Product Chat / Animations

Author
Message
GubbyBlips
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2019
Location:
Posted: 8th Nov 2019 02:06
Is there a good tutorial on finding character animations and scripting them?
I haven't done any of that before. I will *probably* just use a stock
civilian soldier for 3rd person player and wondered how to see all the
animations available and insert them in a script.
Thanks for any help videos/ threads would be fine.

Is there a script that shows all the animations-- so someone can "browse"
through them-- with numbers? Thanks.
PM
GubbyBlips
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2019
Location:
Posted: 8th Nov 2019 02:40
--NOTICE-- What happened?
I found the script that shows all the animations, then ran it on a blank map
for the civilian neutral >"soldier"<< (haha)
And so I looked through all the animations, and when I exited the map,
GG went black and locked up -- had to exit from Task Manager to close GG.
Memory or something? What happened?
PM
Belidos
3D Media Maker
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Location: Hertfordshire
Posted: 8th Nov 2019 06:15
In the characters folder in your entity bank is a text file for the uber soldier that lists all the default gameguru animations, it should be valid for all the characters in that folder.

Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Primary Laptop:
i5, NV1050 4GB, 8GB memory, 1x 1TB HDD, Win10.

Secondary Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.
AmenMoses
GameGuru Master
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2016
Location: Portsmouth, England
Posted: 8th Nov 2019 10:33
This might help if you haven't already got it.
Been there, done that, got all the T-Shirts!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
PM
DannyD
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2018
Location:
Posted: 8th Nov 2019 11:54

@GubbyBlips
I did a very basic FPE 3D viewer with the animations/textures etc
Download FREE here

https://forum.game-guru.com/thread/221124#msg2621016
Nothing is impossible,
Your mind is the Limit!!!
Cubemaps -> Skymaps GUI creator - Thread
Super Fast File Scanner - Thread
PM
benjiboy
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Mar 2017
Location: In the depths of rural Norfolk
Posted: 8th Nov 2019 13:28
I can recommend Frogmotion. You can use it for free, but it's not a lot of money.
You can't teach an old dog.
GubbyBlips
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2019
Location:
Posted: 8th Nov 2019 16:00
Hey everyone, thanks for the info.
Is it possible to place the code for Player in a separate script?

I put animation code onto an entity that should trigger when near,
and it doesn't over-ride the current *Player* walking animation...?
Instructions- please?

3rd person -- so the '2' in PlayAnimation is the start marker # -- bad idea?
3rd person on map seems to not be divided from start marker

SetAnimationFrames(4110,4170)
PlayAnimation(2)
PM
GubbyBlips
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2019
Location:
Posted: 8th Nov 2019 16:27 Edited at: 8th Nov 2019 16:33
Reference to modify this line in GamePlayerControl, please ;

SetCharAnimControlsMoving(GetGamePlayerStateCharAnimIndex(),1)

Is that the reference you mentioned in the text file - Belidos?
Those are the index numbers? Okay, let's see.


PM
GubbyBlips
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2019
Location:
Posted: 8th Nov 2019 16:55 Edited at: 8th Nov 2019 19:34
I tried it, no worky...

Okay, tried indexes 1-15 in GamePlayerControl, line 1181.
Only 1-12 have any effect- default gun pose (no animation) above that.
So now, not sure how to proceed?

Thirdly, (or Fourthly+), I have inserted a line in the .fpe
but it won't take...
PM
benjiboy
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Mar 2017
Location: In the depths of rural Norfolk
Posted: 8th Nov 2019 19:47
You probably need to delete the .dbo file that gets created for each entity that you add to a world.
I haven't figured out exactly what triggers the creation of the .dbo, but once it exists, that's what gets read rather than the fpe etc.
Others here could tell you more, more accurately.
You can't teach an old dog.
Belidos
3D Media Maker
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Location: Hertfordshire
Posted: 8th Nov 2019 21:38
It's generated when you add it to the map for the first time.

Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Primary Laptop:
i5, NV1050 4GB, 8GB memory, 1x 1TB HDD, Win10.

Secondary Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.
synchromesh
Forum Support
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 8th Nov 2019 22:09 Edited at: 8th Nov 2019 22:11
Quote: "I haven't figured out exactly what triggers the creation of the .dbo, but once it exists, that's what gets read rather than the fpe etc."

