Work In Progress / Welcome to Manchester

Author
Message
MooKai
GameGuru TGC Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jul 2009
Location: Frankfurt, Bangkok
Posted: 1st May 2018 21:31 Edited at: 1st May 2018 21:33
Welcome to Manchester

Spent some money today...
Bought some new things in the store and from Steam.
From Steam, the new weapons & construction pack.
(btw. the construction pack, you hit something and it has no sound...)
Also bought some buildings and vehicles at the store. Nice quality

The result is here:

Old school FPS fan, DOOM!!! Why GG not working on my AMIGA 500?
PM
Defy
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Aug 2007
Location:
Posted: 1st May 2018 23:46
Love the detail, can I ask what frames your getting and with AI present? I have not done detail with this engine for 2 years I would say, I will have to take a look. Awesome work.
Define R4, i5, 16g, R9 290
PM
MooKai
GameGuru TGC Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jul 2009
Location: Frankfurt, Bangkok
Posted: 2nd May 2018 00:10
Well, the framerate is below 30... 29-26.
Keep in mind that I've created the scene in less than 1 hour, nothing has been optimzed for performance.
It is just a little test level of the new 3D models I've bought today.
If I would spend some time to optimize the level, the framerate would be hopefully at 45-50fps.
AI? Hmm... not tested yet.

And my PC is getting old... i5 4690k, GTX970...

Old school FPS fan, DOOM!!! Why GG not working on my AMIGA 500?
PM
synchromesh
Forum Support
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 2nd May 2018 01:22
Nice but cant stay in Product chat ..
Moved to Showcase ..
The only person ever to get all his work done by "Friday" was Robinson Crusoe..
PM
MooKai
GameGuru TGC Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jul 2009
Location: Frankfurt, Bangkok
Posted: 2nd May 2018 08:21
Hmmm ok.... but it’s not a finished project.
It’s not a project at all.
Old school FPS fan, DOOM!!! Why GG not working on my AMIGA 500?
PM
Belidos
3D Media Maker
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Location: Hertfordshire
Posted: 2nd May 2018 12:42
Quote: "Hmmm ok.... but it’s not a finished project.
It’s not a project at all. "


I'd say more work in progress then

Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.
synchromesh
Forum Support
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 2nd May 2018 14:05
Quote: "I'd say more work in progress then "

Not even that apparently hence a showcase is the best I could come up with.
I considered 3rd party models and media as it was showcasing models but figured here was best.
The only person ever to get all his work done by "Friday" was Robinson Crusoe..
PM
MooKai
GameGuru TGC Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jul 2009
Location: Frankfurt, Bangkok
Posted: 2nd May 2018 21:56
Well, maybe it's the start of a new project.
Old school FPS fan, DOOM!!! Why GG not working on my AMIGA 500?
PM
Tarkus1971
Reviewed GameGuru on Steam
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2015
Location: England, UK
Posted: 10th May 2018 17:24
Looks excellent Mookai. Great lighting.
Aftershock Quad Core AMD FM2+ 3.5 GHz 8GB Motherboard and Processor, A7700k apu, Asus GT970 STRIX 4gb Nvidia gfx card.
King Korg Synth, Alesis SR18 Drum Machine, Akai MPX8 sample player, Roland Fantom XA Synth, Axus Digital AXK2 Digital Drum Kit, Novation Ultranova Synth, Waldorf Blofeld Synth, Roland D05 Synth Module, Bluedio Victory V Headphones, AKG K141 Studio Headphones, Lenovo Ideapad, with Windows 10 64bit, 8Gb Ram and AMD A10 7th Gen Graphics.
MooKai
GameGuru TGC Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jul 2009
Location: Frankfurt, Bangkok
Posted: 12th May 2018 01:42 Edited at: 12th May 2018 01:42
thanks, the uk houses are really great. (bought them at the store)
the new contruction set pbr models are good, but I wish we could get some more other pbr packs...
some new characters would be nice, new (2018) characters... zombies, soldiers, normal everyday people, monsters, animals ... oh well...
with a 2018 AI
LOL
Old school FPS fan, DOOM!!! Why GG not working on my AMIGA 500?
PM
Bugsy
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2008
Location: Savannah
Posted: 14th May 2018 16:56
yeah, seems to me like the SHOWCASE board should be only for FINISHED game projects with DOWNLOADS, as that's the way it's been since FPSC forums... but what do I know though

anyways:
I like the colour grading you've used here, but I think that this scene suffers really hard from the appearance that it is just a bunch of entities randomly scattered about with no attention paid to context.

