Product Chat / Max and Save Game

Author
Message
Tarkus1971
Audio Media Maker
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2015
Location: England, UK
Posted: 9th May 2021 07:48 Edited at: 9th May 2021 07:49
I know there is no standalone creation in max yet but when it is put in, I was just wondering if there is any planning on how the save and load game progress will be implemented. I hope it will be a totally new system of saving the players progress, classics system does not remember the state of locked doors, and whether entities have moved, etc and a lot of lua has to be added by the user.
Aftershock Quad Core AMD FM2+ 3.5 GHz 8GB Motherboard and Processor, A7700k apu, Asus GT970 STRIX 4gb Nvidia gfx card.
King Korg Synth, Alesis SR18 Drum Machine, Akai MPX8 sample player, Roland Fantom XA Synth, Axus Digital AXK2 Digital Drum Kit, Novation Ultranova Synth, Waldorf Blofeld Synth, Roland D05 Synth Module, Bluedio Victory V Headphones, AKG K141 Studio Headphones, Lenovo Ideapad, with Windows 10 64bit, 8Gb Ram and AMD A10 7th Gen Graphics. Acer Swift i3 Laptop with Intel Optane memory, Intel 620UHD GPU, Windows 10 64bit.
3com
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th May 2014
Location: Catalonia
Posted: 11th May 2021 00:45
It should be a standalone window setting.
Keeping the current progress shouldn't that hard since GG does something seemed with the checkpoint system, although it is not implemented in GG standalone.
Also, there is something to take care of as well, I'm going to explain to you all to get my point.
I have a Z lotion, if you own it and use it, you will be able to walk with the zombies without getting hurt, although it has duration time, if the effect finishes and you aren't done, you (the player) die.
Ok, the player dies, however still has 2 lives, so try 2, start to try 2, and man, the Z lotion is no longer there, therefore the player doe not have the z lotion, therefore he is unable to walk with the zombies, therefore the game end, because the engine does not reset all the level and start from scratch, so the player will have a second chance to try to.
Laptop: Lenovo - Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 1005M @ 1.90GHz

OS: Windows 10 (64) - Ram: 4 gb - Hd: 283 gb - Video card: Intel(R) HD Graphics
cpu mark: 10396.6
2d graphics mark: 947.9
3d graphics mark: 8310.9
memory mark 2584.8
Disk mark: 1146.3
Passmark rating: 3662.4

PM
GubbyBlips
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2019
Location:
Posted: 11th May 2021 02:42
Both great ideas. I haven't heard of the checkpoint system. Interesting- what is it?
"the engine does not RETAIN in-play variables, instead it RESTARTS everything from zulu hour (scratch)"
According to what I've heard most people say regarding saving these variables;
make them global-carry-over variables (just global is not enough?) by using the
famous and glorious g_ yourvwxyz Ex; g_lotion. Anybody tested/ know of updates?
PM
Tarkus1971
Audio Media Maker
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2015
Location: England, UK
Posted: 11th May 2021 07:19
Yes I have written 2 lua scripts to save and load these variables, and also in those lua scripts they also ensure that entities that are moved, things collected etc are correctly re-loaded, it works, so I guess this will be the same in Max. These scripts are not generic, and have to be updated as you are creating your game. It's a workaround but it does work well, plus I can save and load progress and changes during test game as well.
Aftershock Quad Core AMD FM2+ 3.5 GHz 8GB Motherboard and Processor, A7700k apu, Asus GT970 STRIX 4gb Nvidia gfx card.
King Korg Synth, Alesis SR18 Drum Machine, Akai MPX8 sample player, Roland Fantom XA Synth, Axus Digital AXK2 Digital Drum Kit, Novation Ultranova Synth, Waldorf Blofeld Synth, Roland D05 Synth Module, Bluedio Victory V Headphones, AKG K141 Studio Headphones, Lenovo Ideapad, with Windows 10 64bit, 8Gb Ram and AMD A10 7th Gen Graphics. Acer Swift i3 Laptop with Intel Optane memory, Intel 620UHD GPU, Windows 10 64bit.
3com
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th May 2014
Location: Catalonia
Posted: 12th May 2021 02:33
It can be done via LUA of course, I myself had played some time with load/savegame; anyway, the point is, it should be integrated into the engine itself, so you do not need workarounds.

@GubbyBlips
A lot of time do not mess with GG; anyway, you should have a checkpoint in the entity panel>markers. Even you have the checkpoint function in global.lua file.
Laptop: Lenovo - Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 1005M @ 1.90GHz

OS: Windows 10 (64) - Ram: 4 gb - Hd: 283 gb - Video card: Intel(R) HD Graphics
cpu mark: 10396.6
2d graphics mark: 947.9
3d graphics mark: 8310.9
memory mark 2584.8
Disk mark: 1146.3
Passmark rating: 3662.4

PM

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-04-14 22:41:14
Your offset time is: 2024-04-14 22:41:14