Scripts / [SOLVED] how to load scripts ? help

Author
Message
Bulut
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Feb 2023
Location:
Posted: 16th Feb 2023 03:46
how to add game scripts? how to add new weapon? Thank you from now.

The author of this post has marked a post as an answer.

Go to answer
PM
3com
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th May 2014
Location: Catalonia
Posted: 17th Feb 2023 11:38
This post has been marked by the post author as the answer.
About weapon: C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\GameGuru MAX\Guides\Weapons - no guns yet, just melee, though.
About scripts: C:\Users\username\Documents\GameGuruApps\GameGuruMAX\Files\scriptbank\user
Your script should have a "DESCRIPTION: what does your script here" at the very beginning of the script. (without the quotes)
Laptop: Lenovo - Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 1005M @ 1.90GHz

OS: Windows 10 (64) - Ram: 4 gb - Hd: 283 gb - Video card: Intel(R) HD Graphics
cpu mark: 10396.6
2d graphics mark: 947.9
3d graphics mark: 8310.9
memory mark 2584.8
Disk mark: 1146.3
Passmark rating: 3662.4

PM
Guru
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Mar 2022
Location:
Posted: 30th Mar 2023 17:13
So I was stratching my head following GG tutorials, and trying to figure out why my newly added script wouldn't appear on Behaviour list, turned out I had to add that

-- DESCRIPTION: Enter description here

On the beginning of the script. Was this newly added? I remember I didn't have to do this during alpha or something.
PM
smallg
Community Leader
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2005
Location:
Posted: 30th Mar 2023 19:57
it's always been a requirement, there was a toggle to show legacy scripts before though.
honestly it's better to add the description and get used to using the DLUA as using editor settings is way nicer.
lua guide for GG
https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=398177770
windows 10
i5 @4ghz, 8gb ram, AMD R9 200 series , directx 11
Tater
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2023
Location:
Posted: 1st Apr 2023 16:59
I've tried 2 different sctripts. I loaded them into "user............scriptbanks folder". It shows up under "behaviors\user" but after assigning the script it does nothing. I've tried the grappler and portal gun.
PM
smallg
Community Leader
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2005
Location:
Posted: 2nd Apr 2023 09:09
then you have probably renamed them so they no longer call the right functions
lua guide for GG
https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=398177770
windows 10
i5 @4ghz, 8gb ram, AMD R9 200 series , directx 11
Tater
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2023
Location:
Posted: 2nd Apr 2023 17:03
Thanks for the response though I loaded them just as I got them. They do show in the behaviors but they just don't function. When I assign your grappling gun to pistol I can't even pick it up. When I tried A.M.'s it picked up but would never look up. Once picked it stayed on the ground.

My question lies in what do I actually assign them to. Do I assign the behavior to another entity and then put the guns name in it or do I assign it directly to the gun? This is my first time working with scripts so, yeah, I'm definitely new here.
PM

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-02-22 04:57:09
Your offset time is: 2024-02-22 04:57:09