3rd Party Models/Media Chat / Third party melee characters halfbaked tutorial

Author
Game Guru Backer
Years of Service
User Offline
Playing: witcher 3
Posted: 3rd Jun 2022 00:39 Edited at: 18th Jun 2022 20:44
So I found out something pretty interesting to at least get hand to hand custom characters working. I'm not an expert but I managed to get one working mostly with minor kinks and glitches. Probably because I only halfway know what I'm doing

so first thing I did is find this nice little alien character on sketch fab for free. I then took them over into Miximo and rigged him up. After that I picked about five different animations for walking, running, idle, attack, crouch and the death animation. So from there you have all the animations but they're all in separate files so you have to put them together. I found this nice little video on YouTube telling you how to combine them all very easy with blender. I'm horrible with blender and got this done on the first try so it's pretty simple. There may be better ways to do it but this is how I got it done. Here's the video:

so after you have all the animations put together an exported the model you take it over into game guru Max and use the importer to import it. Get your scaling right and all that stuff and head over to the animation tab. All your animations should be listed like in this picture.

I haven't scaled the guy in the screenshot so he looks like a giant set your animation speed to 100 or whatever you want and click on each of the animations to check what they are and then rename them to whatever they do to make it easier later. Turn off animation preview also. After that just import them in.