3rd Party Models/Media Chat / Importing generic weapons in GG using standard Hands

Author
Message
JC LEON
9
Years of Service
Recently Online
Joined: 22nd Apr 2010
Location:
Posted: 22nd Sep 2019 14:18 Edited at: 22nd Sep 2019 14:39
Hi tyo all

Maybe seems a simple and yet asked question but mine is a little different i think LOL

premit that i i saw several times all great Wolf's tutorial about importing weapons ,tune up them, in fragmotion ect... but sincerely i cannot find in them answer i need..

firstly I premit I'm noob is animations and doesnt have any experience in this field...I used to animate my models and animated weapons in unity 3d with the built in animation tools and worked always finefor me..
here a video on my recent unity test about game mechanics and animations, and all anims you see were tuned un manually from me to suit my project needs( but generic anmations were present yet )


btw i would to know if is there a simple way to use other weapons models with GG standard bare hands..
i dont need to much setting i only want to say if is posible to import a model in some software, delete the original model present in it , add my custom weapon model and "attach" it to hands again and use it maybe with stadard animatios again or some little modified animations based on originals...
a sort of "trick" to use several weapons without too much effort.. LOL
i tried to do it by myself simply importing the hud.x into fragmotion but cannot managed to figure how to work since models ssems to be only one mesh ..and i got stuck on that...

can please someone give me some hints and a solid pipeline with some software?? could eventually weapon welder tool be in some help with this?=
many thanks to all of us for you time and effort

cheers

leon
PC Specs:
AMD QUADCORE 880K @4.5GHZ, 32GB RAM DDR3 1600, M/B ASUS A88XM-PLUS
SVGA NVDIA 1660GTX 6GB , SSD KINGSTON A400 1TB, 2X HHD SEAGATE BARRACUDA 4TB
PM
Wolf
Forum Support
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Nov 2007
Location: Luxemburg
Posted: 22nd Sep 2019 14:44
Ah! Its the AU FPSKit in Unity? Thats a good set!

As for your question:
Quote: "btw i would to know if is there a simple way to use other weapons models with GG standard bare hands.."


Yes, you can rig them to the existing animations, it looks hard at first but once you got it down, you can crank out a weapon in 5 to 10 minutes:



Quote: "i tried to do it by myself simply importing the hud.x into fragmotion but cannot managed to figure how to work since models ssems to be only one mesh ..and i got stuck on that..."


If that is the case then what you can do is select the gun vertices manually and delete them (but leave the bone structure intact.)

Quote: "could eventually weapon welder tool be in some help with this?"


No, AFAIK that tool is for importing weapons that are already rigged and done.



-Wolf
osiem80
Recently Online
Joined: 24th Jan 2019
Location: Poland
Posted: 22nd Sep 2019 14:46
I think u asked this question allready about 4-5 times
PM
granada
GameGuru TGC Backer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 22nd Sep 2019 15:05
you can do it using fragmotion, its not easy.this is a shotgun i made to fit the GG shotgun animation and rig



Dave
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
GeForce RTX™ 2070 GAMING OC 8G
AMD FX (tm)-9590 Eight-core Processor
31.96 GB RAM
3840 x 2160 ,60 Hz

Attachments

Login to view attachments
PM
PCS
Reviewed GameGuru on Steam
3
Years of Service
Recently Online
Joined: 7th Jul 2016
Location: South Africa
Posted: 22nd Sep 2019 17:40 Edited at: 22nd Sep 2019 17:40
granada, this looks awesome. is it functional in gg or not jet.?
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU G3260 @ 3.30GHz (2 CPUs), ~3.3GHz RAM 16GB NVIDIA GeForce GT 730
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
PM
granada
GameGuru TGC Backer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 22nd Sep 2019 18:03
Quote: "granada, this looks awesome. is it functional in gg or not jet.?"


The animation works but I never finished it,it’s on a hard drive somewhere

Dave
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
GeForce RTX™ 2070 GAMING OC 8G
AMD FX (tm)-9590 Eight-core Processor
31.96 GB RAM
3840 x 2160 ,60 Hz
PM
Wolf
Forum Support
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Nov 2007
Location: Luxemburg
Posted: 22nd Sep 2019 18:49
Thats a really great gun!

