Product Chat / GameGuru MAX Live - Broadcast #41 Answers

Author
Message
LeeBamber
TGC Lead Developer
24
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jan 2000
Location: England
Posted: 28th Apr 2021 16:42
Hi All,

Find a recording of today's live broadcast here:


And here are your answers to questions I could not get to during the live chat:

Q> ​Will we get a proper menu editor?
A> Yes you will be able to edit your in-game screens with a proper drag-around editor.

Q> Is the death animation fixed yet? Every time I shoot the enemy he folds up bad twists and floats away?
A> The AI has not been worked on, this will happen around the time we start talking about game logic and behaviors.

Q> Can we have the start markers etc fixed to the top of the library to save scrolling for them .. or something similar for quick access?
A> We do have some plans to accelerate access to the game 'elements' features, watch out for that in a future broadcast.

Q> ​What are the plans for weapons? Will they get any new additions or updates?
A> We do plan to replace/update the current weapons we have, but do not plan to introduce many. There will be one of each basic type to get you started, and plan to provide more via DLC from third parties, and of course, provide a guide so you know how to make your own.

Q> In the future with game guru max, can we create horror games? For example similar to half-life.
A> You will be able to make horror games yes. The standard of half-life will likely require a large team, and until we have released the product and seen some games created with GameGuru MAX, we do not advise making commercial plans around making games at the same level as half-life.

Q> Will you be able to have 100s of links between levels, as in jump to a town or cave or dungeon and link twin exits back to the main map?
A> Yes the arrangement of levels within your game project can be non-linear and linked in the order your game needs.

Q> ​Will the engine have support for open worlds?
A> There are no plans for open worlds in GameGuru MAX. Terrains will be very large, but they will not be infinite and all of them will be single-player experiences, with no massive multiplayer capabilities.

Q> ​Will there be vehicle support?
A> There are no plans to add drivable vehicles in the first release of GameGuru MAX.

Q> When multiplayer is released are they still standalone Exe files for each level so can be redistributed without downloading game Guru like fps creator had?
A> The first release of GameGuru MAX will have no multiplayer capabilities, but the technology we have chosen for the next multiplayer offering will use Photon and so will be independent of the tool that created the game. No need to buy MAX to play your MP games.

Q> Are you using a virtual texturing system?
A> At the moment we are researching virtual texturing for the terrain as a way to further optimize how much texture data to bring to the player's current location. We believe this will be a great staging point to decide where else we can use the technique.

Thanks for all your questions, more answers for you next week!
GameGuru Classic will continue to be supported with bug fixes and functionality additions.

shivers
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Nov 2012
Location:
Posted: 28th Apr 2021 17:42
Hello
I was wondering if you will include winter outfits at least a couple soldiers with winter outfits? Also I was wondering if the player will also have the option for winter outfits.
PM
3com
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th May 2014
Location: Catalonia
Posted: 28th Apr 2021 19:22
Great Lee, ty for the replies.
Laptop: Lenovo - Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 1005M @ 1.90GHz

OS: Windows 10 (64) - Ram: 4 gb - Hd: 283 gb - Video card: Intel(R) HD Graphics
cpu mark: 10396.6
2d graphics mark: 947.9
3d graphics mark: 8310.9
memory mark 2584.8
Disk mark: 1146.3
Passmark rating: 3662.4

PM
science boy
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Oct 2008
Location: Up the creek
Posted: 28th Apr 2021 23:52
So whats the actual direction in may? Im getting bits and drip fed info.. Is it stull ui or is it ai or iz it geometry as in map and area this would be nice to know. If we get clear concise info on vos aims and purpose and reasons im happy
Im 50 now aint a kid travelled the world been in terrorist bombing shot at near kidnapped. Have an audi a house a fiancee a cat and ex dj and promoter and now home Manager. Have a degree and lots of quals and this is actually all true
GubbyBlips
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2019
Location:
Posted: 29th Apr 2021 00:11
"Yes the arrangement of levels within your game project can be non-linear and linked in the order your game needs."
Exactly what I've been thinking about for the past few days prior to this question.
It sounds like this would require a user customizable global.lua file or another kind
of project management, which for sure seems would have to be a global scripted link.
PM
synchromesh
Forum Support
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 29th Apr 2021 09:07
Quote: "So whats the actual direction in may?"

Stream 42 will apparently have some revelations.
The only person ever to get all his work done by "Friday" was Robinson Crusoe..
PM
synchromesh
Forum Support
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 29th Apr 2021 10:02 Edited at: 29th Apr 2021 10:04
Maybe sooner than i thought.
Just went on YouTube and this hit me in the face.


