Scripts / Suspended transport "tramway"

Author
Message
imothep85
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2006
Location: Belgium
Posted: 26th Jul 2021 13:16
Hi im doing some tests
this time i imported a quick low poly to gg of a huge city
the city has 1 tramway but the tramway is suspended to a rail
the tramway has 10 "stop" stations where the tramway stop for 10s then continue his way
the tramway is not controled by the player it has to be automatic, How can i achieve this ?

I made a bloc representing the suspended tramway & my spline is the rail

But I don't know how to achieve that ?

thanks
My Portfolio: https://www.mattepainting.be/
My FREE extension: https://www.stop-it.be/

Attachments

Login to view attachments
AmenMoses
GameGuru Master
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2016
Location: Portsmouth, England
Posted: 26th Jul 2021 18:53
If you have Cine|Guru you could copy the spline following code in that.

Been there, done that, got all the T-Shirts!
PM
imothep85
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2006
Location: Belgium
Posted: 26th Jul 2021 19:32 Edited at: 26th Jul 2021 19:32
I have cine / guru, but the tramway has to stop in 10 stations, where the player can go and use that automated tramway, the tramway just travel in loop from station to station !
My Portfolio: https://www.mattepainting.be/
My FREE extension: https://www.stop-it.be/
AmenMoses
GameGuru Master
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2016
Location: Portsmouth, England
Posted: 26th Jul 2021 20:02


There is a simple barrel following a spline path example. In this case the splines are defined by waypoints.
Been there, done that, got all the T-Shirts!
PM
imothep85
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2006
Location: Belgium
Posted: 27th Jul 2021 06:07 Edited at: 27th Jul 2021 06:11
AmenMoses whaouw ... so it's feseable ?
when the player go to the tramway station and step inside the tramway, inside the tramway the player can't walk he can just look around him & when the tramway stop in a station then the player can leave !
but you show it's possible to move an object with waypoints that's already good !
Now i need to know how to make the tramway stop in some waypoints, wait for 10sec then continue
My Portfolio: https://www.mattepainting.be/
My FREE extension: https://www.stop-it.be/
3com
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th May 2014
Location: Catalonia
Posted: 27th Jul 2021 12:35
Quote: "whaouw ... so it's feseable ?"

Seriously mate? after 15 years here?
You most likely have to work the wp nodes in the script, to stop the vehicle when reaching a node.
Laptop: Lenovo - Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 1005M @ 1.90GHz

OS: Windows 10 (64) - Ram: 4 gb - Hd: 283 gb - Video card: Intel(R) HD Graphics
cpu mark: 10396.6
2d graphics mark: 947.9
3d graphics mark: 8310.9
memory mark 2584.8
Disk mark: 1146.3
Passmark rating: 3662.4

PM
imothep85
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2006
Location: Belgium
Posted: 27th Jul 2021 13:12
well 15yr... i just purchassed gg for my spare time, learning & testing.
in wich script i have to do the changes to stop the vehicle when he reach a node ?
also i'm not an LUA user so it's going to be difficult !
My Portfolio: https://www.mattepainting.be/
My FREE extension: https://www.stop-it.be/
3com
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th May 2014
Location: Catalonia
Posted: 27th Jul 2021 15:43
@ imothep85
Ok, does no matter if you don't understand Spanish, just go to the below link, look at the second video, grab the last script, and try it.
https://forum.game-guru.com/thread/221800

This is no going to stop at every bus stop, but it is a good start point.
Laptop: Lenovo - Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 1005M @ 1.90GHz

OS: Windows 10 (64) - Ram: 4 gb - Hd: 283 gb - Video card: Intel(R) HD Graphics
cpu mark: 10396.6
2d graphics mark: 947.9
3d graphics mark: 8310.9
memory mark 2584.8
Disk mark: 1146.3
Passmark rating: 3662.4

PM
AmenMoses
GameGuru Master
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2016
Location: Portsmouth, England
Posted: 27th Jul 2021 20:19 Edited at: 27th Jul 2021 20:19
Very few games allow the player to actually jump on board a moving entity and wander around it, where they do it is usually a very simple object like a platform or lift.

What usually happens is that the player approaches the entity and then selects an option to 'ride' it , then the camera is overridden and it is the camera than actually follows the entity whilst the player capsule is frozen. The player can be allowed to change the camera angle which gives the impression they are riding along.

When the entity 'arrives' the player then gets the option to leave it and then the player is moved to a position relative to the entity and control given back to the player.

What I just described (apart from the player being able to change the camera angle whilst 'in transit') is exactly how Cine|Guru works!
Been there, done that, got all the T-Shirts!
PM
Defy
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Aug 2007
Location:
Posted: 29th Jul 2021 02:19 Edited at: 29th Jul 2021 02:29
Hello imothep85

I see you have a lot of ideas going on at the moment and that's great. I would be asking yourself the question why game dev, as part of the fun is making things work, I'm sure many would agree.
I never have a problem with seeing someone ask a question, however GG is framework, and what the end dev does with it, is your call to work it out, using stock options provided, doing your own thing or building on someone else project idea/scripts ect.
If too crazy or hard, adapt your ideas to counter this or think outside the box as they say, or build on structure that works for you.

What Amen is pointing out, in the land of GG, users tend to adapt basic options. This could be a number of factors, such as cost, time, what's available without learning or what options are available.

Now in saying that, I have dropped hints before about models users could use, I have still yet to see on the store, possibly some good money makers.
Though as I am not a modeler and have not much time to dabble in the fine arts of gg. My suggestion is to track down someone as a paid/freelance modeler and make a tram model with dynamic setup/door, much like the one used in the example video below and go from there. Video is purely to inspire, look forward to seeing more from users in this area.



Half life / Intro '98 example (many know this one, though just so you get the idea what Amen is hinting at)
PM
imothep85
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2006
Location: Belgium
Posted: 29th Jul 2021 10:57 Edited at: 29th Jul 2021 11:00
i like to experiment, GG is a good tool for it !
and i try things i would liek to achieve maybe for later !
i'm working on my tramway 3d model !
My Portfolio: https://www.mattepainting.be/
My FREE extension: https://www.stop-it.be/

Attachments

Login to view attachments

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2021-11-27 20:52:40
Your offset time is: 2021-11-27 20:52:40