Product Chat (Early Access) / anyone else got Max chars in classic?

Author
Message
Bored of the Rings
GameGuru Master
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2005
Location: Middle Earth
Posted: 28th Nov 2021 10:08 Edited at: 28th Nov 2021 10:39
Playing around a bit more with getting max char dbo's into classic fully textured/animated using me wee proggy. anyone else had better results, the .fx and textures used are the same as Max's.

Professional Programmer: Languages- SAS (Statistical Analysis Software) , C++ VS2019, SQL, PL-SQL, JavaScript, HTML, Three.js, others
Hardware: ULTRA FAST Quad Core Gaming PC Tower WIFI & 16GB 1TB HDD & Win 10 (x64), Geforce GTX1060(3GB). Dell Mixed Reality VR headset, Aerodrums 3D

Attachments

Login to view attachments
3com
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th May 2014
Location: Catalonia
Posted: 28th Nov 2021 11:04
@ BOTR
I guess you have to downgrade the DBO file with VS to match with GG, well done.
This is a breakthrough for a personal project.
Laptop: Lenovo - Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 1005M @ 1.90GHz

OS: Windows 10 (64) - Ram: 4 gb - Hd: 283 gb - Video card: Intel(R) HD Graphics
cpu mark: 10396.6
2d graphics mark: 947.9
3d graphics mark: 8310.9
memory mark 2584.8
Disk mark: 1146.3
Passmark rating: 3662.4

PM
Bored of the Rings
GameGuru Master
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2005
Location: Middle Earth
Posted: 28th Nov 2021 11:15
@3com-thanks for the tip-I'll have a look more into shaders-getting abit better each day.
Professional Programmer: Languages- SAS (Statistical Analysis Software) , C++ VS2019, SQL, PL-SQL, JavaScript, HTML, Three.js, others
Hardware: ULTRA FAST Quad Core Gaming PC Tower WIFI & 16GB 1TB HDD & Win 10 (x64), Geforce GTX1060(3GB). Dell Mixed Reality VR headset, Aerodrums 3D
3com
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th May 2014
Location: Catalonia
Posted: 28th Nov 2021 11:23
@ BOTR
If you are talking about fx shaders, GGMax is actually giving support just to 4x4 and 8x8 sprite sheets, hope this may change someday.
Of course, internally there must be most fx support but hardcoded yet.
Laptop: Lenovo - Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 1005M @ 1.90GHz

OS: Windows 10 (64) - Ram: 4 gb - Hd: 283 gb - Video card: Intel(R) HD Graphics
cpu mark: 10396.6
2d graphics mark: 947.9
3d graphics mark: 8310.9
memory mark 2584.8
Disk mark: 1146.3
Passmark rating: 3662.4

PM
cybernescence
GameGuru Master
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2013
Playing: Cogwheel Chronicles
Posted: 28th Nov 2021 11:37
Well done, but I think you are the only one who is likely to be able to do this given your dbo knowledge

Cheers
GPU: GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER PassMark: 18125
Bored of the Rings
GameGuru Master
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2005
Location: Middle Earth
Posted: 29th Nov 2021 20:48 Edited at: 29th Nov 2021 20:58
got most of them in, except 2 which I need to look into and tweak my code further. Program reads in the current DBO version and exports .X and/or .OBJ including animations / materials / textures (multi material/textures). just a bit of fun for me at the moment but can also get them into AGK (which I did way back but needs more work). I'm working on marching cubes stuff for procedural terrain and the like and Autowelder for AGK Studio/Classic. Max is coming on great and will be great to see what I can do with the terrain , although importing heightmaps could be out of the question from what I have found so far. Hope they build something internally

Professional Programmer: Languages- SAS (Statistical Analysis Software) , C++ VS2019, SQL, PL-SQL, JavaScript, HTML, Three.js, others
Hardware: ULTRA FAST Quad Core Gaming PC Tower WIFI & 16GB 1TB HDD & Win 10 (x64), Geforce GTX1060(3GB). Dell Mixed Reality VR headset, Aerodrums 3D
granada
Forum Support
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 29th Nov 2021 23:04
Cool work Bored of the Rings , as usual

Dave
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
AORUS B550 Master Motherboard
GeForce RTX™ 2070 GAMING OC 8G
AMD Ryzen 9 5950X 16-Core Processor 3.40 GHz
128 GB DDR4 RAM
3840 x 2160 ,60 Hz
PM
3com
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th May 2014
Location: Catalonia
Posted: 30th Nov 2021 00:47
You rock BOTR, nice one.
Laptop: Lenovo - Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 1005M @ 1.90GHz

OS: Windows 10 (64) - Ram: 4 gb - Hd: 283 gb - Video card: Intel(R) HD Graphics
cpu mark: 10396.6
2d graphics mark: 947.9
3d graphics mark: 8310.9
memory mark 2584.8
Disk mark: 1146.3
Passmark rating: 3662.4

PM
Bored of the Rings
GameGuru Master
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2005
Location: Middle Earth
Posted: 30th Nov 2021 06:37
thanks guys.
I guess I will have to keep this tool to myself for now d/t TGC/GGMax copyrights. To clarify, I do not use any of these models in any other game engines other than TGC related products i.e. GG Classic/Max and AGK. I do not use them for games to sell or distribute them to 3rd parties in any shape or form. I will contact TGC to get more clarity on what I can/can't do.
Professional Programmer: Languages- SAS (Statistical Analysis Software) , C++ VS2019, SQL, PL-SQL, JavaScript, HTML, Three.js, others
Hardware: ULTRA FAST Quad Core Gaming PC Tower WIFI & 16GB 1TB HDD & Win 10 (x64), Geforce GTX1060(3GB). Dell Mixed Reality VR headset, Aerodrums 3D
Bored of the Rings
GameGuru Master
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2005
Location: Middle Earth
Posted: 30th Nov 2021 13:10
Once I get my marching cubes terrain (outside GG max) to work I'll post pics(could be a while), shame GG max doesn't use them Trying again with heightmaps , but not much success.
Professional Programmer: Languages- SAS (Statistical Analysis Software) , C++ VS2019, SQL, PL-SQL, JavaScript, HTML, Three.js, others
Hardware: ULTRA FAST Quad Core Gaming PC Tower WIFI & 16GB 1TB HDD & Win 10 (x64), Geforce GTX1060(3GB). Dell Mixed Reality VR headset, Aerodrums 3D
3com
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th May 2014
Location: Catalonia
Posted: 30th Nov 2021 13:32
heightmaps support will come, but not yet, though.
Laptop: Lenovo - Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 1005M @ 1.90GHz

OS: Windows 10 (64) - Ram: 4 gb - Hd: 283 gb - Video card: Intel(R) HD Graphics
cpu mark: 10396.6
2d graphics mark: 947.9
3d graphics mark: 8310.9
memory mark 2584.8
Disk mark: 1146.3
Passmark rating: 3662.4

PM
DVader
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2004
Location:
Posted: 1st Dec 2021 17:39
Looks awesome and really useful tool! As Max is going dbo only with it's models, this should be useful indeed for optimising some of the higher poly models. Nice one.
SPECS: Ryzen 1700 CPU. Nvidia 970GTX. 16 Gig Memory. Win 10.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2022-08-17 17:40:39
Your offset time is: 2022-08-17 17:40:39