Free Models and Media / [WIP] iRobot type model

Author
Community Leader
Years of Service
User Offline
so today i thought i'll see if i can learn to animate in blender 2.8 so i made a robot guy based on the irobot film (just because it's a simple design but still looks cool), keyframing in blender took a bit of trial and error but i think i got the hang of it - i'm not very good at making natural looking animations, to be fair i blame the fact that it's weird trying to animate a moving object which is stationary
couldn't get the GG importer to accept the model (maybe it doesn't like the rig? it's an automatic rig from blender but might have too many bones, i forget what the limit is in GG these days) but if anyone would like to try import it i'll include the .fbx file here (only has a basic walking animation right now, this is just a test model and no point taking it further if i can't get it into GG)
also a video of the "finished" animation in unity just to prove it does work
lua guide for GG
https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=398177770
windows 10
i5 @4ghz, 8gb ram, AMD R9 200 series , directx 11

Attachments

Login to view attachments
osiem80
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th Sep 2019 15:04
GJ, iam thinking also about start to animate in blender cuz fragmo has a limited poly number.
PM
smallg
Community Leader
Years of Service
User Offline
Quote: "GJ, iam thinking also about start to animate in blender cuz fragmo has a limited poly number."

it's fairly easy to learn, i guess keyframe based animations are pretty similar whether they are 2D or 3D (i'm more used to spriter as i normally only animate 2D stuff) - just getting used to the menu and quirks is the hard part