Product Chat / Operation ‘Bug-Free’

Author
Message
LeeBamber
TGC Lead Developer
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jan 2000
Location: England
Posted: 27th Jan 2020 17:41 Edited at: 27th Jan 2020 17:41
Hi GameGuru Universe,

March will see the commencement of Operation ‘ Bug-Free’ – when Preben and I will fix all the recorded bugs currently present in the GitHub repository (currently standing at 74).

It's an ambitious goal but we felt it was about time we locked target on those pesky mites and give them notice to quit. As March counts down you may find it encouraging to visit the GitHub issues board each week and check out the bug count.

Of course, please continue to double-check the bugs you may have submitted and either confirm them as fixed already or add extra information which will help us reproduce the bug and fix it all the quicker. You’d be surprised at how much of our time is spent actually trying to get the bug to materialize vs actually doing the fixing!
PC SPECS: Windows 10 64-bit, Intel Core i7-8700K, NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1080 GPU, 16GB SYSTEM RAM

granada
Forum Support
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 27th Jan 2020 18:26
Can only be good news

Dave
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
GeForce RTX™ 2070 GAMING OC 8G
AMD FX (tm)-9590 Eight-core Processor
31.96 GB RAM
3840 x 2160 ,60 Hz
PM
UNIRD12B
GameGuru TGC Backer
7
Years of Service
Recently Online
Joined: 2nd May 2014
Location: Canada
Posted: 27th Jan 2020 20:40
Yayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy6yyyyyyyyyy6yyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyuyyyuuyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy6yyyyyyyyyyy
Let\'s actually make something happen with this one !
Avenging Eagle
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 27th Jan 2020 20:42
inb4 someone moans that this is what the first 6 months of 2019 was supposed to be for

AE
GubbyBlips
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2019
Location:
Posted: 27th Jan 2020 20:43 Edited at: 27th Jan 2020 21:15
Hi Lee. I hope you have noticed this discussion here on the forums...
https://forum.game-guru.com/thread/221478
That is a discussion about variables being carried over to the next level.

also Github contains a couple requests for this;
https://github.com/TheGameCreators/GameGuruRepo/issues/671
https://github.com/TheGameCreators/GameGuruRepo/issues/613

I would like to speak to Stand-Alone issues as a whole however.

Considering many persistent issues with the Stand-alone build that is commonly
posted here on the forums, would that be something this bug kill would also tackle?
Stand alone issues are it seems to me, absolutely bugs and not just "enhancements"
to the engine. Of course this might seem like a broad spectrum, and nothing is simply
pinned down (it's a complex issue). But that's a very important part of game making!

I will be running some Stand-alone requests for GG to build, while I haven't done so
in many months RE: odd issues encountered, so this should be the time to find out
what happens, and hopefully that can be part of this bug hunt. Thanks.
PM
Flatlander
GameGuru Master
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2007
Location: The Flatlands
Posted: 27th Jan 2020 21:03
Lee wrote: "You’d be surprised at how much of our time is spent actually trying to get the bug to materialize vs actually doing the fixing!"


I can attest to that.
Alienware Aurora R7 with SSD 256GB boot drive ( C: ) and a secondary drive ( D: ) that is 2TB
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8700 CPU @ 3.20GHz 3.19 with Intel Turbo-burst
Installed RAM 16.0 GB
64-bit operating system, x64-based processor
Windows 10 Home
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 with 8192 MB GDDR5 and 8095 MB shared system memory
Tarkus1971
Audio Media Maker
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2015
Location: England, UK
Posted: 27th Jan 2020 21:49
Great news Lee, thanks for the info.
Aftershock Quad Core AMD FM2+ 3.5 GHz 8GB Motherboard and Processor, A7700k apu, Asus GT970 STRIX 4gb Nvidia gfx card.
King Korg Synth, Alesis SR18 Drum Machine, Akai MPX8 sample player, Roland Fantom XA Synth, Axus Digital AXK2 Digital Drum Kit, Novation Ultranova Synth, Waldorf Blofeld Synth, Roland D05 Synth Module, Bluedio Victory V Headphones, AKG K141 Studio Headphones, Lenovo Ideapad, with Windows 10 64bit, 8Gb Ram and AMD A10 7th Gen Graphics. Acer Swift i3 Laptop with Intel Optane memory, Intel 620UHD GPU, Windows 10 64bit.
3com
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th May 2014
Location: Catalonia
Posted: 27th Jan 2020 22:34
Good news always are welcome.
2020 will be the year of gameguru.
Thanks Lee & Prebem & all staff involved for the hard work.
Laptop: Lenovo - Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 1005M @ 1.90GHz