Quote: "I think u asked this question allready about 4-5 times"


Well, even if he did, what I posted is the fastest and easiest way and there are always more people reading these threads
JC LEON
9
Years of Service
Recently Online
Joined: 22nd Apr 2010
Location:
Posted: 22nd Sep 2019 21:01
Quote: "Ah! Its the AU FPSKit in Unity? Thats a good set!"

Yes it it or better t osay was the AU Fpskit but now it's so heavily modified even in core features that pratically of original fpskit it has only the scenary LOL..I'm so proud of what i acheived so far..

Quote: "Yes, you can rig them to the existing animations, it looks hard at first but once you got it down, you can crank out a weapon in 5 to 10 minutes:



"


I saw your video about 20 times even before you posted it in this thread LOL.. but i cannot managed to acheive good results with this method..i know ..i'm noon with fragmotion

Quote: "I think u asked this question allready about 4-5 times"


Really.. I think i asked this in other my thread about character import.. but dont remember to asked on other posts.. if is that the case soory.. but i nedded to make a thread by myself since i connot figired to to can acheive that and asking for specific question maybe could help me... but sincerely if the only and simpliest method is that Wolf posted above it's not in my skills atm

Quote: "you can do it using fragmotion, its not easy.this is a shotgun i made to fit the GG shotgun animation and rig"
[quote=][/quote]

great try..do you have workflow to show of suggest so i can follow something?
PC Specs:
AMD QUADCORE 880K @4.5GHZ, 32GB RAM DDR3 1600, M/B ASUS A88XM-PLUS
SVGA NVDIA 1660GTX 6GB , SSD KINGSTON A400 1TB, 2X HHD SEAGATE BARRACUDA 4TB
PM
granada
GameGuru TGC Backer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 22nd Sep 2019 22:29 Edited at: 24th Sep 2019 11:26
I think Wolf has it covered ,it’s all about trial and error really

Dave
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
GeForce RTX™ 2070 GAMING OC 8G
AMD FX (tm)-9590 Eight-core Processor
31.96 GB RAM
3840 x 2160 ,60 Hz
PM
JC LEON
9
Years of Service
Recently Online
Joined: 22nd Apr 2010
Location:
Posted: 24th Sep 2019 00:16 Edited at: 24th Sep 2019 00:17
ok i manage to import a GG animated hand in fragmotion.. but when i select the mesh it seems to be one mesh with wepaon.. how can i do to select only the harms and delete them and after add GG stock hands?
PC Specs:
AMD QUADCORE 880K @4.5GHZ, 32GB RAM DDR3 1600, M/B ASUS A88XM-PLUS
SVGA NVDIA 1660GTX 6GB , SSD KINGSTON A400 1TB, 2X HHD SEAGATE BARRACUDA 4TB
PM
Bored of the Rings
GameGuru Master
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 24th Sep 2019 06:01
I did a video on this yonks ago where I showed how to interchange weapons/hands, if I still have it stored somewhere I'll post.
Professional Programmer: Languages- SAS (Statistical Analysis Software) , C++, C#, VB, SQL, PL-SQL, JavaScript, HTML, Three.js, Darkbasic Pro (still love this language), Purebasic, others
Hardware: Dell Precision 490; AMD Radeon HD 7570; 12GB.
PM
granada
GameGuru TGC Backer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 24th Sep 2019 11:29
Select the mesh then select the vertices of the arms and hit delete

Dave
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
GeForce RTX™ 2070 GAMING OC 8G
AMD FX (tm)-9590 Eight-core Processor
31.96 GB RAM
3840 x 2160 ,60 Hz
PM
osiem80
Recently Online
Joined: 24th Jan 2019
Location: Poland
Posted: 24th Sep 2019 11:34
@leon
follow the instructions of wolfs tutorial
PM

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-10-17 21:02:21
Your offset time is: 2019-10-17 21:02:21