The dbo is just a copy of your model but smaller in size, that's the one the engine uses.
So deleting it ensures it creates a new dbo based on your updated or new model
The only person ever to get all his work done by "Friday" was Robinson Crusoe..
PM
GubbyBlips
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2019
Location:
Posted: 9th Nov 2019 03:57
Alright. I'll try it.

Okay, I tried the neutral soldier on a new map, with the edited .fpe and
all the other changes tried-- no luck!
Is there some video somewhere specifically on how to implement the many
animations the stock Uber soldier class characters have?

Should be reasonably simple, with a little bit of hints here and there...
Thanks if anyone can help.
PM
Belidos
3D Media Maker
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Location: Hertfordshire
Posted: 9th Nov 2019 08:40
Also when you delete the DBO you also need to restart gameguru in some cases as it seems to also work from some hidden cache

Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Primary Laptop:
i5, NV1050 4GB, 8GB memory, 1x 1TB HDD, Win10.

Secondary Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.
GubbyBlips
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2019
Location:
Posted: 9th Nov 2019 15:33
Restart GG-- Oh yes, I had done that for sure;
Deleted the .dbo's - every one of them in the soldiers folder, Opened up GG fresh,
even just after computer on, and made a NEW map with the scripts in it. No luck.

How to over-ride (or supplement) the GamePlayerControl? It seems like that
is possibly the issue, otherwise, there must be some other lines of code missing
that I need to insert somewhere--?
PM
GubbyBlips
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2019
Location:
Posted: 10th Nov 2019 21:49
I can turn animations off and on in the GamePlayerControl, (the currently
existing ones), just can't seem to find out where to add a new one.
Tried putting a global trigger for that, tried to manual insert the animation
indexes... but not working yet.

PM
cybernescence
GameGuru Master
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2013
Playing: Cogwheel Chronicles
Posted: 11th Nov 2019 22:34
You can make the third person do anything with significant changes to gameplayercontrol.lua - as per PM this is tricky code to adjust without a lot of practice in lua and GG.

Here are notes on how to assign animations using the stock set-up. A bit rough and ready but they were for my own use . Where I'm stating index below - it's where the lua control indexes in gameplayercontrol are calling CSI animation ranges in the engine (as I think you know from your posts above).

;CSI - used for TP Character Control
; if not rag dolled can play different anim depending on where player hit
csi_unarmeddeath = 2337,2401 ;not sure this does anything
csi_unarmedimpactfore = 2337,2401
csi_unarmedimpactback = 2337,2401
csi_unarmedimpactleft = 2337,2401
csi_unarmedimpactright = 2337,2401
; ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

csi_stoodnormal = 94,154 ;idle;;used for index 0 and for all non indexed calls as a default
csi_stoodmovefore = 1,33 ;walk animation (TPV) ;is index 1
csi_stoodmoverun = 68,92 ;run animation (TPV) ;is index 5
csi_stoodvault = 644,704 ;jump animation (TPV)
;csi_stoodvault = 2402,2427

csi_stoodstepleft = 218,428 ;is index 9 ;;not used elsewhere normally? //idle2, stand
csi_stoodstepright = 2469,2529 ;is index 10 ;;not used elsewhere normally? //climbing
csi_stoodstrafeleft = 2530,2580 ;set as swimming slow ;is index 11 ;;not used elsewhere normally
csi_stoodstraferight = 2530,2580 ;set as swimming full ;is index 12 ;;not used elsewhere normally

;;used when third person in follow mode;; (along with 1 and 5 for walk and run forward)
csi_stoodmoveleft = 211,240 ;indexed as 3
csi_stoodmoveright = 211,240 ;indexed as 4
csi_stoodmoverunleft = 307,322 ;indexed as 7
csi_stoodmoverunright = 307,322 ;indexed as 8
csi_stoodmoveback = 1418,1436 ;indexed as 2 //used for follow mode - hurt
;;used when third person in follow mode;; (along with 1 and 5 for walk and run forward)

csi_stoodpunch = 995,1025 ;used when no weapon assigned in fpe and left click in third person

GPU: GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER PassMark: 14817
Belidos
3D Media Maker
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Location: Hertfordshire
Posted: 11th Nov 2019 22:38
So the csi references still works? I thought it was removed a while back, if you look in the fpe files for the stock soldiers it's marked as reference only.

Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Primary Laptop:
i5, NV1050 4GB, 8GB memory, 1x 1TB HDD, Win10.

Secondary Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.
cybernescence
GameGuru Master
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2013
Playing: Cogwheel Chronicles
Posted: 11th Nov 2019 22:46
It's removed for NPCs not TPV.

Cheers.

GPU: GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER PassMark: 14817
Pirate Myke
Forum Support
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st May 2010
Location: El Dorado, California
Posted: 12th Nov 2019 02:29
Great to know. Thank you.
RIP
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz, 2400 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s), 8gb RAM, Nvidia gtx660, Windows 7 Pro 64bit, Screen resolution 1680 x 1050.

New:
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-8400 CPU @ 2.81GHz, 12GB RAM, Nvidia gtx1050ti 4gb, Windows 10 Home 64bit, Screen resolution 1920 x 1080. System Passmark 3774




Belidos
3D Media Maker
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Location: Hertfordshire
Posted: 12th Nov 2019 07:23 Edited at: 12th Nov 2019 07:23
Good to know cyber.

I take it that works with either anim0 to 5 etc. or csi then, because the penguin character I made for someone a whole back only has anim0 to 5 in the fpe and works fine?

Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Primary Laptop:
i5, NV1050 4GB, 8GB memory, 1x 1TB HDD, Win10.

Secondary Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.
Tauren
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jun 2015
Playing: PUBG, WoW, HoMM 3, MOO 2, FTL, Battlevoid:Harbinger
Posted: 14th Nov 2019 17:51 Edited at: 14th Nov 2019 18:07
Thank you, Cybernescence for explanation !
This spring I spent many days trying to adapt the purchased characters from others store using the “scientific poke” method. Honestly, I never got to the bottom.

True, as a sample for tests, I used a script "fastzombie_ai" I understood that the actions are spelled out somewhere in the stock script area, however, I did not find the code responsible for the actions associated with "csi_" and even "anim7" and above.
I'll try to look in more detail to the side "gameplayercontrol.lua"
But to be honest, I do not fully understand the relationship between fpe and lua in a GameGuru so far ..

For the basic check, of course, "anim0-anim5" was enough, for basic test for attack and run more than enough, but when work on the level is nearing completion and when the purchased beautiful model has more than 30 animations, I want to use at least a dozen of them

More precisely, I understand that constructions of the "Anim1 in fpe" type are designed to simplify the process and after reading in fpe, the script assigned to this model looks for the construction for "anim1"... as I understand it, it was necessary to immediately deal with the script uber_soldier (instead ai_zombie) since there more options?

Sorry for the long sheet, GG just has trouble with the documentation and all hope for experienced and cool users like you
PM
Belidos
3D Media Maker
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Location: Hertfordshire
Posted: 14th Nov 2019 18:00
The zombie scripts are different to the AI scripts, the animation ranges are coded in the lua script for them, you can't change them in the fpe and you can't use other models.

Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Primary Laptop:
i5, NV1050 4GB, 8GB memory, 1x 1TB HDD, Win10.

Secondary Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.
Tauren
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jun 2015
Playing: PUBG, WoW, HoMM 3, MOO 2, FTL, Battlevoid:Harbinger
Posted: 14th Nov 2019 18:10 Edited at: 14th Nov 2019 19:36
Thanks you, Belidos! So for everything that has more than 5 animations, you need to use "uber_soldier" ?
Or create a completely new script (in theory, it’s suitable like “uber_soldier” as a basis and it is necessary to prescribe additional animations and everything that can accompany them). And whether it is necessary to pay attention to " csi_ " ? If this is a script for the NPC ?
As I understood from the post of Cybernescence, this is relevant only for player character of 3nd persons (TPV ?)

Also, when I was doing NPC for the last time (june), when I turned off the ragdoll (in fpe), the death animation either didn’t play (although anim5 is assigned), or the model flew up into the sky with superjet accelerated ))
(fast_zombie and zombie scripts) Need to check how things are now with this I will definitely check how I will be next to the computer again (there seems to be something in the patch-notes on this theme).
GG is a funny thing if you are a simple guy and do not rush anywhere ))) In any case, I'm glad I'm here and probably the path has been determined since in 2002 I bought a disc with "The Game Creators"
PM

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-11-15 03:15:29
Your offset time is: 2019-11-15 03:15:29