iCore5 4590 @ 3.7GHZ----AMD RX460 2gb----16gig ram
wizard of id
3D Media Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2006
Location: Sunny South Africa
Posted: 23rd Jan 2018 17:54
Bit slower today as normal had a few things to do around the house, but added some new bits, the sewer still isn't enclosed, added a corner and just have to add a dead end to complete the loop so to speak.

Currently addicted to 8 bit electro, quick preview video.
Win7 64bit----iCore5 4590 @ 3.7GHZ----AMD RX460 2gb----16gig ram
Tarkus1971
Reviewed GameGuru on Steam
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2015
Location: England, UK
Posted: 23rd Jan 2018 19:56
Great Work Wizard, I like it a lot.
Aftershock Quad Core AMD FM2+ 3.5 GHz 8GB Motherboard and Processor, A7700k apu, Asus GT970 STRIX 4gb Nvidia gfx card.
King Korg Synth, Alesis SR18 Drum Machine, Akai MPX8 sample player, Roland Fantom XA Synth, Axus Digital AXK2 Digital Drum Kit, Novation Ultranova Synth, Waldorf Blofeld Synth, Bluedio Vicotry V Headphones, AKG K141 Studio Headphones, Lenovo Ideapad, with Windows 10 64bit, 8Gb Ram and AMD A10 7th Gen Graphics.
TazMan
GameGuru TGC Backer
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Jan 2011
Location: Worldwide Web
Posted: 24th Jan 2018 14:55
What I see with the images is a broken link symbol, I had a look on Google Chrome too just in case it was Firefox but got the same.

Your videos seem to be showing up for me though.

The Sewer looks pretty grate (excuse the pun), nice work.

Andrew...
HP Pavilion Laptop - AMD A8-4555M APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics - 1.6GHz, 8GB Memory, Windows 10 Home, 64-bit Operating System.

I've got something to say - It's better to burn out than fade away.
wizard of id
3D Media Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2006
Location: Sunny South Africa
Posted: 24th Jan 2018 16:23
Thanks mate

A quick run around the current available entities(more still to be added), requires a mixture of normal and grid snapping, easy peasy assembly to boot as well.
Win7 64bit----iCore5 4590 @ 3.7GHZ----AMD RX460 2gb----16gig ram
PCS
Reviewed GameGuru on Steam
2
Years of Service
Recently Online
Joined: 7th Jul 2016
Location: South Africa
Posted: 24th Jan 2018 17:09
wizard of id, jou werk is baie nice , wens ek kon modeling ge doen het.. baie baie nice.
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU G3260 @ 3.30GHz (2 CPUs), ~3.3GHz RAM 4GB NVIDIA GeForce GT 730
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
PM
wizard of id
3D Media Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2006
Location: Sunny South Africa
Posted: 25th Jan 2018 12:26
Starting to add the raised sections the final piece of the puzzle Decided on not adding rooms to the mix, but added a special entity that will easily connect to any EBE room you decide on making

Looking adding a couple more entities to the mix.



Win7 64bit----iCore5 4590 @ 3.7GHZ----AMD RX460 2gb----16gig ram
wizard of id
3D Media Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2006
Location: Sunny South Africa
Posted: 25th Jan 2018 18:10
Raised sections done and dusted, tomorrow the additional entities and such.

Win7 64bit----iCore5 4590 @ 3.7GHZ----AMD RX460 2gb----16gig ram
wizard of id
3D Media Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2006
Location: Sunny South Africa
Posted: 26th Jan 2018 07:29
The separate grate entities added, metal bar frame for the main door frame, going to add a brick version, and a missing brick version, door texture was too dark, so increased the color ambience on the color texture.
Metal bars for the bottom pipes, decreased the fence metalness to be considerably less reflectiveness.
General clean up and testing duties, and populating the level fully.

Will be looking at junk and gunk entities possibly, but I don't think it's really needed, the gameguru stock library has enough of those stuff, but going to look at stuff not available in gameguru.





