Scripts / [SOLVED] Get Player Distance Traveled Stored As A Value?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 21st Sep 2022 20:34
I've been thinking about this for hours and I can't figure it out. Is there a way to keep track of how far the player has traveled? Something like how far since the last check and if the player goes further than a given value then add +1 to a value? such as "If PlayerDistanceTraveled => X then distance = distance +1. I just can't figure out what I need to keep track of to get the player distance. How would I set the current start tracking position to the players current position and check the players current position to the previous start tracking position to see if the player has traveled far enough to add to the stored distance value? As I'm sure you can tell, I've been racking my brain to figure this out. I'm still a noob so it's hard. lol.

My end goal is to use the stored distance value to show the players distance on screen using number sprites to show it. I've figured out everything else except actually getting the value. I'm doing the same thing with a timer. It's already scripted and waiting for me to get done with this post so I can get back to making the sprite images I need to finish it. Any help will be appreciated. TIA

Keep Making Stuff You Enjoy.

The author of this post has marked a post as an answer.

Go to answer

Attachments

Login to view attachments
3com
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 22nd Sep 2022 01:14
@ EyeFly
Try this one

https://youtu.be/li5KKNkjM5E
Laptop: Lenovo - Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 1005M @ 1.90GHz

OS: Windows 10 (64) - Ram: 4 gb - Hd: 283 gb - Video card: Intel(R) HD Graphics
cpu mark: 10396.6
2d graphics mark: 947.9
3d graphics mark: 8310.9
memory mark 2584.8
Disk mark: 1146.3
Passmark rating: 3662.4

Attachments

PM
GubbyBlips
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 22nd Sep 2022 01:14 Edited at: 22nd Sep 2022 01:20
PM
EyeFly
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 22nd Sep 2022 03:05