Product Chat / Building in my game?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Yes im looking to implement players being able to build bases in my game and wondering how would i do that? i am not good with coding. i wanna be able to have walls ceilings doors hatches turrets and also storage. Any help would be great even tutorials will help!
PM
42pixels
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th Nov 2021 07:35
This would be a very cool feature, for sure. I would like to know if this is possible too.
11th Gen Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-11800H @ 2.30GHz 2.30 GHz, 32.0 GB, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3060 Laptop GPU 6GB, Windows 10 Home 64bit, Screen resolution 1920 x 1080. System Passmark 3777
jjumisko
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 9th Nov 2021 00:51
I think the reason you have not gotten a reply yet is because this is so far out of the wheelhouse of GameGuru's capabilities. COULD you build a game that does this in GG, yes. Could you do this without coding? There is no way possible to do this without learning some Lua and developing a plan for implementation. The mechanic you describe seems pretty simple on the face of it, because most games that have this feature make it very easy for the PLAYER, but this is not a simple task to implement from a game development point-of-view.

Think about simplifying your game a bit. Maybe working toward your player being able to build something by stepping on a trigger zone. That alone would keep you busy for a while, trust me. If I knew how to do this in Lua, I would totally help you, but I work in C# in Unity, and have limited Lua knowledge.