Win7 64bit----iCore5 4590 @ 3.7GHZ----AMD RX460 2gb----16gig ram
wizard of id
3D Media Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2006
Location: Sunny South Africa
Posted: 26th Jan 2018 19:00 Edited at: 26th Jan 2018 19:22
Have uploaded the PBR assets and just tested out the none PBR version, will be uploading that shortly.




Live on the store
https://www.tgcstore.net/pack/11003
Win7 64bit----iCore5 4590 @ 3.7GHZ----AMD RX460 2gb----16gig ram
granada
GameGuru TGC Backer
16
Years of Service
Recently Online
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 26th Jan 2018 20:08
Nice work wizard of id,another nice level kit to your collection .

Dave
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
GeForce GTX 1050 Ti
AMD FX (tm)-9590 Eight-core Processor
31.96 GB RAM
1920x1080,60 Hz
PM
Wolf
Forum Support
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Nov 2007
Location: Luxemburg
Posted: 27th Jan 2018 04:07
Lots and lots of possibilities with these! Fine work!
wizard of id
3D Media Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2006
Location: Sunny South Africa
Posted: 29th Jan 2018 07:23
Thanks mate


Started on the next project, soviet bunker, rough idea coming along for the sevastopol reference bunker, the bottom section is has water in it. Quite like the middle section pillars and walls which split the dome in half, my version is significantly smaller and will be adding a deadend sections to entirely enclose the level, Did bunker type segments for FPSC many moons back, this is always some thing I wanted to revisit and do some thing else, going to design it as such that it can be integrated with EBE, but will be adding different kinds of side tunnels to use.

So going to be a fun project, and should look epic with PBR
Win7 64bit----iCore5 4590 @ 3.7GHZ----AMD RX460 2gb----16gig ram
Bolt Action Gaming
GameGuru Tool Maker
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Oct 2013
Location: Harrisburg, PA (USA)
Posted: 29th Jan 2018 16:15 Edited at: 29th Jan 2018 16:16
Hey WID, I'm a little worried that you're a bit obsessive about tunnels and passages

Truth is though it looks good, as usual. I'll mention it on my weekly round up (writing it up right now).

One request though - can you please do some snapshots with some static/dynamic lights in both the PBR and NON PBR tunnels so I can get an idea of the difference? The ones you have up work but are just too dark to really make a good impression.

Also, as a request, I'd love some PBR piping; real shiny, rusty, or both! Your pipes are some of the best I have and PBR versions would be fantastic.

Thanks!
wizard of id
3D Media Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2006
Location: Sunny South Africa
Posted: 29th Jan 2018 16:47
Quote: "Hey WID, I'm a little worried that you're a bit obsessive about tunnels and passages "
Lol not at all mate, doing things you can't do in gameguru by default ebe rooms are only so useful. I love tunnels been doing them since FPSC days Generally my focus has always been on level design, not really bothered with foliage or props

Lightmapping for some or odd reason isn't working correctly in the lastest beta and public preview, while dynamic lights do work, they are also "off"

Pipes already included in the sewer pack


Win7 64bit----iCore5 4590 @ 3.7GHZ----AMD RX460 2gb----16gig ram
Bolt Action Gaming
GameGuru Tool Maker
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Oct 2013
Location: Harrisburg, PA (USA)
Posted: 29th Jan 2018 17:31
Ah cool. Looks really good though the chroma's a bit much for my tastes.
What I really want is something more silvery/chrome and rust colored.
This is one example:

Anyways, fuel for thought. Thanks for the great work.


wizard of id
3D Media Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2006
Location: Sunny South Africa
Posted: 30th Jan 2018 05:20
Thanks mate will see what I can do about that, however steel pipes almost never look like that, galvanized piping has a dull sheen, only piping that really looks like your intended picture are tin, or other low pressure pipes made with anti rust materials any piping that needs to contain pressure like steel, is painted always almost never polished.


Any ways did a quick engine test of the bunker from the first pic, and was considerably under whelming, rather flat and the middle pillars were to fat and not enough space between them, working no tarting it up now, apply a few fixes like thinner pillars and reducing the floor flatness.

