Scripts / How to generate the FPE script for a new Tree ?

Author
Message
UltraVox
GameGuru TGC Backer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th May 2007
Location: Into The Light
Posted: 10th Nov 2013 09:10
Hello all,



I use Forester Pro to create new trees in my Reloaded game.



I can export to .X or .DBO files.

But I do not know how to create the FPE script file that goes with it.



Can someone explain to me, please ?



Thanks.

UltraVox
pianodavy
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Nov 2013
Location: United States
Posted: 10th Nov 2013 13:39
Here is a link you will love!



http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=200330



It worked great for me - good luck!

All you need is love....so let me have your burger.
UltraVox
GameGuru TGC Backer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th May 2007
Location: Into The Light
Posted: 10th Nov 2013 13:59
Thank you very much !
UltraVox
GameGuru TGC Backer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th May 2007
Location: Into The Light
Posted: 10th Nov 2013 14:21
This software requires that the texture is the same name as the file.x

Example: box.x and box.dds



How to proceed when the tree contains two textures ? (Trunk and foliage).

There is no example for an object with two textures.



Do you have any idea ?
Green Gandalf
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jan 2005
Location: Cornwall UK
Posted: 10th Nov 2013 19:54
Quote: "There is no example for an object with two textures."




Use just one combined image instead - and adjust the UV mapping accordingly.





Powered by Free Banners
UltraVox
GameGuru TGC Backer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th May 2007
Location: Into The Light
Posted: 10th Nov 2013 21:03
Wow wow lol Probably easier when you have the habit, but hard to understand when one has ever done. This is what is most lacking in this forum : the organization



What software do you use ?

Do you know of a hyper simplified tutorial ?



Thanks.
CyberGamer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th May 2012
Location: UK
Posted: 11th Nov 2013 10:08
@UltraVox Can Forester Pro create wind effects for FPSCR?

Amd Quad Core FX-4100 3.6MHz,GTX550Ti 1GB GDDR5,8GB DDR3

Windows 8.1 Pro

UltraVox
GameGuru TGC Backer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th May 2007
Location: Into The Light
Posted: 11th Nov 2013 10:41
I looked at all options of the program, but I found nothing related to the Wind. You can download the demo version on the Forester Pro website and check yourself.
CyberGamer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th May 2012
Location: UK
Posted: 11th Nov 2013 11:25
Ok thanks.

Amd Quad Core FX-4100 3.6MHz,GTX550Ti 1GB GDDR5,8GB DDR3

Windows 8.1 Pro

spudnick
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2010
Location:
Posted: 4th Dec 2013 00:25
erm wind effect, i wonder if it can create a baked bean tree. whof there would be plenty of wind lol.



joking aside.



i shall have a good look into wind, as its a good feature.
PM
almightyhood
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Oct 2013
Location:
Posted: 20th Dec 2013 23:30
I just downloaded forester lite, the free version. it is awesome I like it and hope to learn how to use it properly lol, any1 know or can make a tutorial for getting the tree's out of it to fpscr please would be very welcome and much appreciated , im a complete noob to the whole game making world lmao, and need simple to understand info thanks a lot.

have fun stay safe

hood
PM
World Class Multimedia
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Aug 2008
Playing: Game Development
Posted: 8th Jan 2014 02:20
Wind would have to be programmed/used in FPSCR and not any other program.



Mike

YOU DREAM IT - WE CREATE IT!

www.world-class-multimedia.com

For world-class virtual instruments - www.supersynths.com
rolfy
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jun 2006
Location:
Posted: 15th Jan 2014 01:48 Edited at: 15th Jan 2014 02:52
I put a Forester Pro tree into FPSC Classic with wind animation some time ago and it ran just fine, it's a vertex anim saved into the .x file. Though it takes a bit of twiddling as FPSC doesn't handle vertex animation too well, and its a bit of resource hog on the cpu, it did work okay.

I am not too sure about putting a whole bunch of these into any game engine all the same.



I haven't looked too closely at tree and veg wind animations in Reloaded yet but it appears to be shader driven vertex animation with a sway amount based on height so it might not be so hard to apply this to your own vegetation, though they are simply textured 'x'planes.



The animated palm trees use the character shader so I assume these are boned.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-04-14 21:11:27
Your offset time is: 2024-04-14 21:11:27