Is this really manchester? I can't tell specifically by the architecture, the flora/fauna/ the entity selection, etc. and to me it looks like wherever it is after a tornado.

You've got piles of boxes in the middle of the street, plus random detritus that doesn't appear to have a source or reason for existing where it is. Don't get me wrong, I love REALLY detailed maps, with entities populating the scene everywhere you look, but I think you need to place them more thoughtfully.

MooKai
GameGuru TGC Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jul 2009
Location: Frankfurt, Bangkok
Posted: 16th May 2018 11:14
Buggy, I have posted it in the product chat before, but one of the mods moved it here.... not my fault
Well, it’s just a test scene as I said before, done in less than a hour. Just to check the new models I bought.
The houses I would say are UK style, the bus too... they driving on the wrong side LOL
In the end it was just a test, nothing more.
Old school FPS fan, DOOM!!! Why GG not working on my AMIGA 500?
PM
Duchenkuke
GameGuru BOTB Developer
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jun 2016
Location: Germany
Posted: 17th May 2018 18:18
I think it looks good!

I sure would want to explore a scene like that
MooKai
GameGuru TGC Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jul 2009
Location: Frankfurt, Bangkok
Posted: 18th May 2018 11:07
Thanks, still working on your personal Stalker game?
Old school FPS fan, DOOM!!! Why GG not working on my AMIGA 500?
PM
synchromesh
Forum Support
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 30th May 2018 23:37 Edited at: 30th May 2018 23:40
Where would you like it ?
You say its not a project or WIP and your just show casing the models you purchased..
But ok … Moved to Work In Progress
It definitely never belonged in product chat though … I don't see any connection there at all.

I would suggest doing something with it though as its a brilliant little map
The only person ever to get all his work done by "Friday" was Robinson Crusoe..
PM
MooKai
GameGuru TGC Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jul 2009
Location: Frankfurt, Bangkok
Posted: 31st May 2018 17:10
yes yes... I will do something with the new models.
I've already a nice idea how to create dense scenes without losing much fps.
looks like it will be a looong friday night.
Old school FPS fan, DOOM!!! Why GG not working on my AMIGA 500?
PM
Bugsy
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2008
Location: Savannah
Posted: 4th Jun 2018 20:09
Quote: "I've already a nice idea how to create dense scenes without losing much fps. "


my very favourite thing to ponder! do elaborate.
synchromesh
Forum Support
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 5th Jun 2018 01:06
The more I look at the map the more it looks apocalyptic or at least deserted for some reason ..
You accidently created something there that screams atmosphere …
I really like it the more I watch it
The only person ever to get all his work done by "Friday" was Robinson Crusoe..
PM
MooKai
GameGuru TGC Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jul 2009
Location: Frankfurt, Bangkok
Posted: 6th Jun 2018 13:05
Thanks...
Working on it..e. need some more time before I will show some screens.
Old school FPS fan, DOOM!!! Why GG not working on my AMIGA 500?
PM
MooKai
GameGuru TGC Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jul 2009
Location: Frankfurt, Bangkok
Posted: 14th Jun 2018 23:15 Edited at: 15th Jun 2018 00:33
Greetings from Manchester.
After the great Invasion...

And a video...

Old school FPS fan, DOOM!!! Why GG not working on my AMIGA 500?

Attachments

Login to view attachments
PM
Ertlov
GameGuru BOTB Developer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2007
Location: Australia
Posted: 15th Jun 2018 14:24
This looks awesome!!
"I am a road map, I will lead and you will follow, I will teach and you will learn, when you leave my sprint planning you will be weapons, focused and full of JIRA tickets, Hot Rod rocket development gods of precision and strength, terrorizing across the repository and hunting for github submits."
MooKai
GameGuru TGC Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jul 2009
Location: Frankfurt, Bangkok
Posted: 15th Jun 2018 14:38
Danke
Weekend is coming....
Old school FPS fan, DOOM!!! Why GG not working on my AMIGA 500?
PM
Bolt Action Gaming
GameGuru Tool Maker
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Oct 2013
Location: Harrisburg, PA (USA)
Posted: 18th Jun 2018 16:16 Edited at: 18th Jun 2018 16:17
Screenshots look good but some suggestions: Your color palette on some of your custom modified items looks REALLY off. Specifically the blue sedan and the yellow sign are extremely jarring visually.