The bottom channel also needed some improvement, also needed to make a custom bunker wall texture, with a mixture of normals and such, still not entirely there, will also need to go with a less blemished concrete for the pillars.

Win7 64bit----iCore5 4590 @ 3.7GHZ----AMD RX460 2gb----16gig ram
wizard of id
3D Media Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2006
Location: Sunny South Africa
Posted: 30th Jan 2018 07:05
Adding the base detail, for reproduction else where, after which seamless variations can be added.
Win7 64bit----iCore5 4590 @ 3.7GHZ----AMD RX460 2gb----16gig ram
wizard of id
3D Media Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2006
Location: Sunny South Africa
Posted: 30th Jan 2018 08:17
Last update for a few days, Just a quick test of the base detail, as it's needed for the rest of the corridor.
Win7 64bit----iCore5 4590 @ 3.7GHZ----AMD RX460 2gb----16gig ram
wizard of id
3D Media Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2006
Location: Sunny South Africa
Posted: 1st Feb 2018 05:58
Ran into a problem, that the textures for the concrete simply wasn't clicking, so been scouring around and finally found some thing that works, so am now in the process of a retexture, which is almost complete.The main problem was the repeating concrete texture while good and well, didn't look particularly good in a longish corridor. So had to come up with another idea.

I got a massive texture 3000 x 2400 odd unit texture, which I can now slice up in 3 parts which will allow to randomly mix them up to get rid of the repeating pattern of the concrete. it should improve overall looks a lot.

Win7 64bit----iCore5 4590 @ 3.7GHZ----AMD RX460 2gb----16gig ram
wizard of id
3D Media Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2006
Location: Sunny South Africa
Posted: 1st Feb 2018 08:12 Edited at: 1st Feb 2018 08:14
Now for the variations needed Decided I am going to keep railings and such as separate entities and only have the bunker as the main entity after which you can add the pipe and railing props and variations of them, this will allow for a unique look every time, this will also make it easier for the angled parts, considering each one will be angled at 5 degrees at a time it will take a few entities to get to the 90 degree angle 20 in total if my maths is correct there isn't another way around it unless you want to sit with a 24000 poly entity which is a nightmare for the engine to handle.With the 90 degree angle with then allow if you want to build an entire 360 looped corridor if you really wanted to, but with the added dead ends for each part of the angle you could for example cut off the 90degree angle at 45 degrees with a deadend use a side passage and start a new corridor connected to the side passage with a matching part.

Naming scheme will be pretty straight forward in being named _part1 and variations _Part1A , B C ect, which would then allow for easy assembly, and this will then allow for a complete custom bunker. The next step is adding the side passages and some walls for the main corridor to block the area a bit as it's never a good ideas to have long corridors, but due to the size of the corridor it self and small angled walls you can have contained sections without seeing too much of the next area.


It's fairly complex end user assembly, so will definitely need to upload the content and then assemble a level from the correct folder structure as the end user would and upload a map for the end user to view it them self.

Hopefully this will end up looking epic once assembled.

Win7 64bit----iCore5 4590 @ 3.7GHZ----AMD RX460 2gb----16gig ram
wizard of id
3D Media Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2006
Location: Sunny South Africa
Posted: 1st Feb 2018 19:37
testing out the curved asset, still requires a minor tweak, the good news however is without the props, the entire curve only costs 5.5k polygons, that is cheap enough to combine the entire curve, as a single entity and do variations based on that and combine the curve props as well which is fine and dandy

Win7 64bit----iCore5 4590 @ 3.7GHZ----AMD RX460 2gb----16gig ram
wizard of id
3D Media Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2006
Location: Sunny South Africa
Posted: 2nd Feb 2018 08:14
So imported the first assets, some minor tweaks needs, pretty happy overall




Some of the few reference pictures I had to work from,
Win7 64bit----iCore5 4590 @ 3.7GHZ----AMD RX460 2gb----16gig ram
granada
GameGuru TGC Backer
16
Years of Service
Recently Online
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 2nd Feb 2018 18:05
Quote: "pretty happy overall "
and so you should be,they are looking great .

