Scripts / Jumping Variables

Author
Message
Medmatheus
Reviewed GameGuru on Steam
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2015
Location:
Posted: 22nd Jan 2021 15:43
Hi guys.

First of all I'm planning to create a script for a 3rd person double jump action. I searched the global.lua, but only found variables that controls max height or return the number 1 if it jumped.

Question: does anybody knows wich variables I could work with to start it off?

Ty
3com
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th May 2014
Location: Catalonia
Posted: 22nd Jan 2021 16:35
I had never do something like this, but I would start looking on



Track the GetGamePlayerControlThirdpersonEnabled var
gameplayercontrol.lua file.
Laptop: Lenovo - Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 1005M @ 1.90GHz

OS: Windows 10 (64) - Ram: 4 gb - Hd: 283 gb - Video card: Intel(R) HD Graphics
cpu mark: 10396.6
2d graphics mark: 947.9
3d graphics mark: 8310.9
memory mark 2584.8
Disk mark: 1146.3
Passmark rating: 3662.4

PM
AmenMoses
GameGuru Master
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2016
Location: Portsmouth, England
Posted: 22nd Jan 2021 17:28
IIRC somewhere in that mess of a script it checks that a 'jump' action is finished before allowing another one, simply replace that with a count so it will allow a second 'jump' to occur whilst the first 'jump' is still active but doesn't allow a third.
Been there, done that, got all the T-Shirts!
PM
GubbyBlips
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2019
Location:
Posted: 22nd Jan 2021 21:52
Could this maybe be a little easier with a ForcePlayer @ Y (Vertical)

Anyhow- I have a sneaking suspicion that in third person, the player does not actually do
a real jump (lifting off the ground). But it's only the animation sequence that makes them
appear to lift off the ground? In first person, you can make the jump as high as you want,
but 3rd person is not doing the same effect.


PM
3com
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th May 2014
Location: Catalonia
Posted: 22nd Jan 2021 22:00
We can make HUGE running jumps with this, as Lee said. I have tried and it is unrealistic but quite nice.
Laptop: Lenovo - Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 1005M @ 1.90GHz

OS: Windows 10 (64) - Ram: 4 gb - Hd: 283 gb - Video card: Intel(R) HD Graphics
cpu mark: 10396.6
2d graphics mark: 947.9
3d graphics mark: 8310.9
memory mark 2584.8
Disk mark: 1146.3
Passmark rating: 3662.4

PM
Medmatheus
Reviewed GameGuru on Steam
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2015
Location:
Posted: 23rd Jan 2021 19:35
Gonna take a look into the gameplayercontrol.lua, thank you !
smallg
Community Leader
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2005
Location:
Posted: 24th Jan 2021 11:04
i see code in there to check if you can jump and if you are jumping but doesn't look like the actual jump code is there (i.e. how it actually moves the player) so might have to write your own to replicate the stock jump - at least you can use the stock commands to check for if the player is already jumping before you enable the double jump which is handy
lua guide for GG
https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=398177770
windows 10
i5 @4ghz, 8gb ram, AMD R9 200 series , directx 11

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-04-18 20:21:08
Your offset time is: 2024-04-18 20:21:08