Product Chat / New Millitary Pack DLC

Author
Message
DannyD
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2018
Location:
Posted: 12th Sep 2019 08:43
Just bought the DLC. Nice assets. But there is a problem loading the included milliratyPackDLC.MAP file.
Error popup to quickly, but something " A LOG file missing level..... "
Only Terrain is showing,

Nothing is impossible,
Your mind is the Limit!!!
Cubemaps -> Skymaps GUI creator - Thread
Super Fast File Scanner - Thread

Attachments

Login to view attachments
PM
Belidos
3D Media Maker
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Location: Hertfordshire
Posted: 12th Sep 2019 09:16
Looks like whoever made the map added the entities from a different folder to the one that TGC have put them into .

As a temporary fix for now:

Go into your mapbank, there should be a log file the same name as this map, open it up and it lists all the missing entities, note down the directory path and folder names of the entities, then create the same folders in your entitybank and copy the entities over from the folders they're in now. The map should then work.

Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.
osiem80
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2019
Location: Poland
Posted: 12th Sep 2019 09:28
Good Model Pack, iam gonna working on a war game next year.But why no characters?
PM
JC LEON
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Apr 2010
Location:
Posted: 12th Sep 2019 10:14
sincerely i think is really too high for a bunch of static models.,. are there any useful scripts in there??
PC Specs:
AMD QUADCORE 880K @4.5GHZ, 32GB RAM DDR3 1600, M/B ASUS A88XM-PLUS
SVGA NVDIA 1660GTX 6GB , SSD KINGSTON A400 1TB, 2X HHD SEAGATE BARRACUDA 4TB
PM
synchromesh
Forum Support
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 12th Sep 2019 10:33 Edited at: 12th Sep 2019 10:34
Quote: "sincerely i think is really too high for a bunch of static models"

108 PBR models for £22 .. Around 20p a model.
So how much do you think they should be. Personally I think most of the DLC's are bargains at worst and an absolute steal at best.
The only person ever to get all his work done by "Friday" was Robinson Crusoe..
PM
JC LEON
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Apr 2010
Location:
Posted: 12th Sep 2019 10:38
Quote: "108 PBR models for £22 .. Around 20p a model.
So how much do you think they should be. Personally I think most of the DLC's are bargains at worst and an absolute steal at best."


points of view my friend...
PC Specs:
AMD QUADCORE 880K @4.5GHZ, 32GB RAM DDR3 1600, M/B ASUS A88XM-PLUS
SVGA NVDIA 1660GTX 6GB , SSD KINGSTON A400 1TB, 2X HHD SEAGATE BARRACUDA 4TB
PM
KRivva
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Mar 2019
Location: Germany
Posted: 12th Sep 2019 10:49
Quote: "points of view my friend..."


How much would a model cost which you created?
PM
JC LEON
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Apr 2010
Location:
Posted: 12th Sep 2019 11:11 Edited at: 12th Sep 2019 11:14
Quote: "How much would a model cost which you created?"


mate.. i really dont know but ithink that Gg dlcs need to concetrate moslty on gameplay mechanics dlcs addon and include even scripting systems for gameplay mechanics, interactin and so on.. but as i said before it's my point of view..

even simple animated drawers, chest, lockers and so on..that have theri own aniamtions and scripts to interact (very simpole example of waht i mean) not only static models to use for decorate our levels...
PC Specs:
AMD QUADCORE 880K @4.5GHZ, 32GB RAM DDR3 1600, M/B ASUS A88XM-PLUS
SVGA NVDIA 1660GTX 6GB , SSD KINGSTON A400 1TB, 2X HHD SEAGATE BARRACUDA 4TB
PM
DannyD
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2018
Location:
Posted: 12th Sep 2019 12:20
Quote: "
sincerely i think is really too high for a bunch of static models
"

I think all GG DLC are really cheap compared to other engine assets

@Belidos
Thanks, sorted... See the original Map was made for entitybank/user/military Pack/
Nothing is impossible,
Your mind is the Limit!!!
Cubemaps -> Skymaps GUI creator - Thread
Super Fast File Scanner - Thread
PM
osiem80
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2019
Location: Poland
Posted: 12th Sep 2019 12:53
Quote: "I think all GG DLC are really cheap compared to other engine assets"

Facts, a model pack of weapons 4 unity cost about 200 euro, the same u cant get from bsp for 35 bucks as i found out a day ago
PM
Belidos
3D Media Maker
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Location: Hertfordshire
Posted: 12th Sep 2019 12:57
Quote: "@Belidos
Thanks, sorted... See the original Map was made for entitybank/user/military Pack/"


Yup, that's why i haven't been supplying maps with my pack, because i test everything from my entitybank/user, and the stroe will download it to _purchased/Belidos/"category" . so if i want to make a map to go with it i would have to make a guess where the entities will be downloaded and create my own file structure to make it with.

Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.
JC LEON
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Apr 2010
Location:
Posted: 12th Sep 2019 14:09 Edited at: 12th Sep 2019 14:10
Quote: "Facts, a model pack of weapons 4 unity cost about 200 euro, the same u cant get from bsp for 35 bucks as i found out a day ago"
ok but the pack i lnked to you yesterday is the exception not the rule .. on unity store you can found really cheap an great asset without too much effort...and bsp models are there too ..
PC Specs:
AMD QUADCORE 880K @4.5GHZ, 32GB RAM DDR3 1600, M/B ASUS A88XM-PLUS
SVGA NVDIA 1660GTX 6GB , SSD KINGSTON A400 1TB, 2X HHD SEAGATE BARRACUDA 4TB
PM
LeeBamber
TGC Lead Developer
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jan 2000
Location: England
Posted: 12th Sep 2019 14:14
Thanks for the report on the example FPM level, I caught it about 5 minutes too late from the release. It is being fixed now so hopefully you can see the 100+ assets in one place without dropping them all into your own level Not sure how to respond on the 'it's too expensive' viewpoint, I am pretty sure its a minority view, and to the artists who spent hundreds of hours making them, I hope they never read that their efforts are worth less than 23p per model (talk about crushing blow)

If you find any more issues, please report them here and I will pass on the instructions to our in-house artist to make the corrections (P.S. this forum post costs more than 23p of my time to write, just to put the world of software development into context)
PC SPECS: Windows 10 64-bit, Intel Core i7-8700K, NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1080 GPU, 16GB SYSTEM RAM

synchromesh
Forum Support
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 12th Sep 2019 14:18 Edited at: 12th Sep 2019 14:20
Quote: "he artists who spent hundreds of hours making them, I hope they never read that their efforts are worth less than 23p per model (talk about crushing blow) "

My sentiments exactly .. We now live in a world where everything should be pretty much free apparently..
Its not a good one for those who want to earn an honest living.
That's my point of view on it.
The only person ever to get all his work done by "Friday" was Robinson Crusoe..
PM
JC LEON
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Apr 2010
Location:
Posted: 12th Sep 2019 14:20 Edited at: 12th Sep 2019 14:29
Quote: "Not sure how to respond on the 'it's too expensive' viewpoint, I am pretty sure its a minority view, and to the artists who spent hundreds of hours making them, I hope they never read that their efforts are worth less than 23p per model (talk about crushing blow) "

hi Lee and about my "too expensive " sentence I didnt want to crush on artists and people worked on it but I was referring to the fact that IMO(and my only) GG needs other typology of dlc..more gameplay centric....not only decoration asset ...but dlc that could enanche gameplay possiiblites for GG users ..dlcs similar to Scary Thinker Model Pack for old great fpsc x9 so that users could without too much effort( i know that all can be acheived with lua and much effort) modify the classic GG shooter gameplay mechanics with something more dynamc and adventush, with enviromental puzzles and so on..

Sorry if I offended someone It not was my intention..


I love GG community all its members and all people spend their time to make this awesome software better..I myself purchase really often by tgstore and from artist and developer in general..( I'm a proudn owner of all original fps creato model packs and more) I come back to GG from few days and purchased the great BAM book, enanched weapon pack, cold war pack and i'm going to purchase the melee weapon PACK RIGHT NOW...I always supported GG and all its own development..and sincei give my money to this product i think i could simple express my thinking..
PC Specs:
AMD QUADCORE 880K @4.5GHZ, 32GB RAM DDR3 1600, M/B ASUS A88XM-PLUS
SVGA NVDIA 1660GTX 6GB , SSD KINGSTON A400 1TB, 2X HHD SEAGATE BARRACUDA 4TB
PM
granada
GameGuru TGC Backer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 12th Sep 2019 14:45
The easy way to see if there to expensive is to try to model them yourselves and watch the hours go by ,then uv map and texturing ,then deciding if there good enough to put out there

