Product Chat / Animated doodads

Author
Message
GubbyBlips
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2019
Location:
Posted: 24th Mar 2020 19:17
Heya. So there are 'gadgets' in the TGC store that are stock animated.
Simple devices such as a fan or wheel, that are always set to rotate.
There's no script attached, they automatically animate as soon as
they are placed. Any way to control the animations on these objects?
Just off and on, or even speed if possible?
PM
smallg
Community Leader
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2005
Location:
Posted: 24th Mar 2020 20:09
there's an animation speed in the properties panel so yes you can use that or you can adjust them via script -> ModulateSpeed(e,1) -- normal speed, ModulateSpeed(e,2) --double speed
on / off is just StopAnimation(e) / LoopAnimation(e) etc
lua guide for GG
https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=398177770
windows 10
i5 @4ghz, 8gb ram, AMD R9 200 series , directx 11
3com
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th May 2014
Location: Catalonia
Posted: 24th Mar 2020 20:26
Or "playanimineditor = 1" or animated gif file.
Laptop: Lenovo - Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 1005M @ 1.90GHz

OS: Windows 10 (64) - Ram: 4 gb - Hd: 283 gb - Video card: Intel(R) HD Graphics
cpu mark: 10396.6
2d graphics mark: 947.9
3d graphics mark: 8310.9
memory mark 2584.8
Disk mark: 1146.3
Passmark rating: 3662.4

PM
PCS
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jul 2016
Playing:
Posted: 24th Mar 2020 20:51 Edited at: 24th Mar 2020 21:00
Something like this:


i have received so many free models and scripts and help from users here on the forum,
So my turn to give back, nothing fancy but it do the job.
hope you can use it

Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU G3260 @ 3.30GHz (2 CPUs), ~3.3GHz RAM 16GB NVIDIA GeForce GT 730
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
GubbyBlips
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2019
Location:
Posted: 24th Mar 2020 21:35
Aha... that'll be great. Thanks for the info.
PM
AmenMoses
GameGuru Master
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2016
Location: Portsmouth, England
Posted: 24th Mar 2020 22:01
Just using this as a teaching opportunity

if GetInKey() == "r" or GetInKey() == "R"

can be replaced with

if tolower( GetInKey() ) == 'r'

Been there, done that, got all the T-Shirts!
PM
Flatlander
GameGuru Master
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2007
Location: The Flatlands
Posted: 24th Mar 2020 22:06
Thanks, PCS. A nice script. I don't about you but it is 'a feel-good' moment when I find the opportunity to share something with the community. Again, thanks because I do have a use for this.
Alienware Aurora R7 with SSD 256GB boot drive ( C: ) and a secondary drive ( D: ) that is 2TB
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8700 CPU @ 3.20GHz 3.19 with Intel Turbo-burst
Installed RAM 16.0 GB
64-bit operating system, x64-based processor
Windows 10 Home
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 with 8192 MB GDDR5 and 8095 MB shared system memory
GubbyBlips
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2019
Location:
Posted: 24th Mar 2020 23:01
Oh, BTW, I have a *static*/ *animated* object-- sounds strange,
but there is no place in properties to turn static = no.
While it does animate-- a script won't work for it, any suggestions?
PM
GubbyBlips
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2019
Location:
Posted: 24th Mar 2020 23:10
2 points.
@PCS- great script. It works on a dynamic entity from the Sci-Fi pack.
@smallg, yes the properties panel will also control speed-- a one time effect!

I suppose I have to go into the .fpe and change something...?
PM
GubbyBlips
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2019
Location:
Posted: 24th Mar 2020 23:17
@AmenMoses
so I suppose (guessing)
that tolower is a lua stock function // not GG?
But-- looking for it in google didn't return much... hmm!
PM
GubbyBlips
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2019
Location:
Posted: 24th Mar 2020 23:27
Okay now... got it in the .fpe; defaultstatic = 0.
PM
PCS
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jul 2016
Playing:
Posted: 24th Mar 2020 23:48
@Flatlander, yes you are correct, it does feel good, i don't get that opportunity often, and its something small but it feels nice to give, i can only imagine how some of the other users must feel if they give away something big like a 3d model or a very complicated script.
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU G3260 @ 3.30GHz (2 CPUs), ~3.3GHz RAM 16GB NVIDIA GeForce GT 730
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
Pirate Myke
Forum Support
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st May 2010
Location: El Dorado, California
Posted: 25th Mar 2020 03:04
Thank you, PCS.
RIP
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz, 2400 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s), 8gb RAM, Nvidia gtx660, Windows 7 Pro 64bit, Screen resolution 1680 x 1050.

New:
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-8400 CPU @ 2.81GHz, 12GB RAM, Nvidia gtx1050ti 4gb, Windows 10 Home 64bit, Screen resolution 1920 x 1080. System Passmark 3774




3com
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th May 2014
Location: Catalonia
Posted: 25th Mar 2020 08:12 Edited at: 25th Mar 2020 08:14
@ PCS
Thanks for sharing.

@ GubbyBlips
string.lower

Quote: "I suppose I have to go into the .fpe and change something...?"

defaultstatic = 0
Laptop: Lenovo - Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 1005M @ 1.90GHz

OS: Windows 10 (64) - Ram: 4 gb - Hd: 283 gb - Video card: Intel(R) HD Graphics
cpu mark: 10396.6
2d graphics mark: 947.9
3d graphics mark: 8310.9
memory mark 2584.8
Disk mark: 1146.3
Passmark rating: 3662.4

PM
AmenMoses
GameGuru Master
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2016
Location: Portsmouth, England
Posted: 25th Mar 2020 16:59
Sorry yes it's string.lower, I mixed up my languages again. (tolower is a C function)

Oh course if you do:

local tolower = string.lower then it will work.
Been there, done that, got all the T-Shirts!
PM
PCS
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jul 2016
Playing:
Posted: 25th Mar 2020 17:28
i just wish i could do more , or write something better to give back.
i have received so much from a lot of users.
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU G3260 @ 3.30GHz (2 CPUs), ~3.3GHz RAM 16GB NVIDIA GeForce GT 730
DirectX Version: DirectX 11

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-04-19 23:53:46
Your offset time is: 2024-04-19 23:53:46