Product Chat / Red Death Fog / Sounds Off

Author
Message
GubbyBlips
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2019
Location:
Posted: 16th Jul 2020 21:32
Since someone on Steam was looking for switch this off again...
Find this line in GPC.lua ((there's only one occurrence in mine))

;;; if ( g_PlayerHealth >= 100 ) then ;;;
change 100 to 1

BACKUP FIRST. Go blue stealth.
PM
DVader
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2004
Location:
Posted: 16th Jul 2020 21:41
This may work, but seems odd (backwards) to me. I would have thought it would check if the health was below a certain level, not above or equal to the max. I've never messed with GPC.lua either, never even heard of it!

Something more like
if g_PlayerHealth <= 10 then

Would seem a more reasonable option. But I don't know what the rest of the code is of course It's rare I edit built in GG stuff.
SPECS: Ryzen 1700 CPU. Nvidia 970GTX. 16 Gig Memory. Win 10.
Belidos
3D Media Maker
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Playing: The Game
Posted: 16th Jul 2020 21:47
Isn't there a LUA command to disable the low health stuff?

Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Primary Laptop:
i5, NV1050 4GB, 8GB memory, 1x 1TB HDD, Win10.

Secondary Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.
DVader
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2004
Location:
Posted: 16th Jul 2020 21:54
@Belidos. There may be, I have no idea. There's a ton of commands now I have never used. But in general programming you would simply check if the health has dropped below a certain value before triggering the sound and red screen stuff. Which I'm sure you know
SPECS: Ryzen 1700 CPU. Nvidia 970GTX. 16 Gig Memory. Win 10.
GubbyBlips
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2019
Location:
Posted: 16th Jul 2020 21:56 Edited at: 16th Jul 2020 22:11
BTW-- for future onlookers TIP:
so considering the code; by this method it looks like you can still have
red death and heart attack if you set the "100" to whatever number
(40, 60) for example. Health below # activates all those fine features.

@Belidos
??Maybe?? but see line above...
it gives you the blood squirts on screen for 2 seconds, and the
blinking health hud, but absent is the heart throbs and the
red screen of death! Go blue stealth.

@DVader
looks like the primary Red Fog activity sits under an "else" statement...
PM
3com
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th May 2014
Location: Catalonia
Posted: 16th Jul 2020 22:00
https://forum.game-guru.com/thread/221730
Laptop: Lenovo - Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 1005M @ 1.90GHz

OS: Windows 10 (64) - Ram: 4 gb - Hd: 283 gb - Video card: Intel(R) HD Graphics
cpu mark: 10396.6
2d graphics mark: 947.9
3d graphics mark: 8310.9
memory mark 2584.8
Disk mark: 1146.3
Passmark rating: 3662.4

PM
DVader
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2004
Location:
Posted: 17th Jul 2020 16:39
@GubbyBlips. Ah, then it makes a lot more sense
SPECS: Ryzen 1700 CPU. Nvidia 970GTX. 16 Gig Memory. Win 10.
PCS
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jul 2016
Playing:
Posted: 18th Jul 2020 10:24
Ok i just also ask / complain at GitHub about this problem. " Disable Blood Effects / Hurt Sounds #806 "
Yes i know a lot has been said about it how to get around it, but it is actually sad and ridiculous thinking about it , that there are so many that don't want this, and there are Talented people out there that can take this problem away , i am sure in less then 15 min and give us an Mini update. ......... then problem solved.

If it was a request that was voted in , in the past , then i can understand that they don't want to change it ,
but by simply rewrite GPC.lua to give use the option to have a extra script to control it easily by switch it on or off would be fantastic.
just by using these functions like
SetGamePlayerControlRedDeathFog(0)
SetGamePlayerControlHeartbeatTimeStamp(0)
does not work 100%
we need to be able to switch it on or of
the heartbeat sound
the read blood splatter
the hurt sound
the red fog
every thing to be controlled it one little script.
I'm sure its possible.

Sorry if it sounds like i am just complaining but , its a little frustrating if small things can be easily fixed to make big impact in GG and it does not look like its going to happen.
im still looking for the light at the end of the tunnel.
im still believing in GG
will wait until there is no breath left in me.
Ps please hurry
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU G3260 @ 3.30GHz (2 CPUs), ~3.3GHz RAM 16GB NVIDIA GeForce GT 730
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
synchromesh
Forum Support
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 18th Jul 2020 11:01
@PCS
Sounds like you know what your doing ..
Why not just make one. Like you say less than 15 mins to do.
The only person ever to get all his work done by "Friday" was Robinson Crusoe..
PM
synchromesh
Forum Support
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 18th Jul 2020 11:11 Edited at: 18th Jul 2020 11:12
Found this on steam if it helps.
Comment out these lines in the gameplayercontrol.lua. Make a Backup in case Updates overwrite it so you can copy it back but apparently it does the job.

The only person ever to get all his work done by "Friday" was Robinson Crusoe..
PM
Belidos
3D Media Maker
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Playing: The Game
Posted: 18th Jul 2020 11:31 Edited at: 18th Jul 2020 11:35
There must be lua commands to control the sound and blood effect because in the store there's a script in there for it, so there must be.

https://www.tgcstore.net/product/34691

Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Primary Laptop:
i5, NV1050 4GB, 8GB memory, 1x 1TB HDD, Win10.

Secondary Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.
PCS
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jul 2016
Playing:
Posted: 18th Jul 2020 11:39 Edited at: 18th Jul 2020 12:27
Quote: "@PCS
Sounds like you know what your doing ..
Why not just make one. Like you say less than 15 mins to do."


