Easy Building Editor / Modifying footstep sounds for different terrain

Author
Message
Skonlogick
User Offline
Joined: 9th Nov 2019
Location: Brazil
Posted: 25th Nov 2019 01:20
I was discussing with Wolf about the roads in my medieval town and how I'm using dungeons floors to set them up, but it takes too long and creating curves is a hassle. So I tried using the terrain texture tool and chose the GreyStone texture, but it still sounds like the character is walking on grass, and not on a rock surface.

Does anyone know how to change the footstep sounds for each terrain, or at least a workaround for this?
R5 3600X - GTX 1060 6GB - 16GB RAM
https://cooltext.com/
SOLO DESIGN
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jul 2008
Location: Kent, England
Posted: 25th Nov 2019 11:41
Hi,
The only way I have found is creating an invisible floor entity and change its material line in the FPE, then put this entity over where you want the terrain to sound different. Remember to make the entity very thin in thickness and use a 0,0,0 RGB Black texture to make invisible.
PM
Skonlogick
User Offline
Joined: 9th Nov 2019
Location: Brazil
Posted: 25th Nov 2019 17:30
Did you use any third party software to do this? I have paint.net and Shadermap 4, but I don't know how to make it invisible. Could you help me?
R5 3600X - GTX 1060 6GB - 16GB RAM
https://cooltext.com/
Skonlogick
User Offline
Joined: 9th Nov 2019
Location: Brazil
Posted: 25th Nov 2019 17:52
I found a script that uses a trigger zone to make a entity disappear, it works pretty well and can be edited. But I'm still interested in your workaround.
R5 3600X - GTX 1060 6GB - 16GB RAM
https://cooltext.com/
Wolf
Forum Support
12
Years of Service
Recently Online
Joined: 8th Nov 2007
Location: Luxemburg
Posted: 26th Nov 2019 01:55
In paint.net you can just use the eraser tool to remove the texture. Once you see what resembles a greyish chess board, you're there. Then save as dxt3 or dxt5 and apply it to an entity.



-Wolf
Skonlogick
User Offline
Joined: 9th Nov 2019
Location: Brazil
Posted: 26th Nov 2019 19:00
It worked, thanks guys.
R5 3600X - GTX 1060 6GB - 16GB RAM
https://cooltext.com/

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-12-07 06:04:51
Your offset time is: 2019-12-07 06:04:51