3rd Party Models/Media Chat / Uploading PBR Textured Models - What the hell am I doing wrong

Author
Message
grobyken
3D Media Maker
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Aug 2010
Location: Aurensan France
Posted: 6th Jul 2020 10:25 Edited at: 6th Jul 2020 11:55
Hello everyone.

I've been involved over the past several months making models for some other engines. I now have a large number of models (mainly pbr textured) that I would like to upload to this site for use in GG. Trouble is when I do the models look something like they are out of FPSC rather than GG. I have purchased the GGMax with the same results. Have looked through the forums for answers but cannot solve the problem. All the flags have been set as per requirements but still a really poor display.

Clearly this is something I am doing so any suggestions would be gratefully welcomed. I can supply an example model if anyone wants to look at the methods I have used. Below is a typical model in Sketchfab that works fine in other engines.

Edit: I think I am probably doing things right but GG and GGMAX aren't yet up to it. Hope this will change soon.

https://sketchfab.com/3d-models/scifi-walkway-red-stairs-fac137a3fb7b4e65a94aef019d7f0ae3
Belidos
3D Media Maker
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Location: Hertfordshire
Posted: 6th Jul 2020 10:59
To start with, GameGuru's PBR isn't that great, it's ok, but far from anything other engines can do, it will always look a little dated, to get the best out of them you have to tweak the heck out of the post processing settings, and even then it's not quite right. Max will be much much better, but remember the first alpha in which you can add entities (the other two alpha's are a standalone demo and a basic test of the new engine without the ability to manipulate it) does not have the new engine hooked up, it's basically classic gameguru with a new GUI, and some new features. It will eventually have the "Wicked" game engine which should in theory give us graphics to rival most other engines.

Secondly, take a look at my texture guide for gameguru over on the steam guides, so you can be sure you have the correct naming convention: Modeling For GameGuru: Texture Sets Needed For Entities . GameGuru uses the metallic/roughness workflow, but with a twist in the naming conventions.

Lastly, i can't remember if i added it to the guide, but the normal map needs an adjustment to get it to work properly in GameGuru. Most PBR normal maps are +Y in the normal directions, however GameGuru needs the green channel to be -Y, that makes a huge difference.


Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Primary Laptop:
i5, NV1050 4GB, 8GB memory, 1x 1TB HDD, Win10.

Secondary Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.
grobyken
3D Media Maker
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Aug 2010
Location: Aurensan France
Posted: 6th Jul 2020 11:52 Edited at: 6th Jul 2020 11:54
Thanks Belidos. I have the naming of the textures OK but will check out the normal maps Y. Having now spent a fair bit of time on iClone, Unity and Unreal I have to say GG needs to do as lot of catching up. I don't say that as a critic of GG as I have been involved way back in the early days of FPSC under another log on name and still feel the engine has great prospects with its easy interface ETC. Although engines like Unity are becoming increasingly easy to use.

I really hope GG can get its game together and provide a decent graphics engine but we are 15 years down the road now and I feel it's still struggling. Anyway here's hoping. Guess I will just concentrate my modelling work on the other engines for now. I have GGMax so will keep looking at developments.
GraPhiX
Forum Support
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2005
Playing:
Posted: 6th Jul 2020 15:07
Hi Ken
hope you are well, if you send me a model (the Stairs specifically, because i can see what you want it to look like) i will have a look for you
Welcome to the real world!
Main PC - Windows 10 Pro x64 - Core i7-9700K @4.2GHz - 32GB DDR4 RAM - GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER 8GB - 1TB NVe SSD 2TB Hybrid Data Drive
Test PC - Windows 10 Pro x64 - Core i7-7700K @4.2GHz - 32GB DDR4 RAM - GeForce GTX 1060-6G 6GB - 1TB NVe SSD
Laptop - Helios 300 Predator - i7 7700HQ - 32GB - Nvidia GTX1060 6GB - 525GB M2 - 500 SSD - 17.3" IPS LED Panel - Windows 10 Pro x64
Various Tutorials by me
grobyken
3D Media Maker
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Aug 2010
Location: Aurensan France
Posted: 6th Jul 2020 15:13
Hi GraPhix. Yes I am great thanks hope you are also well . Thanks for the offer which I will take you up on. Cheers.
GraPhiX
Forum Support
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2005
Playing:
Posted: 6th Jul 2020 15:31
No Problem sent you a PM
Welcome to the real world!
Main PC - Windows 10 Pro x64 - Core i7-9700K @4.2GHz - 32GB DDR4 RAM - GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER 8GB - 1TB NVe SSD 2TB Hybrid Data Drive
Test PC - Windows 10 Pro x64 - Core i7-7700K @4.2GHz - 32GB DDR4 RAM - GeForce GTX 1060-6G 6GB - 1TB NVe SSD
Laptop - Helios 300 Predator - i7 7700HQ - 32GB - Nvidia GTX1060 6GB - 525GB M2 - 500 SSD - 17.3" IPS LED Panel - Windows 10 Pro x64
Various Tutorials by me
grobyken
3D Media Maker
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Aug 2010
Location: Aurensan France
Posted: 6th Jul 2020 15:57 Edited at: 6th Jul 2020 15:58
Hello again GraPhix. I have attached a zip here that contains the GG files as well as the original textures I exported from Substance Painter and the original fbx file from Blender. Interestingly the mesh now seems to have been tossed about by GG. I have no idea why as I have not experienced this before having uploaded over a 1000 models to GG.

Below is the result in GG and the same model in another game engine. Thanks for taking the time to look at this. Much appreciated.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
grobyken
3D Media Maker
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Aug 2010
Location: Aurensan France
Posted: 6th Jul 2020 16:02
The screen shots

Attachments

Login to view attachments
GraPhiX
Forum Support
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2005
Playing:
Posted: 6th Jul 2020 16:18 Edited at: 6th Jul 2020 16:29
Hi Ken

i have had a quick look and i think its a group issue, try exporting again from your model package and merge all groups into one

Welcome to the real world!
Main PC - Windows 10 Pro x64 - Core i7-9700K @4.2GHz - 32GB DDR4 RAM - GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER 8GB - 1TB NVe SSD 2TB Hybrid Data Drive
Test PC - Windows 10 Pro x64 - Core i7-7700K @4.2GHz - 32GB DDR4 RAM - GeForce GTX 1060-6G 6GB - 1TB NVe SSD
Laptop - Helios 300 Predator - i7 7700HQ - 32GB - Nvidia GTX1060 6GB - 525GB M2 - 500 SSD - 17.3" IPS LED Panel - Windows 10 Pro x64
Various Tutorials by me

Attachments

Login to view attachments
grobyken
3D Media Maker
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Aug 2010
Location: Aurensan France
Posted: 6th Jul 2020 17:39
Will do

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2020-12-02 14:53:58
Your offset time is: 2020-12-02 14:53:58