I would recommend using this process to 'weather' them to help them fit in better: http://gamegurureport.blogspot.com/2016/11/old-dog-old-tricks.html

Other than that tho - wow, looks fantastic
MooKai
GameGuru TGC Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jul 2009
Location: Frankfurt, Bangkok
Posted: 19th Jun 2018 13:24
Sure, some of the things need an update that they match the scene.
Thanks for the link.
Old school FPS fan, DOOM!!! Why GG not working on my AMIGA 500?
PM
Duchenkuke
GameGuru BOTB Developer
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jun 2016
Location: Germany
Posted: 7th Sep 2018 10:25
Quote: "still working on your personal Stalker game?"


Yep... it never ends.. Its a looping circle between hitting gameguru's performance Limit and frustration - but also with good ideas and amazing visuals.... maybe 1 day.. I get this done...
MooKai
GameGuru TGC Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jul 2009
Location: Frankfurt, Bangkok
Posted: 10th Sep 2018 08:45
I saw you have many projects running....
Focus on one, or it will become a never ending story.
The new one in the bunker looks interesting.
Old school FPS fan, DOOM!!! Why GG not working on my AMIGA 500?
PM
MooKai
GameGuru TGC Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jul 2009
Location: Frankfurt, Bangkok
Posted: 10th Feb 2019 23:35
Some new screenshots.
The the abandoned mall, still not finished...
The more objects I use, the smaller the level gets... lol

Old school FPS fan, DOOM!!! Why GG not working on my AMIGA 500?

Attachments

Login to view attachments
PM
MooKai
GameGuru TGC Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jul 2009
Location: Frankfurt, Bangkok
Posted: 10th Feb 2019 23:52
ok... some more screenshots
Old school FPS fan, DOOM!!! Why GG not working on my AMIGA 500?

Attachments

Login to view attachments
PM
synchromesh
Forum Support
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 12th Feb 2019 01:34
Impressive stuff. Really looking the part
The only person ever to get all his work done by "Friday" was Robinson Crusoe..
PM
Wolf
Forum Support
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Nov 2007
Location: Luxemburg
Posted: 13th Feb 2019 22:07
Will this be the next zombie shoot out installment or do you plan to do something meatier with it?
MooKai
GameGuru TGC Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jul 2009
Location: Frankfurt, Bangkok
Posted: 13th Feb 2019 22:30
Zombies are always good. But this time they are not the only enemies in the game
Old school FPS fan, DOOM!!! Why GG not working on my AMIGA 500?
PM
Wolf
Forum Support
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Nov 2007
Location: Luxemburg
Posted: 20th Feb 2019 19:53
Well thats already something
MooKai
GameGuru TGC Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jul 2009
Location: Frankfurt, Bangkok
Posted: 21st Feb 2019 01:15
First preview video from one of the levels

Old school FPS fan, DOOM!!! Why GG not working on my AMIGA 500?
PM
Pirate Myke
Forum Support
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st May 2010
Location: El Dorado, California
Posted: 21st Feb 2019 01:24
Outstanding!
What a great placement of a lot of items and still have it running. A proper example to all.

Great Job.
RIP
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz, 2400 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s), 8gb RAM, Nvidia gtx660, Windows 7 Pro 64bit, Screen resolution 1680 x 1050.

