Product Chat / what about this ?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hello

Game Guru has been around now for years and I have had fun with it, it really needs some upgrades I was just wandering if anyone is working on things like going prone, being able to climb cliffs, being able to choose the loadout of a player with up to four weapons without having to pick up every single weapon. Hopefully these things will be added to Game Guru Max also ,I mean as far as I can remember these features have been apart of shooters for a very very long time . Or has everyone just giving up on Game Guru altogether?

o
PM
GubbyBlips
Years of Service
User Offline
All those features sound like basic scripting to me. Granted basic but still time consuming.
I'm no expert on weapons since my thoughts on those are I don't have the constitution to add them to my game that's about saving lives- not taking them! ( Hence the reason I'm so gloomy about TGC's over-arching agenda to shoot em up, splatter and destroy everything as fast and furious as possible.) While not providing any other features. Hence the need to learn scripting... the only positive side to the engine w/ Classic or w/ MAX!

But I found this in global.lua

for index = 1, 10 do
if WeaponID > 0 then
SetWeaponSlot ( index, WeaponID, WeaponID )
ChangePlayerWeaponID(WeaponID)
else
SetWeaponSlot ( index, 0, 0 )
end
So I think if you go to each weapon script, maybe it will give you a clue how to add it "manually" via a script like that. In other words find it's ID. I would ask in the script forums if anyone knows about that??

The cliff climbing was one I am considering adding to my game (3rd person- not 1st).

" Or has everyone just giving up on Game Guru altogether?"