Dave
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
GeForce GTX 1050 Ti
AMD FX (tm)-9590 Eight-core Processor
31.96 GB RAM
1920x1080,60 Hz
PM
wizard of id
3D Media Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2006
Location: Sunny South Africa
Posted: 2nd Feb 2018 22:38
Thanks mate, sadly after a quick run around I noticed that there is very little space between the edge and the pillars as well as the path on the other side which has forced me to increase the size of the bunker corridor by 70 units which now proves more then enough space, bad news is I have to export every thing again

Win7 64bit----iCore5 4590 @ 3.7GHZ----AMD RX460 2gb----16gig ram
wizard of id
3D Media Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2006
Location: Sunny South Africa
Posted: 3rd Feb 2018 17:58 Edited at: 3rd Feb 2018 17:59
FINALLY after messing up the models on 3 different occasions, I still had the minor annoyance of a texture seam that didn't want to go away I managed to bring that under control.

Enlarged corridor, which to be honest presents much, much better, and means I can start doing the variations finally, as well as bring in the railings and other things.The main problem was there simply wasn't enough space to move and fight bad guys between the pillars, which required enlarging it with 70 units on both sides, also wanted to get a better floor texture that matches the walls colour as well.







Win7 64bit----iCore5 4590 @ 3.7GHZ----AMD RX460 2gb----16gig ram
granada
GameGuru TGC Backer
16
Years of Service
Recently Online
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 3rd Feb 2018 23:05
Looks good ,you should do a little walk through vid .

Dave
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
GeForce GTX 1050 Ti
AMD FX (tm)-9590 Eight-core Processor
31.96 GB RAM
1920x1080,60 Hz
PM
wizard of id
3D Media Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2006
Location: Sunny South Africa
Posted: 4th Feb 2018 07:36
First entity layer added



Win7 64bit----iCore5 4590 @ 3.7GHZ----AMD RX460 2gb----16gig ram
wizard of id
3D Media Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2006
Location: Sunny South Africa
Posted: 4th Feb 2018 15:38
Quote: "Looks good ,you should do a little walk through vid .

Dave"


The most basics of the entities are in



Win7 64bit----iCore5 4590 @ 3.7GHZ----AMD RX460 2gb----16gig ram
granada
GameGuru TGC Backer
16
Years of Service
Recently Online
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 5th Feb 2018 10:27
That has come out well,I can emagine fighting my way through there,using the pillars for cover ..pity we can’t get running water yet .

Dave
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
GeForce GTX 1050 Ti
AMD FX (tm)-9590 Eight-core Processor
31.96 GB RAM
1920x1080,60 Hz
PM
wizard of id
3D Media Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2006
Location: Sunny South Africa
Posted: 6th Feb 2018 08:29
Working with large objects can be a pain, and requires testing and more testing, discovered a 5 unit misaligned on the curve which then on a complete loop allows two meshes to overlap, which results in everything over lapping, every thing needs to be 100%.

With everything now correct, I started with the real export, which caps the end pieces of the meshes to make it neater and easier for the engine to snap meshes together, also added a new test mesh, and changed a texture on the railing support above to have a transparent grid.Working with large curve entities definitely provide some "FUN". Hopefully by the end of the day will have another fair junk done



Win7 64bit----iCore5 4590 @ 3.7GHZ----AMD RX460 2gb----16gig ram
wizard of id
3D Media Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2006
Location: Sunny South Africa
Posted: 7th Feb 2018 07:28
Next entity layer added, which forms part of a larger layer for a metal walkway, also added curves with a dividing wall at 45 and 90 degrees.





Win7 64bit----iCore5 4590 @ 3.7GHZ----AMD RX460 2gb----16gig ram
Duchenkuke
GameGuru BOTB Developer
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jun 2016
Location: Germany
Posted: 7th Feb 2018 17:52
Love it. Looks awesome.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2018-11-21 20:09:58
Your offset time is: 2018-11-21 20:09:58