3rd Party Models/Media Chat / Adding color for selection icons plus poly counts

Author
Message
m2design
GameGuru TGC Backer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Mar 2010
Location:
Posted: 15th Jun 2020 00:58
I would like to add color, and poly estimates to the entity selection icon page to support new items I wish to put in the store. Please take a look at the provided attachments and let me know what you think. Good or bad...

The question is, will this have a meaningful impact on memory. I am not suggesting this should be an addition to GG in general but would it be acceptable for my store items?

The poly count is included in the entity name


Windows 10 creator,64 bit| Intel i7-7700 @3.60GHZ Quad|CPU PASSMARK 10,794|Memory 16GB |NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 1060|GPU PASSMARK 9,569

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Belidos
3D Media Maker
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Location: Hertfordshire
Posted: 15th Jun 2020 07:46 Edited at: 15th Jun 2020 07:48
Interesting idea. Personally i would find it a little annoying to find the one i want because at a glance the names mean nothing to me, and with my dodgy eyes the icons all look the same. It wouldn't be too bad if it was a standard and all models were that way because people would know what it means, but with only a couple of people doing it customers aren't going to know what it means.

Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Primary Laptop:
i5, NV1050 4GB, 8GB memory, 1x 1TB HDD, Win10.

Secondary Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.
GubbyBlips
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2019
Location:
Posted: 15th Jun 2020 19:49 Edited at: 15th Jun 2020 19:51
Poly count as well as texture size would be very nice to know on
ALL store items. Some are listed in the description- many are not.

Good suggestion. I think it works fine. Like Belidos mentioned,
the thumbnail is so tiny in the menu entity selector- but that's
what there is to work with.
Here's where issues might creep in later.....
When you go to search for a tree, particularly maybe if you use
something like AssetManager, these would not show up on a "tree"
search. Course I haven't used AM- correct me if I'm wrong.

P.S. the background/ "in-game" view looks much better.
PM
m2design
GameGuru TGC Backer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Mar 2010
Location:
Posted: 15th Jun 2020 21:02
Here are a couple of screenshot attachments that illustrate how the entity selection looks in "MAX" and in Classic.
In Max we get a larger view of the selection plus the poly count of the item in the name.

In the Classic editor view the poly count is shown as part of the entity name and the bottom of the screen.
(this would only apply to entities that I would have in the store) .
If I choose not to use color entity icons I will still include poly counts in the entity name. If the store will allow it


Windows 10 creator,64 bit| Intel i7-7700 @3.60GHZ Quad|CPU PASSMARK 10,794|Memory 16GB |NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 1060|GPU PASSMARK 9,569

Attachments

Login to view attachments

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2020-12-01 11:18:46
Your offset time is: 2020-12-01 11:18:46