3rd Party Models/Media Chat / model cut (discussion)

Author
Message
GubbyBlips
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2019
Location:
Posted: 11th Feb 2020 02:53
First, is it appropriate to post discussions for model help here?
Is that taboo? If not appropriate, my apologies.

The discussion is (I assume) extraordinarily simple... let me explain the details;

There is a survey instrument in the Construction Pack DLC.
This land survey instrument comes together in one complete static unit.
It would be a little handy and thought of making the instrument separate from
the tripod base so the top theodolite could be rotated. I did survey work for a
while...
Why the survey instrument and tripod base is one solid piece, and yet the
wheels for the wheelbarrows are removed... is anyone's guess!
I appreciate the response.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
PM
GraPhiX
Forum Support
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2005
Playing:
Posted: 11th Feb 2020 17:32 Edited at: 11th Feb 2020 18:42
Hi GubbyBlips

if you own the pack you can use as you wish in your own games, you can redistribute the assets only in a compiled game all textures and models can be edited for your use you can not sell or pass on the assets, hope this helps.

Whilst I cannot do it for you I could make a video showing you how you can achieve this
Welcome to the real world!
Main PC - Windows 10 Pro x64 - Core i7-7700K @4.2GHz - 32GB DDR4 RAM - GeForce GTX 1060-6G 6GB - 1TB NVe SSD
Test PC - Windows 10 Pro x64 - G4400 @3.3GHz - 16GB DDR3 RAM - GeForce GTX 950 2GB - 500GB SSD
Laptop - Helios 300 Predator - i7 7700HQ - 32GB - Nvidia GTX1060 6GB - 525GB M2 - 500 SSD - 17.3" IPS LED Panel - Windows 10 Pro x64
Various Tutorials by me
GubbyBlips
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2019
Location:
Posted: 12th Feb 2020 00:04
Thanks for the response GraPhiX. Yeah, that would be terrific if you could post
a video of doing the splitting. And secondly is there a way to glue two objects
together? @ wheelbarrow and tire? Blender would be the best because I don't
have anything else, and couldn't afford something else now. Thanks.
PM
AmenMoses
GameGuru Master
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2016
Location: Portsmouth, England
Posted: 12th Feb 2020 21:56
Attach wheel and barrow using a script, you could even make it usable by the player!
Been there, done that, got all the T-Shirts!
PM
AmenMoses
GameGuru Master
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2016
Location: Portsmouth, England
Posted: 13th Feb 2020 21:24
How's that?

Been there, done that, got all the T-Shirts!
PM
GubbyBlips
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2019
Location:
Posted: 14th Feb 2020 04:35
"Attach wheel and barrow using a script, you could even make it usable by the player!"
Yep. Do you have a Physics Library for Dummies booklet anywhere round here?
Thanks.

Actually I might could get it ball-park in scripts, might take a few days time.
BTW, that video brought tears to my eyes.
PM
AmenMoses
GameGuru Master
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2016
Location: Portsmouth, England
Posted: 14th Feb 2020 11:03 Edited at: 14th Feb 2020 11:05
I had to alter the models and tweak the fpe files a bit:

The wheel barrow needs to be collisionmode=1 with issimobile=yes. Reorientated such that the origin is in line with the axle and 'forward' is +z.
The wheel needs to be rotated so the axle is through the y axis, collisionmode=3 (cylinder) and issimobile=no.

The script is really simple.

Note that you wouldn't be able to move the wheelbarrow around by script using this method, it simply allows the wheel to be spun for a bit of 'physics' atmosphere to the entity.

You could also add damping to the rotation to mimic a rusty wheel.

To make a more functional wheelbarrow you would need to use the techniques in this link https://forum.game-guru.com/thread/218283#msg2582026.

Btw, you can use this same technique to hang doors in door frames so the player can simply push them open!
Been there, done that, got all the T-Shirts!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
PM
GraPhiX
Forum Support
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2005
Playing:
Posted: 14th Feb 2020 12:55
Here is the process i use to split a model i have not created, i made a couple of silly mistakes in the video LOL i have not edited them out

Unfortunately i use 'paid for' tools but if you are a serious artist you do need at least UU3D and Fragmotion and any paint package you can use.

I have attached the FPE's and BMP's i made but i cannot re-distribute the assets.



Welcome to the real world!
Main PC - Windows 10 Pro x64 - Core i7-7700K @4.2GHz - 32GB DDR4 RAM - GeForce GTX 1060-6G 6GB - 1TB NVe SSD
Test PC - Windows 10 Pro x64 - G4400 @3.3GHz - 16GB DDR3 RAM - GeForce GTX 950 2GB - 500GB SSD
Laptop - Helios 300 Predator - i7 7700HQ - 32GB - Nvidia GTX1060 6GB - 525GB M2 - 500 SSD - 17.3" IPS LED Panel - Windows 10 Pro x64
Various Tutorials by me

Attachments

Login to view attachments
GubbyBlips
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2019
Location:
Posted: 14th Feb 2020 23:24
Thanks guys. Will delve into the fray!
The thing about the wheelbarrow (as a landscaper, I've 'driven' a wheelbarrow
many a time) ... so the thing about them is that when you are pushing a wb,
you cannot even see the wheel! So that made me wonder why the wheel
would be separate? Now, on a 3pp scenario, an Animated wheel on the tool
would have suited the call, which now brings to attention-- there's really no
animated assets in the GG DLC's -that I am aware of...? Hmmm...

BTW- your expertise charges (at 'x' £ per minute) is...? When I win the lottery,
it's payback time. Another example why these forums are pure win!
PM

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2021-01-28 04:52:41
Your offset time is: 2021-01-28 04:52:41