On your Marks ... Get Set ... Wait for it.
Set your Reminders
The only person ever to get all his work done by "Friday" was Robinson Crusoe..
PM
3com
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th May 2014
Location: Catalonia
Posted: 29th Apr 2021 12:31
Mistery P will be revealed, maybe we are going to use PI (3,14,16) to calculate distance between point a thru point b (navmesh). LOL
Laptop: Lenovo - Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 1005M @ 1.90GHz

OS: Windows 10 (64) - Ram: 4 gb - Hd: 283 gb - Video card: Intel(R) HD Graphics
cpu mark: 10396.6
2d graphics mark: 947.9
3d graphics mark: 8310.9
memory mark 2584.8
Disk mark: 1146.3
Passmark rating: 3662.4

PM
osiem80
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2019
Location: Poland
Posted: 29th Apr 2021 14:01
Thats a way higher than my expectations honestly, expecially the UI, so lovely!
whats the current stand?alpha or beta?
PM
DVader
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2004
Location:
Posted: 29th Apr 2021 14:30
@3com Pi is just a ratio for a circle, so not going to be that ;p At least not in any way I can think of, but I'm not a mathematician by any stretch of the imagination. I barely remember any maths from school now, lol. I'm expecting mystery P to be more momentous

@soiem80. I'd consider Max to still be alpha at the moment as it is still far from complete. It's looking very promising though so far and that's the main thing

SPECS: Ryzen 1700 CPU. Nvidia 970GTX. 16 Gig Memory. Win 10.
3com
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th May 2014
Location: Catalonia
Posted: 29th Apr 2021 15:56
@ DVader
Just kidding, if char wall in a circle well.. LOL
Laptop: Lenovo - Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 1005M @ 1.90GHz

OS: Windows 10 (64) - Ram: 4 gb - Hd: 283 gb - Video card: Intel(R) HD Graphics
cpu mark: 10396.6
2d graphics mark: 947.9
3d graphics mark: 8310.9
memory mark 2584.8
Disk mark: 1146.3
Passmark rating: 3662.4

PM
GreekToMe
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Oct 2009
Location: Colorado, USA
Posted: 29th Apr 2021 16:20

Yes, I am waiting as well and tasting the "breadcrumbs" as they come down the "pipeline".

Just for giggles!
Patience, Persistence, Perseverance, Passion, Purpose and Perfection. Your choice of P.
Cheers!
Alexis A
PM
DVader
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2004
Location:
Posted: 29th Apr 2021 17:17
P for Poly reduction!
P for Power!
P for Particles!
P for Photon multiplayer!
Or maybe they are just taking the P
Time will tell. I doubt the last one is applicable but couldn't resist.
SPECS: Ryzen 1700 CPU. Nvidia 970GTX. 16 Gig Memory. Win 10.
synchromesh
Forum Support
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 29th Apr 2021 17:24 Edited at: 29th Apr 2021 17:25
P for Probably non of the above
I think its Pathfinding myself which i think Granada mentioned.
The only person ever to get all his work done by "Friday" was Robinson Crusoe..
PM
AmenMoses
GameGuru Master
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2016
Location: Portsmouth, England
Posted: 29th Apr 2021 18:20
I think it's three P's and the second two are poor performance.
Been there, done that, got all the T-Shirts!
PM
GubbyBlips
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2019
Location:
Posted: 29th Apr 2021 19:15
@AmenMoses
Well, in some corners, table top games are still popular it seems.
Maybe one 'P' is a Polyhedron Collider to fill the gap?
http://www.polyhedroncollider.com/
PM
GreekToMe
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Oct 2009
Location: Colorado, USA
Posted: 29th Apr 2021 19:19
Mission accomplished. Giggles.
See, we are having a bit of fun without even making a game, or writing a script.
The P could be a lot of things.
Amen Moses is in the true spirit of things. We waited for so long.... A bit more ? Who cares? In my "waiting" hours, I am working on Pygame and Pymunk. Learn a new language and having some fun with Platformers. I kill plenty of waiting time. If I don't forget Lua in the meantime. Worked a bit on AGK Studio yesterday, so I can keep in tune with that as well. And it was a smart move!
So...
It must be 5 o'clock somewhere (at Fps = 60)

Cheers!
Alexis A
PM
wizard of id
3D Media Maker
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2006
Playing: CSGO
Posted: 29th Apr 2021 23:26
Pretty sure the P stands for probes, some thing Lee showed very early on that magically vanished and was never seen again, so it has to be that, it is some thing that has to make a comeback at some point.

Pertaining the P, my projection is probably probes, possibly and probably the wrong projection of it being probes which is yet to be proven wrong?
Win10 Pro 64bit----iCore5 4590 @ 3.7GHZ----AMD RX460 2gb----16gig ram
shivers
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Nov 2012
Location:
Posted: 5th May 2021 13:55
Hello

I just used the new build for Max and I noticed that when I scrolled down the entity list that the orbs come up twice is this a glitch or are they listed twice for a reason?
PM

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-04-14 22:25:22
Your offset time is: 2024-04-14 22:25:22