Google+

forums

Third Party Tools / Amim8or its free

Author
Message
Honkeyboy
Reviewed GameGuru on Steam
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Sep 2015
Location: Doesnt know half the time ;)
Posted: 17th Feb 2017 22:39
Hey all, if your wanting to get into any sort of modelling i suggest you give this a bash, ive been using it for a year or so now and although its not perfect it really has some uses, even now i use Max and blender i still drop models into this because of its ease of use, mesh adjustments, adding mats, if you check my post https://forum.game-guru.com/thread/217434 all the capes for the characters and all the character adjustments were done with this in sometimes 15 mins, its that easy to use. It is limited but has some really nice quick solutions to getting things done quickly, supports .obj, 3ds etc so i just export out as .obj and use blender to convert to .FBX ect worth a look anyway its free
Intel i5 4950 Quad core 3.3ghz AMD FX 6300 x6 cores 3.5ghz(unclocked)
8gb Ram 8gb Ram
AMD Radeon 7570 1gb AMD Radeon HD 6670 2gb
and a well fed mouse on a wheel

I only smile because i have absolutely no idea whats going on
granada
GameGuru TGC Backer
15
Years of Service
Recently Online
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 17th Feb 2017 22:57
I sort of remember playing with this a long time ago,anything free is cool thanks.

Dave
Windows 10 Pro
GeForce GTX 1050 Ti
AMD FX (tm)-9590 Eight-core Processor
31.96 GB RAM
1920x1080,60 Hz
PM
Honkeyboy
Reviewed GameGuru on Steam
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Sep 2015
Location: Doesnt know half the time ;)
Posted: 18th Feb 2017 00:21
Its worth a look Dave its actually pretty good for quick adjustments to models etc, in fact all my early space craft etc was done with it ok its not as complex as the major editors but its a great platform if you want to get into modelling
Intel i5 4950 Quad core 3.3ghz AMD FX 6300 x6 cores 3.5ghz(unclocked)
8gb Ram 8gb Ram
AMD Radeon 7570 1gb AMD Radeon HD 6670 2gb
and a well fed mouse on a wheel

I only smile because i have absolutely no idea whats going on
Jerry Tremble
GameGuru TGC Backer
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Nov 2012
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posted: 18th Feb 2017 02:31
Quote: "I sort of remember playing with this a long time ago,anything free is cool thanks.
"


Anim8or was the first 3D modelling application I ever downloaded! It ran on Win 98, and it was free. In the meantime, I've spent some money on other applications, with my eye on Blender much of the way. Until more recently, there was not really much info on Blender for a noob so it was always a mystery to me. More recently (the past 5-7 yrs), YouTube has exploded with tutorials, and good ones, on pretty much anything you can think of, Blender being one of them. It's actually a pretty easy program to use. That's my choice for now. Nice to see Anim8or is still around, though. I wonder if it's evolved since I last used it? I will check it out, thanks. LOL, I may even have it backed up on a floppy.
Desktop: i7 4770@3.4Ghz (passmark 9809), 12GB RAM, Win 10/64, GeForce GTX 1080 (passmark 12006), 1TB SSD, 1TB HDD; Laptop: i7 4800MQ@2.7Ghz, 16GB RAM, Win 10/64, GeForce GTX870M , 1TB SSD.
PM
Bored of the Rings
Valued Member
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 18th Feb 2017 08:00
I remember this program way back when I had the Amiga, looked awesome back then, downloaded the latest 2014 version now and will give it a try, comes with a PDF manual so that will really help. thanks for the post.
Professional Programmer: Languages- SAS (Statistical Analysis Software) , C++, C#, VB, SQL, PL-SQL, JavaScript, HTML, Three.js, Darkbasic Pro (still love this language), Purebasic, others
Hardware: Dell Precision 490; AMD Radeon HD 7570; 12GB.
FPSC to GameGuru Tools: AutoWelder/SegAutoWelder, Entity+Weapon Welder, FPEtoBAT
PM
arfur9
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jan 2012
Location: Cold op norf UK
Posted: 18th Feb 2017 08:03
Yes that and Truespace on the Amiga ... happy days
Jerry Tremble
GameGuru TGC Backer
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Nov 2012
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posted: 18th Feb 2017 16:22
That's funny, truespace 6 was the first modeling program I paid for, i think I spent $3-400 for it, then Microsoft bought caligari and shut them down. Then I bought milkshape for $25, lol. Somewhere in that time truespace I came out for free.
Desktop: i7 4770@3.4Ghz (passmark 9809), 12GB RAM, Win 10/64, GeForce GTX 1080 (passmark 12006), 1TB SSD, 1TB HDD; Laptop: i7 4800MQ@2.7Ghz, 16GB RAM, Win 10/64, GeForce GTX870M , 1TB SSD.
PM
arfur9
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jan 2012
Location: Cold op norf UK
Posted: 18th Feb 2017 17:40
I did the last ever Truespace monthly contest, it was the first thing I modeled and rendered that I was really proud of
it was this old girl rendered on a 32 bit XP2000 pc I fried the CPU lol
Bored of the Rings
Valued Member
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 19th Feb 2017 00:30
shame it doesn't import/export a lot more model formats such .X, FBX etc for animations.
Professional Programmer: Languages- SAS (Statistical Analysis Software) , C++, C#, VB, SQL, PL-SQL, JavaScript, HTML, Three.js, Darkbasic Pro (still love this language), Purebasic, others
Hardware: Dell Precision 490; AMD Radeon HD 7570; 12GB.
FPSC to GameGuru Tools: AutoWelder/SegAutoWelder, Entity+Weapon Welder, FPEtoBAT
PM
Flatlander
GameGuru TGC Backer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2007
Location: The Flatlands
Posted: 19th Feb 2017 03:29
Thanks for the Reminder.