Dave

Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
GeForce RTX™ 2070 GAMING OC 8G
AMD FX (tm)-9590 Eight-core Processor
31.96 GB RAM
3840 x 2160 ,60 Hz
PM
JC LEON
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Apr 2010
Location:
Posted: 12th Sep 2019 14:54
Quote: "The easy way to see if there to expensive is to try to model them yourselves and watch the hours go by ,then uv map and texturing ,then deciding if there good enough to put out there "


I'm not even capable to start a modelling software LOL
PC Specs:
AMD QUADCORE 880K @4.5GHZ, 32GB RAM DDR3 1600, M/B ASUS A88XM-PLUS
SVGA NVDIA 1660GTX 6GB , SSD KINGSTON A400 1TB, 2X HHD SEAGATE BARRACUDA 4TB
PM
DannyD
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2018
Location:
Posted: 12th Sep 2019 15:47
@Granada
Quote: "The easy way to see if there to expensive is to try to model them yourselves and watch the hours go by ,then uv map and texturing ,then deciding if there good enough to put out there "

I agree 1000%

JC Leon
[quote=]I'm not even capable to start a modelling software LOL[quote=]
Then it kind-off make sense why you think it is to expensive. Try some 3D Modeling and texturing and I'm 100% sure you will quickly have a mind shift about model / packs prices....

Nothing is impossible,
Your mind is the Limit!!!
Cubemaps -> Skymaps GUI creator - Thread
Super Fast File Scanner - Thread
PM
JC LEON
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Apr 2010
Location:
Posted: 12th Sep 2019 16:53
ehi mates dont be rude i didnt want to hurt any soul

simply think GG needs other type of dlc more focused on gameplay system mechanics and not decor asset.. out

all my kudos to artists of the pack.(btw i'm sure i'll purchase it surely a day ..like i do with all GG dlcs)
PC Specs:
AMD QUADCORE 880K @4.5GHZ, 32GB RAM DDR3 1600, M/B ASUS A88XM-PLUS
SVGA NVDIA 1660GTX 6GB , SSD KINGSTON A400 1TB, 2X HHD SEAGATE BARRACUDA 4TB
PM
smallg
Community Leader
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2005
Location:
Posted: 12th Sep 2019 18:07
So you think there should be a script dlc? It's not uncommon for asset dlcs to be more decorative because people will have different uses for the packs so including some adventure scripts doesn't really do much for those people making a FPS and vice versa etc.
Besides the assets themselves have very little to do with particular genres of game, you can make scripts for platformers or adventurers with any theme.
It would be better to make a new post with a clear idea of what you want to see in a future dlc and get people to support the idea so Lee can decide if it's worth doing or not.
lua guide for GG
https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=398177770
windows 10
i5 @4ghz, 8gb ram, AMD R9 200 series , directx 11
JC LEON
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Apr 2010
Location:
Posted: 12th Sep 2019 19:35 Edited at: 12th Sep 2019 19:36
Quote: " different uses for the packs so including some adventure scripts doesn't really do much for those people making a FPS and vice versa etc."

nope i dont mean specific game genre scritps but generic gameplay mechanics system..
the Scary Thinker model pack I named above had some useful gameplay mechanics system the could fit differentn game genres form FPS to Adventure to Horror ..and so on
Quote: "Besides the assets themselves have very little to do with particular genres of game, you can make scripts for platformers or adventurers with any theme."

wrong my friend.. and the especially this specific asset,since it is made to be used in fps /war game genres IMO

Quote: "It would be better to make a new post with a clear idea of what you want to see in a future dlc and get people to support the idea so Lee can decide if it's worth doing or not."


i dont think Lee cares what i think LOL
PC Specs:
AMD QUADCORE 880K @4.5GHZ, 32GB RAM DDR3 1600, M/B ASUS A88XM-PLUS
SVGA NVDIA 1660GTX 6GB , SSD KINGSTON A400 1TB, 2X HHD SEAGATE BARRACUDA 4TB
PM
Avenging Eagle
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 13th Sep 2019 09:16
This actually looks like it could become one of the most useful and widely-used DLC packs to date.

My only criticism is that some of the assets look like duplicates of stuff we already get with Game Guru for free; sand barricades, sand bags, crates, barrels, camp beds etc. I'm sure the assets here are of a higher quality than the originals, but still.

Do these models feature LOD meshes? And if not, why not?

AE
JC LEON
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Apr 2010
Location:
Posted: 13th Sep 2019 09:23 Edited at: 13th Sep 2019 15:35
Quote: "My only criticism is that some of the assets look like duplicates of stuff we already get with Game Guru for free; sand barricades, sand bags, crates, barrels, camp beds etc. I'm sure the assets here are of a higher quality than the originals, but still."


