Product Chat / Why Can't I Return Yet?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I am a compulsive game developer - I need to be doing it. That's why I can't just wait for decades for GameGuru to be ready. I did wait for a number of years before I was forced to go elsewhere. Since then I have published three games on Steam and have a forth coming out on 22 August. I made all these games without needing to write a single line of Lua script or code. I don't say this to pat myself on the back. My point is that the idea that you need to do scripting in order to get innovative results or achieve your grand design goals is, in my experience, a myth. Frankly, scripting or coding would just bore me and kill all the fun.

Almost anything can be achieved without scripting, provided the right tools are available. In this case that means some kind of visual logic/programing sytem. For example, I like Zigi's Logic Chain idea. The game engine I have been using lately uses a system of action boxes (each containing whatever and how many runtime actions you want) connected to each other by links containing whatever conditions you want. I have found it to be very powerful. I look in on GameGuru about once every six months but I don't see much evidence of development (of course, I know there must have been advances). I can't return until GameGuru can do what I need it to do. Perhaps you think I am lazy or unrealistic to want a system for creating logic without scripting. I would disagree. I know it can be done. And as for lazy - I worked very hard every day for twelve months to create my last game.