Feature Creep / Shader Fixer-Upper

Author
Message
slender1200
Reviewed GameGuru on Steam
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jul 2015
Location: home
Posted: 26th Nov 2019 20:37
This is an issue that has been bothering me for quite awhile, and i'm just now getting around to posting something about it.

In my GameGuru files, I have many, and I mean many assets installed that have broken shaders. I think(?) it's because shaders were done differently earlier in GameGuru's lifetime, so assets made during that time don't have all the same components the newer assets do. I'm not completely sure, but I think the problem is due to these assets not including "effectbank\reloaded\entity_basic.fx", or something similar to that in the file for that specific entity. So now, the assets that do not include that string of text are extremely bright.

I certainly do not want to go through every single asset that has this issue, and add that. And i'm sure other people who have encountered this issue don't either.

I think a useful feature in GameGuru would be for the engine to automatically detect if certain entities you place do not include that line of code, and automatically add it when placed. Either that, or being able to apply the shader yourself through the entity properties.

There might be a solution to this problem already, and if there is, please notify me.

Love y'all.
Y'all mind if I...

T POSE?!?
PM
Belidos
3D Media Maker
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Location: Hertfordshire
Posted: 26th Nov 2019 21:46
It actually already does that already, and that's what is causing the problem i think.

The problem is mainly the free classics dlc, this was converted from fpsc assets by volunteers before pbr was introduced, back then if you missed out the shader line it defaulted to entity_basic.fx and worked fine so they just left them out.

But what i think is happening now is with pbr being introduced the default is now apbr_basic.fx so its automatically applying the wrong shader which is why you're seeing issues.

Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Primary Laptop:
i5, NV1050 4GB, 8GB memory, 1x 1TB HDD, Win10.

Secondary Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.
slender1200
Reviewed GameGuru on Steam
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jul 2015
Location: home
Posted: 26th Nov 2019 22:24
Is there any possible way to get GameGuru to automatically assign it to entity_basic.fx again? Or to even remove PBR completely if necessary?
GENERALLY I AM A PRETTY HAPPY PERSON
NOT A LOT TO SAY IN THAT DEPARTMENT
BUT IF I HAD A LOT TO SAY,
YOU PROBABLY WOULD'VE HEARD IT ALREADY
PM
Belidos
3D Media Maker
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Location: Hertfordshire
Posted: 26th Nov 2019 22:50
Not that i know of.

Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Primary Laptop:
i5, NV1050 4GB, 8GB memory, 1x 1TB HDD, Win10.

Secondary Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.
slender1200
Reviewed GameGuru on Steam
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jul 2015
Location: home
Posted: 26th Nov 2019 23:24 Edited at: 26th Nov 2019 23:30
Setting GameGuru to an older version does fix the light issue, but obviously, it isn't the ideal solution. So until this is resolved in some way, I guess I can just take a long break from the engine. This issue doesn't even just affect 3rd party downloads, but also assets that come with GameGuru, so it has to be fixed eventually, right?
GENERALLY I AM A PRETTY HAPPY PERSON
NOT A LOT TO SAY IN THAT DEPARTMENT
BUT IF I HAD A LOT TO SAY,
YOU PROBABLY WOULD'VE HEARD IT ALREADY
PM
slender1200
Reviewed GameGuru on Steam
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jul 2015
Location: home
Posted: 27th Nov 2019 23:32
It appears that setting GameGuru to an older version fixes the issue. However, more issues come from that, such as enemies not having weapons, terrain issues, etc. I can only hope for this to be resolved soon.
GENERALLY I AM A PRETTY HAPPY PERSON
NOT A LOT TO SAY IN THAT DEPARTMENT
BUT IF I HAD A LOT TO SAY,
YOU PROBABLY WOULD'VE HEARD IT ALREADY
PM

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2021-03-09 08:05:34
Your offset time is: 2021-03-09 08:05:34