3rd Party Models/Media Chat / Model/Texture/Workflow Questions

Author
Message
GoDevils
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Sep 2014
Location: Arizona USA
Posted: 30th Jun 2020 04:19
I've gotten decent at creating model meshes in Blender (leaning 2.8 now). I've always had troubles getting textured models from Blender to GG. I had been using MilkShape (very old program) to import and texture the mesh from Blender, then export as a .X file. Get the FPE and textures in the right place in entity bank, and I can open the model in GG.

I've been looking for a better texturing solution, and thought I found one in a program called ArmorPaint. It will export PBR texture files, and the .obj mesh (.obj only for now). GG will not import .obj files, and now MilkShape will not import the .obj files.

I can't afford the high priced 3D packages. Can anybody suggest a good work flow with meshes exported from Blender?
"THERE IS NO SPOON"

AMD 6300 6 core 3.5 ghz, Windows 10, 8GB ram, GTX 1060 2GB ram
Belidos
3D Media Maker
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Location: Hertfordshire
Posted: 30th Jun 2020 06:20 Edited at: 30th Jun 2020 13:13
I'm not sure what you mean. You don't need to export the mesh from armorpaint or any other program. The mesh you use to paint on is just a reference mesh you use for painting, just export two meshes from blender, one in obj and one in fbx, use the obj to paint on in armorpaint and export the textures, then use the fbx one and the textures from armorpaint in gameguru.

Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Primary Laptop:
i5, NV1050 4GB, 8GB memory, 1x 1TB HDD, Win10.

Secondary Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.
GoDevils
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Sep 2014
Location: Arizona USA
Posted: 30th Jun 2020 06:34
I am going to give that a try... Thanks

Have some other questions but let's see if I can this to work
"THERE IS NO SPOON"

AMD 6300 6 core 3.5 ghz, Windows 10, 8GB ram, GTX 1060 2GB ram
GoDevils
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Sep 2014
Location: Arizona USA
Posted: 2nd Jul 2020 18:14
@Belidos

Gave your ideas a try (with FBX file) but it would not work. Even tried converting the .png texture files to .dds, but that would not work either. Got it to work through my old method. In MilkShape I reuniting the new textures (from ArmorPaint as .dds files) with the original .obj file from Blender. Output as a Direct X file, and manually inserted the X file and textures into the Entity File and it opened correctly in GG.

Not the kind of workflow I'm hoping to build, but it works for now.

Thanks for your suggestion.
"THERE IS NO SPOON"

AMD 6300 6 core 3.5 ghz, Windows 10, 8GB ram, GTX 1060 2GB ram
Belidos
3D Media Maker
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Location: Hertfordshire
Posted: 2nd Jul 2020 19:11 Edited at: 2nd Jul 2020 19:14
Not sure what you are doing wrong, but fbx works better than X for me. So I don't know how to help.

You aren't by chance mistaking that it doesn't show the model in the importer until you add textures and thinking it's not working by any chance?


Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Primary Laptop:
i5, NV1050 4GB, 8GB memory, 1x 1TB HDD, Win10.

Secondary Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.
GoDevils
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Sep 2014
Location: Arizona USA
Posted: 3rd Jul 2020 02:00
@Belidos

Thanks for the great tutorial. I did finally get it to work with the FBX file. Three quick follow-up questions

1) Does the DBO created by the importer contain the entire model, properties, and textures? I've been use to setting up a folder in Entity Bank that contains the model file, FPE, and textures. I'm assuming that all of this is in the DBO file?? Do the textures themselves need to be in a specific place?

2) I've been under the impression that GG uses only .DDS files. ArmorPaint only outputs the PBR texture files in .png. Also the specific PBR formats for GG (_color.dds, _normal.dds, _gloss.dds, and _metalness.dds). Do I need to convert the .png files to this naming convention?

3) If I create a model using these methods and want to sell it in the GG store, do I have to go to the old method of providing the FPE, base model, and textures, or is the DBO file enough?

Thanks again.






"THERE IS NO SPOON"

AMD 6300 6 core 3.5 ghz, Windows 10, 8GB ram, GTX 1060 2GB ram

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2020-07-13 01:31:18
Your offset time is: 2020-07-13 01:31:18