QUOTE your mind

i think we needs dlc with more weapons that uses standard GG hands to add a lot of variety.The store really has a gaping hole in this area, people would love decent new hands and such. I still think TGC need to add a lot more as default though. For instance, when you have no gun, it would be nice to have some hands instead, when you run and open doors andso on ..bow and crossbow for stealth game mechanics (even fps stealth game ) etc..

i know there is the enanched weapons pack and it 's great.. I own it but it uses a compelte new rig ..

like I said in another topic i purchased about 300 euros of animated weapons asset for unity (since i was and i'm using it) not because i'm an idiot or because i'm lazy.. but because i'm one man team and i cannot pretend to be able to be a modeler, animator, coder, and so on.. it's impossible ..so have asset taht could help you to add your gameplay ideas ( that you code by yourself ) could be only a nice addition to me..

here waht i done in unity.. it's asimple room showcase test map wip ..i used a template as start but after coded all by myself of heavily modified the original scripts.. in it i used my purchased model and anims but only for ak74 and flshlight atm.. other hands (crosbow, grenades and so on) are place holder..
https://youtu.be/PNwGWg2VgdE
PC Specs:
AMD QUADCORE 880K @4.5GHZ, 32GB RAM DDR3 1600, M/B ASUS A88XM-PLUS
SVGA NVDIA 1660GTX 6GB , SSD KINGSTON A400 1TB, 2X HHD SEAGATE BARRACUDA 4TB
PM
OldFlak
GameGuru TGC Backer
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jan 2015
Location: Tasmania Australia
Posted: 14th Sep 2019 09:54 Edited at: 14th Sep 2019 10:11
The dlc's are cheap - I have spent the last week deving\adjusting\texturing just one sci-fi prop model.

Quote: "Do these models feature LOD meshes? And if not, why not?
"


This is something I have been contemplating adding to my models. Not sure how adding duplicate pollies is good for performance tho.
Much prefer cybernecsence shader edits, so PBR fades out - makes more sense to me than doubling up on the polly count.

Reliquia.....
aka OldFlak
i7-4790 @ 3.2GHz. 8GB Ram. NVidia GeForce GTX 1060 6GB. M1: Acer 31.5" @1920x1080 M2: Samsung 31.5" @ 1920 x 1080. M3: Acer 24" @ 1920 x 1080. OS: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit Insider.
PM
Avenging Eagle
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 14th Sep 2019 11:58 Edited at: 14th Sep 2019 12:00
Quote: "This is something I have been contemplating adding to my models. Not sure how adding duplicate pollies is good for performance tho."


It's a trade-off. You use up slightly more memory loading in a bigger (in kilobytes) model but save engine performance by not having to draw as many polygons at distance. I'm a big fan of LOD, and was using it in my still-unfinished London Underground pack. Given that Game Guru is designed to allow big, open maps, it makes sense to use LOD and occlusion distance to stop the engine chugging drawing full quality models at great distance from the player. But I don't have any metrics to back this up, just theory and anecdotal experience.

Quote: "Much prefer cybernecsence shader edits, so PBR fades out - makes more sense to me than doubling up on the polly count."


Why not both? And let's not forget mipmaps, though apparently GG does this itself?

AE
OldFlak
GameGuru TGC Backer
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jan 2015
Location: Tasmania Australia
Posted: 14th Sep 2019 16:05
I would rather use the extra polygons to put more details in the model and just occlude them when out of range.

But yeah, I get what your saying - tis all about trade-offs

FYI - There is no need to add mipmaps unless of course you want to - gg adds them if they are not there.

Reliquia....
aka OldFlak
i7-4790 @ 3.2GHz. 8GB Ram. NVidia GeForce GTX 1060 6GB. M1: Acer 31.5" @1920x1080 M2: Samsung 31.5" @ 1920 x 1080. M3: Acer 24" @ 1920 x 1080. OS: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit Insider.
PM
3com
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th May 2014
Location: Catalonia
Posted: 14th Sep 2019 17:35
Internal poly reductor
Laptop: Lenovo - Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 1005M @ 1.90GHz

OS: Windows 10 (64) - Ram: 4 gb - Hd: 283 gb - Video card: Intel(R) HD Graphics
cpu mark: 10396.6
2d graphics mark: 947.9
3d graphics mark: 8310.9
memory mark 2584.8
Disk mark: 1146.3
Passmark rating: 3662.4

PM

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-10-24 00:40:01
Your offset time is: 2019-10-24 00:40:01