Product Chat / Black screen

Author
Message
AlmostParanoid
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2023
Location:
Posted: 14th Nov 2023 12:26
GameGuru not working
Hello,
I tried to run GameGuru Classic for the first time on my new PC today
and it starts up with a black screen instead of the grass level and just starts looping
as if it was trying to load something but im unable to do anything.
Tried to look it up online but couldnt find anything usefull.
My graphics drivers are up to date.

I already tried to verify the game files + reinstalling but to no success

Does anyone else have this issue?

Screenshot: https://picr.eu/i/ITA8l

Specs are
Geforce RTX 2060 super
Intel core i5 10000-something
32gb ram
PM
Lance
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jul 2003
Location: Third planet from Sun
Posted: 14th Nov 2023 14:25
Are you running windows 11 S ?
Lance

Joined 22nd Jul 2003

PM
AlmostParanoid
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2023
Location:
Posted: 14th Nov 2023 15:41
Quote: "Are you running windows 11 S ?"


You mean in S Mode?

I checked and I run Windows 11 Home apparently
PM
3com
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th May 2014
Location: Catalonia
Posted: 14th Nov 2023 19:05
@ AlmostParanoid
Check if GG is running the Nvidia card or the Intel one.



Sorry Spanish here, but you get the point.
Laptop: Lenovo - Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 1005M @ 1.90GHz

OS: Windows 10 (64) - Ram: 4 gb - Hd: 283 gb - Video card: Intel(R) HD Graphics
cpu mark: 10396.6
2d graphics mark: 947.9
3d graphics mark: 8310.9
memory mark 2584.8
Disk mark: 1146.3
Passmark rating: 3662.4

PM
AlmostParanoid
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2023
Location:
Posted: 14th Nov 2023 19:52
Quote: "Are you running windows 11 S ?"


If you mean Windows 11 in S mode, no
I run Windows 11 Home
PM
AlmostParanoid
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2023
Location:
Posted: 14th Nov 2023 19:53
Quote: "Check if GG is running the Nvidia card or the Intel one."


I forced it to use the NVIDIA Card but its still showing a black screen sadly
PM
Lance
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jul 2003
Location: Third planet from Sun
Posted: 15th Nov 2023 22:40 Edited at: 15th Nov 2023 22:42
Not sure but the Windows 11 Home still has S mode .



Try this . Go into settings , look for ' For Developers ' and in Developers Mode turn On . If that doesn't work you can go into the Microsoft Store and search for 'Switch' out of S mode . This will remove S mode permanently (you can't go back) . I don't know if Microsoft Store still has it available .
Go onto YouTube and look around before you do anything .
This worked for me but no guarantees ..

I am using a Gateway 2 in 1 notebook with a Celeron CPU (1.10ghz) when I go to the local coffee shop on Saturdays .
Lance

Joined 22nd Jul 2003

PM
3com
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th May 2014
Location: Catalonia
Posted: 15th Nov 2023 23:21
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/switching-out-of-s-mode-in-windows-4f56d9be-99ec-6983-119f-031bfb28a307#WindowsVersion=Windows_11
Laptop: Lenovo - Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 1005M @ 1.90GHz

OS: Windows 10 (64) - Ram: 4 gb - Hd: 283 gb - Video card: Intel(R) HD Graphics
cpu mark: 10396.6
2d graphics mark: 947.9
3d graphics mark: 8310.9
memory mark 2584.8
Disk mark: 1146.3
Passmark rating: 3662.4

PM
AlmostParanoid
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2023
Location:
Posted: 22nd Nov 2023 21:57
I looked it up and did all the steps but im running Windows 11 Home, not in S mode or something.

I tested GameGuru on my laptop, where it runs with no problems, just on this PC it seems not to function
correctly for some reason.

I dont know what to do else
PM
AlmostParanoid
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2023
Location:
Posted: 22nd Nov 2023 21:57 Edited at: 22nd Nov 2023 21:59
I also tried to run it with different compatibility modes but to no success too
PM
Lance
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jul 2003
Location: Third planet from Sun
Posted: 23rd Nov 2023 14:43
Are you running it as Admin ?

Have you downloaded any other programs ? Do they run OK ?
Lance

Joined 22nd Jul 2003

PM
Teabone
Forum Support
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2006
Location: Earth
Posted: 24th Nov 2023 19:53
What version of Game Guru Classic on Steam are you using?
Store Assets - Store Link
Free GGC Resource - Resource Link

i7 -2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz - Windows 7 - 8GB RAM - Nivida GeForce GTX 960

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-06-20 10:21:02
Your offset time is: 2024-06-20 10:21:02