3rd Party Models/Media Chat / Collision problem with Multi-Level model?

Author
Message
GoDevils
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Sep 2014
Location: Arizona USA
Posted: 28th Sep 2020 07:23


I've created this simple model in Blender (2.8). It began as a sized cube, which I loop cut, and then selectively extruded the different levels. In the final model both the lower and upper horizontal areas will serve as levels where the player and other characters can walk upon.

The Import Model process works fine (FBX file), and I can walk on the upper ledge, but I cannot walk on the lower ledge. I've tried about every combination of the importers collision menu, and nothing seems to work. Any suggestions on how to resolve this would be most appreciated.

Thanks
"THERE IS NO SPOON"

AMD 6300 6 core 3.5 ghz, Windows 10, 8GB ram, GTX 1060 2GB ram

Attachments

Login to view attachments
mikeven
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st Dec 2011
Location:
Posted: 28th Sep 2020 18:04
Hi Godevils,

I would suggest you to verify in Blender if your mesh was entirely above the 'floor' (value Y=0).
I had a similar problem with some meshes imported in FBX format and I noticed that I forgot to place them correctly above the 'floor : Y=0) in my modeller (MetaSequoia 4 Pro).

If you want you could watch this video (89 MB = 41 sec. ) uploaded on Movavi Cloud : http://cloud.movavi.com/show/0OFAeGLXUTv5btC4iaJm7f2PBuoZh6Nk

All those meshes (huge plates with holes and bumpers) in FBX 2020 format were nicely imported in Game Guru Alpha 6.1 :
- automatic creation of a Surface Material.
- automatic detection of the collisions ( it is impressive).

I hope that your problem is not relative to the structure of your mesh.




PM
mikeven
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st Dec 2011
Location:
Posted: 28th Sep 2020 20:30
I think that the setting "materialindex = -1" in the .fpe file could be one of the problems encountered with the collisions in Game Guru Max Alpha 6.1.

Indeed, I remember that I modified that setting after having imported my FBX models. I set one of the values defined in the FPE documentation found in this forum.

I made this new test :
- the imported mesh with the value "materialindex= -1" -> problem with the collision : the player cannot move on that mesh.
- the same mesh saved with the value "materialindex= 4" -> no problem anymore : the player can move on that mesh.


PM
granada
GameGuru TGC Backer
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 29th Sep 2020 21:09
Quote: "the same mesh saved with the value "materialindex= 4" -> no problem anymore : the player can move on that mesh."


@ mikeven You just made my day

Dave
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
GeForce RTX™ 2070 GAMING OC 8G
AMD FX (tm)-9590 Eight-core Processor
31.96 GB RAM
3840 x 2160 ,60 Hz
PM
GraPhiX
Forum Support
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2005
Playing:
Posted: 30th Sep 2020 09:20
@GoDevils it could be a few things, try turning the 'debug' slider up slightly so the collision boxes show, also make sure the faces are not reversed on the lower level.

If you send me your test model i can have a look for you
Welcome to the real world!
Main PC - Windows 10 Pro x64 - Core i7-9700K @4.2GHz - 64GB DDR4 RAM - GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER 8GB - 2TB NVe, 1TB NVe, 2TB Hybrid Data Drive
Test PC - Windows 10 Pro x64 - Core i7-7700K @4.2GHz - 32GB DDR4 RAM - GeForce GTX 1060-6G 6GB - 1TB NVe SSD
Laptop - Helios 300 Predator - i7 7700HQ - 32GB - Nvidia GTX1060 6GB - 525GB M2 - 500 SSD - 17.3" IPS LED Panel - Windows 10 Pro x64
Various Tutorials by me
mikeven
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st Dec 2011
Location:
Posted: 30th Sep 2020 14:25
Hi everyone,

@Granada, I am glad to read that adjusting the value of 'materialindex' in the .fpe file is useful for you.

@GoDevils, I must admit that my first comment was inappropriate. Indeed I now see that you are a skilled modeller's user as proven by the items you currently sell on tgcstore.net.

Personally I am convinced that the importer of Game Guru Max final release will greatly facilitate the work of the 3D artists.

(Good to know : this free software might be of interest for some members of this community : https://pcon-planner.com/en/download/
I tested it during a few days. Easier to use than some other professional software of that category. Large collection of home furnishings and of realistic materials are available online.)

PM
GoDevils
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Sep 2014
Location: Arizona USA
Posted: 1st Oct 2020 03:33
Thank you all for you suggestions.

I just want to make it clear that I'm having the problem in GG Classic.

I did attempt to change the Material Index in the FPE to "4", but this did not help. Just to note that the Material Index set by the importer was zero (not -1).

Still working....
"THERE IS NO SPOON"

AMD 6300 6 core 3.5 ghz, Windows 10, 8GB ram, GTX 1060 2GB ram

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2020-12-05 15:08:01
Your offset time is: 2020-12-05 15:08:01