Work In Progress / Un-Named RPG test

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 9th Sep 2017 15:49 Edited at: 9th Sep 2017 16:20
Developer- Just me =)

Storyline- This is mainly a test game but my idea is to try and emulate a pen and paper style game complete with dungeon master narration and 'choice and consequence'- Its to be a combat light , turn based style adventure RPG with a generic plotline just so I can test systems and figure out what works and what does not for my 'real game' down the road.

Right now Im mostly trying to make a few map scenes.

Hey guys, I'm not sure where to post this so I figure this is the best spot as it is a "work in progress" but is mostly just a place im testing things to learn how to do them and maybe get some advice.... I'm brand new to GG and pretty much game making (except for RPG Maker which ive played with) so crafting worlds in 3d is something brand new to me.

Ive watched a ton of tutorials and read things and continue to look things up every 5 minutes it seems lol.

So, my first real test is in making mountains that look realistic and yet fantastical at the same time- I have 'multi layered' them so that when you walk they kind of scroll at different rates- Anyhow, I havnt done any painting or really adding much to them except for the basics until I get the terrain how I want...Then I plan to really do the details.

So I started this last night as the basis for one of the scenes I will be using and Ive already ran into a bit of an issue- My waterfalls are not properly reflecting the light/ambiance or anything that I can figure out. In a well lit situation with a blue skybox they look pretty good- but...