OS: Windows 10 (64) - Ram: 4 gb - Hd: 283 gb - Video card: Intel(R) HD Graphics
cpu mark: 10396.6
2d graphics mark: 947.9
3d graphics mark: 8310.9
memory mark 2584.8
Disk mark: 1146.3
Passmark rating: 3662.4

PM
fearlesswee
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Aug 2019
Location: United States
Posted: 28th Jan 2020 05:44
So strange to see the pure negativity around this on Steam compared to the much deserved praise here...wonder why the folks on Steam are disappointed to see bugs go the way of the dinosaurs
granada
Forum Support
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 28th Jan 2020 11:30
I avoid steam most of the time , full of people posting one liners on there way to school or work

Dave
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
GeForce RTX™ 2070 GAMING OC 8G
AMD FX (tm)-9590 Eight-core Processor
31.96 GB RAM
3840 x 2160 ,60 Hz
PM
synchromesh
Forum Support
8
Years of Service
Recently Online
Joined: 24th Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 28th Jan 2020 14:29
Quote: "So strange to see the pure negativity around this on Steam compared to the much deserved praise here...wonder why the folks on Steam are disappointed to see bugs go the way of the dinosaurs "

Some people just thrive on saying I told you so at disappointment ..
New hope kind of messes up their day I think
The only person ever to get all his work done by "Friday" was Robinson Crusoe..
PM
Solar
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Apr 2017
Location: South Africa
Posted: 28th Jan 2020 15:06
Sounds great!!!
PM
LeeBamber
TGC Lead Developer
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jan 2000
Location: England
Posted: 30th Jan 2020 01:55
I have made a post on the Steam thread to calm the waters there a little. Just for reference, if you have any bug info, best to put it inside one of the GitHub 'issue reports' so everything is in one place when we start chunking through the bugs in March. We won't be slowing down when we start, so the bug either gets squished or discredited, so the more repro info the better (screenshots and video are the ultimate repro report of course). I will also be making sure the report is indeed a bug and not a functionality request in a cunning disguise I have chatted with Preben and we agree there are some monsters in there, so fingers crossed for a successful assault on this mountain of gremlins!!
PC SPECS: Windows 10 64-bit, Intel Core i7-8700K, NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1080 GPU, 16GB SYSTEM RAM

fearlesswee
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Aug 2019
Location: United States
Posted: 30th Jan 2020 02:49
God speed Lee, and good luck! I think you'll need it haha
osiem80
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2019
Location: Poland
Posted: 3rd Feb 2020 11:39
great news
PM
Earthling45
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Sep 2016
Location: Zuid Holland Nederland
Posted: 11th Feb 2020 12:15
@synchromesh 440 which you closed is actually able to be reproduced, it took me two whole minutes but here is the result.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
synchromesh
Forum Support
8
Years of Service
Recently Online
Joined: 24th Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 11th Feb 2020 14:16 Edited at: 11th Feb 2020 14:20
Quote: "@synchromesh 440 which you closed is actually able to be reproduced, it took me two whole minutes but here is the result."

To be honest mate in this situation pics don't help but I tried again ….
Still works fine for me … BUT.. After trying a few times I tried Top down view which the 3D widget is only good for moving around and that did make it sink when hitting the green arrow as its not really 3d space in top down mode ..
Im now guessing this is the issue you mean ?
The only person ever to get all his work done by "Friday" was Robinson Crusoe..
PM
synchromesh
Forum Support
8
Years of Service
Recently Online
Joined: 24th Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 11th Feb 2020 15:18
@Earthling45
I am creating a small video for your issue it seems to me the easy solution would be to disable the up down in 2D view if possible.
Personally I never use top down for 3D adjustment ( and maybe it was never planned that way )

But this is a good example of why Video's are so useful in Bug fixing and reproducing..
The only person ever to get all his work done by "Friday" was Robinson Crusoe..
PM
Earthling45
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Sep 2016
Location: Zuid Holland Nederland
Posted: 11th Feb 2020 15:46
I've made two videos to show what i mean.