New:
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-8400 CPU @ 2.81GHz, 12GB RAM, Nvidia gtx1050ti 4gb, Windows 10 Home 64bit, Screen resolution 1920 x 1080. System Passmark 3774




MooKai
GameGuru TGC Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jul 2009
Location: Frankfurt, Bangkok
Posted: 21st Feb 2019 10:22
Thanks. This is just a small part of the complete game....
Of course, if I use many things on the screen, the levels are smaller/shorter...
So, I’ve now many small levels, but each is full of details.
Old school FPS fan, DOOM!!! Why GG not working on my AMIGA 500?
PM
synchromesh
Forum Support
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 21st Feb 2019 17:02
Have to agree with Myke …
Cant even find anything negative to say … Looks amazing !!
The only person ever to get all his work done by "Friday" was Robinson Crusoe..
PM
MooKai
GameGuru TGC Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jul 2009
Location: Frankfurt, Bangkok
Posted: 21st Feb 2019 21:14
thank you. I'm optimizing it at the moment, I want/need more fps : )
Old school FPS fan, DOOM!!! Why GG not working on my AMIGA 500?
PM
MooKai
GameGuru TGC Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jul 2009
Location: Frankfurt, Bangkok
Posted: 22nd Feb 2019 00:25
Working on the performance settings...(test view: 1st screenshot)
Shadows off, fps jump from 60 to 114. But a game without shadows looks ... looks ... meeeh
Lightsrays off, fps from 60 to 69. Who needs lightrays... maybe I will turn them off, if I have to.
Water is off. Well, thats all still without NPCs.
And the framerates are from a GTX 1080ti... have to test it later on my old pc (gtx 970).
If the old pc runs the game with 30fps I'm happy : )


Old school FPS fan, DOOM!!! Why GG not working on my AMIGA 500?

Attachments

Login to view attachments
PM
MooKai
GameGuru TGC Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jul 2009
Location: Frankfurt, Bangkok
Posted: 25th Feb 2019 11:35
My plan was to have the game ready at the end of Feb, for a release in March...
Well, I should better say next time “When it’s done” : )
Vacation is coming... so there will be another delay, and I’m still far from the finish line.
Maybe around May it will be ready .
Old school FPS fan, DOOM!!! Why GG not working on my AMIGA 500?
PM
Avenging Eagle
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 25th Feb 2019 19:13
What strikes me about your screenshots and your videos is that your levels, while highly-detailed for Game Guru, show a lot of repetitious entity placement and a slight lack of consistent art direction.

Throughout your pictures, I see the same green and blue cars, the same 751 bus to Waddington, the same red van, all reused multiple times. I get that it's difficult to populate your world with a variety of assets, but some simple texture changes and colour variations would go a long way to making your levels look more organic. You can probably get away with using the same bush or tree 30 times, but something distinctive like a lurid green car sticks out, especially when 11 of those same cars can be seen at once (as in your screenshot of the car park at the abandoned mall).

In addition, the rest of the world has a wonderful decayed feeling to it, with weeds sprouting through the road and foliage clinging to every available surface - very I Am Legend, very cool! - but lots of your entities look fresh-out-of-the-factory-new. I hate to pick on them again but it's those horrid green, blue and red cars. They look so clean, especially when sat next to other cars that are all rusted and smashed up. If there's any way you can dirty up those textures, add a bit of rust, some dirt, or even just desaturate them a bit, it would help create a more uniform visual aesthetic.

You've clearly got a knack for creating detailed maps, and your use of music/sound design is good too, but by making a few small changes it could elevate this project up to be one of the best Game Guru projects to date

AE
MooKai
GameGuru TGC Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jul 2009
Location: Frankfurt, Bangkok
Posted: 26th Feb 2019 00:02
Thanks for your feedback.
You're right, some of the cars/buses still look brand new... I know that, I will add some scratches, damage, rust to them.
Also the houses look a bit too clean... maybe some dirt and graffiti would help
I'm still far from the finish line, the game became bigger than I expected.
2 Levels are still complete missing, a nice dark & scary tunnel system and a forest (is there a forest around Manchester???)
With so many objects in the scene, I've to optimize the levels for performance -- much work
I hope that even slower PCs reach at least 30fps.

But now it's time for vacation for a few weeks, time without a PC (only tablet).
I'm sitting in front of a screen everyday for more than 12 hrs. Time for a break.

