Free Models and Media / [SOLVED] Importing Models - File Naming

Author
Message
CorzaX
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Feb 2016
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posted: 27th Jan 2020 02:05
Hi,

Firstly, I must apologies because I'm pretty sure this would've been asked and answered many times. But I can't seem to find the exact answer I'm after.

New to modelling and importing into GG. Curious to know how you can import a model that uses multiple .dds files.

Example, I have:
WoodenCrate_D.dds, WoodenCrate_S.dds and WoodenCrate_N.dds

But the model also uses a steel texture, so I have the files:

SteelEdge_D.dds. SteelEdge_S.dds and SteelEdge_N.dds

How does one go about making the model inside GG use all of these textures. If I were to rename the SteelEdges to match the WoodenCrate ones, it would just overwrite the file? Same name. Whats the go with naming multiple .dds files?

As an extra Question, how would I add a Roughness to the model, I have a roughness texture also.

Appreciate any help!

Thanks,
CorzaX

The author of this post has marked a post as an answer.

Go to answer
PM
Belidos
3D Media Maker
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Location: Hertfordshire
Posted: 27th Jan 2020 08:01
This post has been marked by the post author as the answer.
This is a little more difficult to do. GameGuru wasn't really designed to use multi-texture objects by default, but it was added in a rudimentary form.

Import as normal using your main textures, then navigate to the folder the importer saved it in, find its .FPE file and delete the name of the texture listed under the texture fields and save it.

so for example if it said:



then change it to:



do the same for the other texture? fields if there are any.

As long as the textures are in the same folder as the model and .fpe, and your modelling software has named those textures in the model file then gameguru should now display it as a multitexture

Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Primary Laptop:
i5, NV1050 4GB, 8GB memory, 1x 1TB HDD, Win10.

Secondary Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.
CorzaX
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Feb 2016
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posted: 27th Jan 2020 10:41
Belidos,

Appreciate the reply!

Turns out, all I had to do was use the Import Model function within GameGuru and it did it all for me.

Looking at the auto generated FPE file created, it follows your logic above with the textured = [blank], but it also adds textureref lines underneath to use the other dds files, it seems.

Thanks,
CorzaX24
PM
happydeathday
User Banned
Posted: 3rd Feb 2020 09:30
nice guide

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2020-10-24 21:54:40
Your offset time is: 2020-10-24 21:54:40