Product Chat / Lee is it possible to have this in Max

Author
Message
PCS
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jul 2016
Playing:
Posted: 10th Apr 2021 06:53 Edited at: 10th Apr 2021 07:30
This function that we have now, that outline an object in the editor

Can we have the same In game to draw the players attention to an entity that they must pick up or interact with?
It would be a very nice function to have In Max and who knows Maybe in Classic also
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4590S CPU @ 3.00GHz
RAM 16GB NVIDIA GeForce GT 730
DirectX Version: DirectX 11

Attachments

Login to view attachments
JC LEON
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Apr 2010
Location:
Posted: 10th Apr 2021 09:50
it's a shader that cam manage this
PC 1 Specs:
AMD RYZEN 3800x OPTA CORE @3,90, 64GB RAM DDR4 @3200,
M/B GIGABYTE AX370, SVGA ATI XFX RX580 GTS XXX EDITION 8GB GDDR5 , 1X SSD M.2 TRANSCEND S110 1TB, 1X SSD SAMGUNG EVO QVO 870 1TB SATA3 ,1X HDD SEAGATE BARRACUDA 4TB, 1X HDD TOSHIBA 2TB



PC 2 Specs:
AMD QUADCORE 880K @4.5GHZ, 32GB RAM DDR3 1600, M/B ASUS A88XM-PLUS
SVGA RADEON R9 380 4GB , SSD KINGSTON A400 1TB, 2X HHD SEAGATE BARRACUDA 4TB
PM
PCS
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jul 2016
Playing:
Posted: 10th Apr 2021 10:21
Quote: "it's a shader that cam manage this"

If it is a shader, how easily would it be to turn it on and of to so that it can flicker and once the player has inter act with it , then the shader must be turned of, would this be an easy setup or not. I am not so clued up with these , that's why i ask.
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4590S CPU @ 3.00GHz
RAM 16GB NVIDIA GeForce GT 730
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
Ratall
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Jun 2008
Location: Not Here
Posted: 10th Apr 2021 11:52
Use the feature request option in max to raise it.
“Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler.”
Albert Einstein


"Ye count your selfe wele lettred , your lernyng is starke nought."
Anon
PM
GubbyBlips
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2019
Location:
Posted: 10th Apr 2021 22:35
"Use the feature request option in max to raise it. "
Yeah, but what about a couple threads for the whole forum to discuss-- open ideas?
Not for intentions to argue or vote, but just place down logical suggestions.
Therefore a forum level memory-bank?
PM
AmenMoses
GameGuru Master
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2016
Location: Portsmouth, England
Posted: 10th Apr 2021 22:51
OP is directed at Lee not the forum though.

I agree that before pestering Lee with requests on GitHub they should probably get discussed here first though.
Been there, done that, got all the T-Shirts!
PM
PCS
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jul 2016
Playing:
Posted: 11th Apr 2021 07:47 Edited at: 11th Apr 2021 07:48
HI Guys, ... Yes sorry the idea was to just get this under Lee's attention , not to force him to implement this, and then also get some other forum members feelings about this, Also i remember that a while back there were similar discussion on how to to something like this in Classic.
So when I saw this function in Max editor it reminded me that some members in the past was also looking to have something like this.
Also If anyone who reads this think that we need to put the request on GitHub then anyone is free to do so, that would be greatly appreciated.
The last thing i want is to Have members fighting over this.

Thank you GubbyBlips
Quote: "Yeah, but what about a couple threads for the whole forum to discuss-- open ideas?
Not for intentions to argue or vote, but just place down logical suggestions.
Therefore a forum level memory-bank?"


Thank you AmenMoses
Quote: "I agree that before pestering Lee with requests on GitHub they should probably get discussed here first though."
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4590S CPU @ 3.00GHz
RAM 16GB NVIDIA GeForce GT 730
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
synchromesh
Forum Support
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 11th Apr 2021 09:45 Edited at: 11th Apr 2021 10:10
Quote: "I agree that before pestering Lee with requests on GitHub they should probably get discussed here first though."

I do not think anyone needs to discuss their requests for community approval before adding one to Github. That's why its there. The Dev Team will see it and if they think " Hey thats a good idea " they will take it further. or not as the case may be. Its not Pestering Lee or the team in any way. Its their preferred avenue for exactly this type of thing.
The only person ever to get all his work done by "Friday" was Robinson Crusoe..
PM
smallg
Community Leader
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2005
Location:
Posted: 11th Apr 2021 11:50
still a good idea to ask in the forums at least, it might already be something someone has done.
lua guide for GG
https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=398177770
windows 10
i5 @4ghz, 8gb ram, AMD R9 200 series , directx 11
PCS
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jul 2016
Playing:
Posted: 11th Apr 2021 11:50
Ok , just added it on GitHub
Request for new feature ( outline entity ) #1084
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4590S CPU @ 3.00GHz
RAM 16GB NVIDIA GeForce GT 730
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
Teabone
Forum Support
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2006
Location: Earth
Posted: 12th Apr 2021 04:59
The question about shaders come up a lot for Max. In earlier days of Game Guru when it was under Directx9 you could use programs like Dark Shader to create your own shader. Since the move to a newer DX version this is no longer possible with that tool however, if you know the syntax and structure you can still create shaders of your own or modify existing ones in Game Guru. You can even use Lua to manipulate some values of existing shaders to create new effects, like below:



However for Max, since its under Wicked, I believe this is a more complex challenge when it comes to shaders. In GG I've always wanted the ability to have the same Entity highlight feature where you can switch from green to red. Unfortunately I've not figured out a way yet to do that. In Max as far as I know you cannot modify shaders so this would for sure have to be a dev request to add. I would personally love something like this as it adds a really cool point of interest outline for collectables.
Store Assets - Store Link
Free Assets - Resource Link

i7 -2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz - Windows 7 - 8GB RAM - Nivida GeForce GTX 960
synchromesh
Forum Support
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 12th Apr 2021 09:51 Edited at: 12th Apr 2021 09:52
Perhaps something like this might be included in the RPG element of Max.
Its early days but you never know.
The only person ever to get all his work done by "Friday" was Robinson Crusoe..
PM
OldFlak
GameGuru TGC Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jan 2015
Location: Tasmania Australia
Posted: 12th Apr 2021 13:14 Edited at: 12th Apr 2021 13:15
Quote: "I would personally love something like this as it adds a really cool point of interest outline for collectables."

Tis one of those things you think would just be there in any engine today - even in Classic.

It would surely be a great feature to have. Not sure why we seem to forget some of the cool features of yesteryear - Republic Commando had that awesomeness way back in 2005, as did others....

So yeah - Make MAX Great!

OldFlak....
System Specs
i7-9700K 3.60GHz. ASUS NVidia GeForce GTX 1060 6GB. 32GB Themaltake ToughRam Z-ONE 3600.
Main Screen: HP 27" @1920x1080 - Screens 2\3: Acer 24" @ 1920 x 1080

Windows 10 Pro 64-bit Insider
aka Reliquia
PM
PCS
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jul 2016
Playing:
Posted: 12th Apr 2021 19:23
TO: Teabone
Quote: "You can even use Lua to manipulate some values of existing shaders to create new effects, like below:"


This is cool what you have done in the video, just one question can you still do it to only one entity while the other are not also affected by the script that control the shader?
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4590S CPU @ 3.00GHz
RAM 16GB NVIDIA GeForce GT 730
DirectX Version: DirectX 11

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-04-14 22:02:23
Your offset time is: 2024-04-14 22:02:23