But yes, thanks for the feedback. When the game is ready, the cars will not look brand new anymore.
Old school FPS fan, DOOM!!! Why GG not working on my AMIGA 500?
PM
MooKai
GameGuru TGC Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jul 2009
Location: Frankfurt, Bangkok
Posted: 26th Feb 2019 00:10
The Mall you can see in the screenshots is built with GG stuff only.
Not with an external software... hundrets of concrete blocks he he he
Old school FPS fan, DOOM!!! Why GG not working on my AMIGA 500?

Attachments

Login to view attachments
PM
osiem80
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2019
Location: Poland
Posted: 3rd Mar 2019 18:28 Edited at: 3rd Mar 2019 19:03
Well done, maybe iam little bit petty but do they really drive car brands like the ford crown in UK?
PM
MooKai
GameGuru TGC Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jul 2009
Location: Frankfurt, Bangkok
Posted: 4th Mar 2019 06:36
No, they don’t... (I guess they do not), but I don’t have so many different cars available.
Old school FPS fan, DOOM!!! Why GG not working on my AMIGA 500?
PM
Belidos
3D Media Maker
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Location: Hertfordshire
Posted: 4th Mar 2019 08:11
No we didn't have Ford Crowns, we had Ford Sierras and Grenada's instead. Probably the closest i would guess would be the Grenada, although it had straighter lines and sharper edges.

Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.
osiem80
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2019
Location: Poland
Posted: 4th Mar 2019 11:57
Yes, its hard to find normal middle poly car models with common european/japanese brands, i look for myself for them.


PM
MooKai
GameGuru TGC Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jul 2009
Location: Frankfurt, Bangkok
Posted: 4th Mar 2019 18:18 Edited at: 4th Mar 2019 18:25
I have a nice Ford Capri, which came in one of the packs I’ve bought before.
The Capri is really a nice car from the 80s

Who ever want to create cars for the TGC store... here’s my wishlist lol

80s & 90s
BMW 5 Series, 7 Series
Mercedes C, E, S Class, S Class mid 80s 126
Porsche, VW, Opel... Toyotas...

I would buy another pack of cars.
Old school FPS fan, DOOM!!! Why GG not working on my AMIGA 500?
PM
Avenging Eagle
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 4th Mar 2019 20:39
Quote: "Who ever want to create cars for the TGC store... here’s my wishlist lol

80s & 90s
BMW 5 Series, 7 Series
Mercedes C, E, S Class, S Class mid 80s 126
Porsche, VW, Opel... Toyotas... "


The issue is those real life designs are subject to copyright I believe, even if you take out the manufacture logos. That's why most games don't feature real life car design as you'd need to license them from the manufacturer. It's worth the hit for a studio making an actual racing game as it lends authenticity, but for games where the car isn't a core attraction, they make their own fake car manufacturers.

AE
osiem80
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2019
Location: Poland
Posted: 4th Mar 2019 21:13 Edited at: 4th Mar 2019 21:25
There is of course a lot free stuff in the web, but iam not sure if the licences allow to use them in GG, the second problem is that many of them are very high poly,some had up to 30 texture files, in max format(so u need to buy 3ds max extra for that)some are often without texture and not unwrapped.The lowpoly ones resemble a toaster more than a car, with window textures.......I have 2-3 for gg-usable cars in my 30GB content of models on my pendrive that i collected over the years.Would be great if someone would make a good looking modern car pack with invented brands.They should look like the most common cars drived in europe.VW golfs, ford mondeo, honda civic, peugeots, renaults, audis, opels etc.
Quote: "Mercedes C, E, S Class, S Class mid 80s 126"

I think i have a GG-ready mercedes model, somethink like that

if u want it send me priv
PM
MooKai
GameGuru TGC Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jul 2009
Location: Frankfurt, Bangkok
Posted: 5th Mar 2019 17:43
I know that we can not use the official car names and logos. Also the cars should not look 100% as the original.
Wow, that Mercedes looks nice. But don’t fit in my 80s game. The CL Version from the photo came out 1999.

Is that your model or from “somewhere” in the web, converted by you.
I use only stuff where the copyright and license is clear. Normally, I use only things from the original creator, paid or as freeware. That keeps me out of trouble
Old school FPS fan, DOOM!!! Why GG not working on my AMIGA 500?
PM

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-03-23 23:21:36
Your offset time is: 2019-03-23 23:21:36