If i knew what i was doing i would have given a script to use here.
instead i don't know what i am doing , that's why i ask.
i compare my scripting ability as none, or as a drop of a drop of water in the ocean against any one here that can script , that's why i said someone can maybe do it in 15 min.
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU G3260 @ 3.30GHz (2 CPUs), ~3.3GHz RAM 16GB NVIDIA GeForce GT 730
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
PCS
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jul 2016
Playing:
Posted: 18th Jul 2020 12:10
@ synchromesh: the following scrip does the same as the code snippet you have ,


i have this script on a always active entity ( drum ) in the pic below and one hurt zone and one healing zone.

it works fine for the heart beat and the red fog screen.
But it still need a way to remove the hurt sound and the blood splatter.
So i am still searching for a small simple solution, but have not found one.
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU G3260 @ 3.30GHz (2 CPUs), ~3.3GHz RAM 16GB NVIDIA GeForce GT 730
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
synchromesh
Forum Support
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 18th Jul 2020 12:27 Edited at: 18th Jul 2020 12:39
You can turn the blood splatter off in the start marker properties.
Blood Effects = No ( That by the way is totally different seperate coding not a simple Lua edit )
You could change the hurtsound.wav to a silent one i guess.

Or this is quite clever to deal with the sound.
https://forum.game-guru.com/thread/221730#msg2629088
The only person ever to get all his work done by "Friday" was Robinson Crusoe..
PM
synchromesh
Forum Support
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 18th Jul 2020 13:10 Edited at: 18th Jul 2020 13:12
Annoyingly i have a " noredblood.lua " i use in Protascope that simply attaches to a barrel or something dynamic which then kills the red screen and sound ( but i still have to turn the blood effects off for splatter )

Problem is i cannot remember who made it for me and i would not post it without permission.
I usually pay in some way for scripts i personally request but just cannot remember in this case
The only person ever to get all his work done by "Friday" was Robinson Crusoe..
PM
3com
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th May 2014
Location: Catalonia
Posted: 18th Jul 2020 14:19
The best solution so far, at least for me comes with:

a- comment these lines in gameplayercontrol.lua file, as pointed above. Of course backup, the original one and save it in a safe place.
b- Set blood effects off, via properties panel.
c- Change the player sound with the silent.wav as pointed above, also via properties panel.

Backup also this one, due to your file most likely will be overwritten via some update, and/or file check.

The real solution should come from the engine itself, without workarounds, or via some Lua commands.
Some chance to disable all death effects/sounds via properties would be the best, then it will be easiest for everybody.

Laptop: Lenovo - Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 1005M @ 1.90GHz

OS: Windows 10 (64) - Ram: 4 gb - Hd: 283 gb - Video card: Intel(R) HD Graphics
cpu mark: 10396.6
2d graphics mark: 947.9
3d graphics mark: 8310.9
memory mark 2584.8
Disk mark: 1146.3
Passmark rating: 3662.4

PM
GubbyBlips
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2019
Location:
Posted: 18th Jul 2020 19:28
@3com
Sounds like a lot of steps, instead of the just change one number!
But sure, via properties would be fine with maybe color selection, sound
selection, sprite selection- Hey- maybe a new set of injured arms!
(Still thinking of the old days of Wolfenstein 3D) Good ol fun!
https://youtu.be/4-lMb6paQ2Q?t=180

@PCS
Lee "opens up the engine to custom scripting" as historically requested.
Not good enough? And yes, to put a simple global variable as you suggest,
to make it possible to change up any time-- again very simple-- Do It.
The problem of this carrying over to new levels would have to be faced.
PM
3com
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th May 2014
Location: Catalonia
Posted: 18th Jul 2020 19:59
Quote: "Sounds like a lot of steps, instead of the just change one number!"

Idk what number are you talking about.

Anyway, I think hurt sounds and splatter are a bit hardcoded, or I don't was able to found any LUA command to disable them.

I myself wrote a script to avoid heartbeat and the red fog effects, but you get the same then commenting these code lines as pointed above, and still, you will have to disable blood effects and sound manually, via properties panel.

If you write a script to avoid dead effects and sounds and attach it to a barrel, when player dead the engine automagically runs the gameplayercontrol.lua file and next to your script, double-check than do not make sense.

Conclusion: there may be a chance to disable these via properties panel. imho.
Laptop: Lenovo - Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 1005M @ 1.90GHz

OS: Windows 10 (64) - Ram: 4 gb - Hd: 283 gb - Video card: Intel(R) HD Graphics
cpu mark: 10396.6
2d graphics mark: 947.9
3d graphics mark: 8310.9
memory mark 2584.8
Disk mark: 1146.3
Passmark rating: 3662.4

PM
DVader
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2004
Location:
Posted: 18th Jul 2020 23:32
@3com He's talking about the initial post where he changes 100 to 1. Which should work by the sounds. Not sure if it will cause issues with whatever else the check is being used for at some point, but sounds reasonable enough.
I did this ages ago, which is along the same lines. I didn't remove it though, just made it less intrusive and only trigger at a decent health level
SPECS: Ryzen 1700 CPU. Nvidia 970GTX. 16 Gig Memory. Win 10.
3com
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th May 2014
Location: Catalonia
Posted: 19th Jul 2020 20:29
Oh, sorry missed the main post.
Sounds is handled in a different code block, not just when plr dead, just track the ttsnd var.
Just go to player properties and delete the sound file path.
Laptop: Lenovo - Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 1005M @ 1.90GHz

OS: Windows 10 (64) - Ram: 4 gb - Hd: 283 gb - Video card: Intel(R) HD Graphics
cpu mark: 10396.6
2d graphics mark: 947.9
3d graphics mark: 8310.9
memory mark 2584.8
Disk mark: 1146.3
Passmark rating: 3662.4

PM

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-03-28 09:49:52
Your offset time is: 2024-03-28 09:49:52