This obviously has to do with mipmaps which as Preben said is handled differently in DX11.
On dark textures it will be less visible, but on lighter textures they are very visible, it appears that mipmaps arent used or not all mipmaps.
DVader
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2004
Location:
Posted: 12th Feb 2020 01:33
You will always get seams between segments That's why the EBE is useless. Commercial games hide them better using custom segments. The first EBE implementation was far better.
SPECS: Ryzen 1700 CPU. Nvidia 970GTX. 16 Gig Memory. Win 10.
LeeBamber
TGC Lead Developer
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jan 2000
Location: England
Posted: 12th Feb 2020 01:54
Make sure they are posted on the GitHub issues board as this is the only list we will be using in March to go through bugs.
PC SPECS: Windows 10 64-bit, Intel Core i7-8700K, NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1080 GPU, 16GB SYSTEM RAM

Earthling45
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Sep 2016
Location: Zuid Holland Nederland
Posted: 12th Feb 2020 04:49
Quote: "The first EBE implementation was far better."


The would be EBE in the DX9 version of GG, this problem does not occur in DX9.
DVader
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2004
Location:
Posted: 12th Feb 2020 05:06
I'm talking about the version that was never really released bar in beta tests. It worked in the game itself, like many survival/build games do. Many hated it because it wasn't in the overhead editor, but I thought it was a good way to go. Lee dropped it and added the EBE we now have instead, which I must admit I have found useless.

I can't find the original video showing it in action, but it did exist!
SPECS: Ryzen 1700 CPU. Nvidia 970GTX. 16 Gig Memory. Win 10.
Earthling45
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Sep 2016
Location: Zuid Holland Nederland
Posted: 12th Feb 2020 05:12
I think i've seen that video a long time ago, i'll dig and see if i can find it again.
synchromesh
Forum Support
8
Years of Service
Recently Online
Joined: 24th Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 12th Feb 2020 09:35
The EBE has a lot of issues at the moment which is a real shame ..
I cant see them being fixed in one hit but perhaps I will be proven wrong .
Its a lot of stupid things to be honest .
The only person ever to get all his work done by "Friday" was Robinson Crusoe..
PM
GubbyBlips
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2019
Location:
Posted: 12th Feb 2020 18:08
"Make sure they are posted on the GitHub issues board as this is the only list we will be using in March to go through bugs."

Some of us don't have a Github account, and the site wouldn't
allow me to create one. Maybe not all bugs will be addressed?
PM
Teabone
Forum Support
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2006
Location: Earth
Posted: 12th Feb 2020 18:13
I avoid using the EBE as I like to connect everything with more complex geometry. Basically using entities with the grid snapping modes. Though that can be quite frustrating at times with undesirable results, off by a few pixels. But for the most part, it works.

Be interesting to what the structure editor is like in GG Max's future.
Store Assets - Store Link

i7 -2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz - Windows 7 - 8GB RAM - Nivida GeForce GTX 960
synchromesh
Forum Support
8
Years of Service
Recently Online
Joined: 24th Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 12th Feb 2020 18:53 Edited at: 12th Feb 2020 18:55
Actually I just did a vid showing the EBE issues since DX11 and I think one fix could sort most of it.
Possibly All the things are really one big related issue ..
The only person ever to get all his work done by "Friday" was Robinson Crusoe..
PM
granada
Forum Support
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 12th Feb 2020 23:54
Vertex snapping would be good in the EBE

Dave
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
GeForce RTX™ 2070 GAMING OC 8G
AMD FX (tm)-9590 Eight-core Processor
31.96 GB RAM
3840 x 2160 ,60 Hz
PM

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2022-01-25 13:50:18
Your offset time is: 2022-01-25 13:50:18