Jerry Tremble wrote: " . . .may even have it backed up on a floppy."


You still have floppy drives? Windows 98? You must have had 5.25 floppy drives. I've been cleaning house and found a lone 3.5" floppy. I do think I had purchased a drive with USB that I'll have to find.
When in doubt -- C4 :heh, heh, heh:

-Jamie Hyneman
Jerry Tremble
GameGuru TGC Backer
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Nov 2012
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posted: 19th Feb 2017 04:02 Edited at: 19th Feb 2017 04:04
Quote: "You still have floppy drives? Windows 98? You must have had 5.25 floppy drives. I've been cleaning house and found a lone 3.5" floppy. I do think I had purchased a drive with USB that I'll have to find. "


LOL, not on any machine I currently use, but I keep EVERYTHING! I have at least 15 PCs around the house. None of my "in use" computers have floppy drives, unfortunately, but I do have a ton of 3.5" floppies (which, really weren't floppy)! I threw out my last 5.25 floppy a few years back, only because I didn't have the means to read it anymore. (Current machines are in my sig)
Desktop: i7 4770@3.4Ghz (passmark 9809), 12GB RAM, Win 10/64, GeForce GTX 1080 (passmark 12006), 1TB SSD, 1TB HDD; Laptop: i7 4800MQ@2.7Ghz, 16GB RAM, Win 10/64, GeForce GTX870M , 1TB SSD.
PM
Jerry Tremble
GameGuru TGC Backer
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Nov 2012
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posted: 19th Feb 2017 13:37
Quote: "I did the last ever Truespace monthly contest, it was the first thing I modeled and rendered that I was really proud of
it was this old girl rendered on a 32 bit XP2000 pc I fried the CPU lol
"



That is an amazing job!
Desktop: i7 4770@3.4Ghz (passmark 9809), 12GB RAM, Win 10/64, GeForce GTX 1080 (passmark 12006), 1TB SSD, 1TB HDD; Laptop: i7 4800MQ@2.7Ghz, 16GB RAM, Win 10/64, GeForce GTX870M , 1TB SSD.
PM
arfur9
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jan 2012
Location: Cold op norf UK
Posted: 19th Feb 2017 13:55
up until a few years ago, I still had my old P60, with 16meg of ram and a 800meg hard drive, I think it had win 95, Works, Doom, AOE and TS2, It was a constant balancing act to keep some HDD space lol.. actually nothing changes, I have 500gb now and I'm still juggling files

Quote: "That is an amazing job! "

Thanks
seppgirty
Game Guru Backer
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 19th Feb 2017 17:36
Quote: "shame it doesn't import/export a lot more model formats such .X, FBX etc for animations."


Via a couple of plugins from clinton man you can import and export FBX models with truespace 7.6.1 also .obj, collada .x bvh , 3ds

Windows 7 Home Premium Service Pack 1.Intel core i5-2300cpu @2.80 GHz 2.80 GHz
RAM 16 gb G-Skill G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1066 (PC3 8500) Desktop Memory

AMD Radeon HD 6670. ASUS Radeon HD 6670 DirectX 11 EAH6670/DIS/1GD5 1GB 128-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready Video Card. 1GB 128-Bit GDDR5
Memory Size
1GB
Belidos
3D Media Maker
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Location: Hertfordshire
Posted: 21st Feb 2017 10:15
Quote: "I have 500gb now and I'm still juggling files"


Wow, i don't know how you do it, i have 2 2TB SSHD's and i've just ordered another one because i'm running out of space lol.

i5, NV960 2GB, 16GB memory, 2x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.
arfur9
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jan 2012
Location: Cold op norf UK
Posted: 21st Feb 2017 13:54
Aye seppgirty Clintonman has done some great work over the years for TS
Belidos, I'm a hoarder in both worlds , so less is good lol

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2017-10-24 10:42:44
Your offset time is: 2017-10-24 10:42:44