Feature Creep / Live update

Author
Message
Bugsy
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2008
Location: Savannah
Posted: 7th Jan 2018 07:00
having to restart GG for my changes to take effect on fpe files and gunspecs takes forever. I think gg should live update when scripts and configs are updated. that would make artists workflow much easier.
Teabone
3D Media Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2006
Location: Canada
Posted: 10th Jan 2018 08:42
I'm always exiting and restarting GG for the same reason. For FPE changes to take effect.

LUA scripts however always update, without the need to restart Game Guru -- thankfully!
Twitter - Teabone3 | Youtube - Teabone3 | Twitch - Teabone3 | TGC Assets - Store Link | Patreon - Teabone3

i7 -2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz - Windows 7 - 8GB RAM - Nivida GeForce GTX 960
Teabone
3D Media Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2006
Location: Canada
Posted: 11th Jan 2018 21:19
Also noticed another problem. I have a ton of entities that are blocks you can walk on.. but i forgot to set the proper FPE material index for them. So now I have to rip apart my entire level in order to fix, since some of the FPE elements do not show up in the property panel in GG.
Twitter - Teabone3 | Youtube - Teabone3 | Twitch - Teabone3 | TGC Assets - Store Link | Patreon - Teabone3

i7 -2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz - Windows 7 - 8GB RAM - Nivida GeForce GTX 960
granada
GameGuru TGC Backer
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 1st Mar 2018 14:56
Quote: "having to restart GG for my changes to take effect on fpe files and gunspecs takes forever. I think gg should live update when scripts and configs are updated. that would make artists workflow much easier."


You got my vote

Dave
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
GeForce GTX 1050 Ti
AMD FX (tm)-9590 Eight-core Processor
31.96 GB RAM
1920x1080,60 Hz
PM
Gtox
3D Media Maker
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jun 2014
Location: South Africa
Posted: 16th Mar 2018 08:05
If you open a new level, changes made to the fpe and gunspec files will take effect. I don't think this works for textures yet.
i5 2500k 3GB GTX1060 8GB RAM Windows 10
Bugsy
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2008
Location: Savannah
Posted: 16th Apr 2018 03:59
i didnt know this, but that takes just about as long as opening GG. why cant there just be an "update" button?
Corno_1
GameGuru Tool Maker
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Nov 2010
Location:
Posted: 23rd Apr 2018 22:33
Just delete the entity from the map and save your level. That refresh the fpe too
Ebe Editor Free - Build your own EBE structures with easy and without editing any text files
Thread and Download
JPH-GAMES
3D Media Maker
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Feb 2015
Location: Belgique
Posted: 11th May 2018 16:13
For my part, I make a new virgin field, then I modify file fpe, texture, .x, I return in GG and my objects are OK.
No redemarage GG
Excuse my bad English.

Intel Pentium CPU G3220 3.000 GHz , 8 GB Ram , NVIDIA GeForce GTX 745 2GB , Windows 10 64-bit.
GameGuru , S2Engine HD , Shoot EM Up , CopperCube 5 , Clicteam Fusion 2.5 , Platfinity .

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2018-08-16 08:55:50
Your offset time is: 2018-08-16 08:55:50