Product Chat / Unreal lights! / Shadows, etc

Author
Message
GubbyBlips
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2019
Location:
Posted: 26th May 2019 19:18
Hi. I have a few questions. I want to create what appears to be a light
shining (wherever you place it.) While having an actual light source visible
(pretend you're looking at a street light) seems to not be a natural feature,
therefore I presume perhaps one can do the following...
put up a shiny object, make it pure white, then shine a light onto it directly,
then place your light behind it. That object should then glow pretty brightly.
The downside is that the dynamic lighting will pass through objects in front
of it- indefinitely. Possible to block out the light with objects?

How does one work with .dbo files? Is that the texture?
Also best way to edit .fpe? -- Windows 10 will not associate notepad with
the .fpe-- tried many times. So I change the file to .txt, modify with notepad
and change it back. Perhaps this is not working too well for the engine?

Also, any chance that a dynamic light will cause objects to cast shadows...?
Not in my tests, but I found this thread anyhow... https://forum.game-guru.com/thread/220160

I changed the .fpe on 2 items as mentioned above to cast shadow = 1
but they don't cast them (with dynamic lights). Suggestions?

PM
Tarkus1971
Audio Media Maker
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2015
Location: England, UK
Posted: 26th May 2019 20:04
As yet there is no way to cast shadows using dynamic lights.
Aftershock Quad Core AMD FM2+ 3.5 GHz 8GB Motherboard and Processor, A7700k apu, Asus GT970 STRIX 4gb Nvidia gfx card.
King Korg Synth, Alesis SR18 Drum Machine, Akai MPX8 sample player, Roland Fantom XA Synth, Axus Digital AXK2 Digital Drum Kit, Novation Ultranova Synth, Waldorf Blofeld Synth, Roland D05 Synth Module, Bluedio Victory V Headphones, AKG K141 Studio Headphones, Lenovo Ideapad, with Windows 10 64bit, 8Gb Ram and AMD A10 7th Gen Graphics. Acer Swift i3 Laptop with Intel Optane memory, Intel 620UHD GPU, Windows 10 64bit.
Wolf
Forum Support
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Nov 2007
Location: Luxemburg
Posted: 26th May 2019 21:53
Hello!

This is a pretty comprehensive guide on all things lighting about GG. However, features work or don't work depending on what version you use so you have to experiment.

Quote: "How does one work with .dbo files? Is that the texture?"


The dbo file is a model. GG automatically converts .x files to .dbo and I recommend working with .x files as there are very few programs that can open and properly save a .dbo. You will find the textures in .dds or .tga format. (usually)

Quote: "Also best way to edit .fpe? -- Windows 10 will not associate notepad with
the .fpe-- tried many times. So I change the file to .txt, modify with notepad
and change it back. Perhaps this is not working too well for the engine?"


Hmm! It does for me. How exactly are you trying to associate the file? notepad is pretty much the only way to edit .fpe files.

Quote: "
Also, any chance that a dynamic light will cause objects to cast shadows...?"


Not yet, this has been a severely lacking feature since day 1.

Quote: "I changed the .fpe on 2 items as mentioned above to cast shadow = 1
but they don't cast them (with dynamic lights). Suggestions?"


Dynamic lights don't cast shadows as of yet, there is nothing you can do for now.

I hope this cleared some things up! Happy developing.


-Wolf

Avenging Eagle
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 26th May 2019 22:16
Quote: "therefore I presume perhaps one can do the following...
put up a shiny object, make it pure white, then shine a light onto it directly,
then place your light behind it."


If I understand what you're suggesting, there's no need to make it that complicated! Just give your model the right shader and texture and it'll look like it is illuminated all on its own. In the fpe file, change the 'effect' to effectbank\reloaded\apbr_illum.fx then make sure your object has a _illumination or _emissive texture. These are usually black, with only the bits you want to appear lit having any colour. In Game Guru, simply add your dynamic or static light to the scene as you normally would.

Here's an example of an _emissive texture in action, along with a load of dynamic lights (one under each ceiling flo tube)


AE
OldFlak
GameGuru TGC Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jan 2015
Location: Tasmania Australia
Posted: 26th May 2019 23:39
Just to add:
You also need either an illumination or emissive map in your texture set - eg mytexture_emissive.dds.

Use the bloom slider to get more glow. At present there is only so much you can adjust this without washing out the whole level.
Perhaps one day we will get a decent emissive slider, one that only boosts the emissive\illumination map, rather than everything in the level.

Also be aware that emissive\illumination maps will be tiled over your model if you light-map the level.

In my experience you can just use apbr_basic.fx in the FPE as using apbr_illum.fx makes no difference.

Reliquia....
aka OldFlak
i7-4790 @ 3.2GHz. 8GB Ram. NVidia GeForce GTX 1060 6GB. M1: Acer 31.5" @1920x1080 M2: Samsung 31.5" @ 1920 x 1080. M3: Acer 24" @ 1920 x 1080. OS: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit Insider.
PM
Belidos
3D Media Maker
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Playing: The Game
Posted: 27th May 2019 00:22
You don't meed to use a different shader for illumination, if i rememver right preben added the illum shader as a quick fix because we didn't have illumination in the first itteration of pbr, since then illumination had been added to the basic shaders so it's not needed.

As far as i know the _emmissive prefix for textures only works on one of yhe shaders, whereas _illumination should work on them all.

Note that illumination doesnt work unless you turn bloom on.

Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.
GubbyBlips
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2019
Location:
Posted: 27th May 2019 04:21
Great info everyone. Thanks for posting that piece you put together
a while back Wolf. A couple things right off the bat that I noticed-
maybe you can clear up my ignorance-- which is certainly deep!

Blocking light?? Wolf, your article said; "As game guru does not support directional lights (although if you absolutely must have this feature you can easily do it by hand by adding invisible meshes to direct the light.)"
Does that mean there is a way to block out dynamic (or static) lights?
Can I do it without modeling?!?

Shadows?? -- which seemed to be not possible as mentioned clearly above-
but you said "its best to keep the light a bit away from the light source. (i.e. lamp or fire)
This will make sure that the shadows will look more natural and don't generate
any harsh black spots." Just clarifying- not critiquing your article (I am the noob.)
I've put dynamic light into a test level, certainly no shadows. Then I set them
to static= yes, tested again- still no objects are casting shadows...
PM
Teabone
Forum Support
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2006
Location: Earth
Posted: 27th May 2019 04:22
Quote: "Just to add:
You also need either an illumination or emissive map in your texture set - eg mytexture_emissive.dds. "


What does the emission one do? I've only been using *_I.DDS
Youtube - Teabone3 | Store Assets - Store Link | Patreon - Teabone3

i7 -2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz - Windows 7 - 8GB RAM - Nivida GeForce GTX 960
OldFlak
GameGuru TGC Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jan 2015
Location: Tasmania Australia
Posted: 27th May 2019 10:45 Edited at: 27th May 2019 10:47
@Teabone:
_I is for DSN
_emissive or _illumination (you can use either of them) is for PBR
Of course all textures should use .dds to be best utilized by the engine.

hth

Reliquia....
aka OldFlak
i7-4790 @ 3.2GHz. 8GB Ram. NVidia GeForce GTX 1060 6GB. M1: Acer 31.5" @1920x1080 M2: Samsung 31.5" @ 1920 x 1080. M3: Acer 24" @ 1920 x 1080. OS: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit Insider.
PM
Teabone
Forum Support
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2006
Location: Earth
Posted: 31st May 2019 22:50
Does the emissive texture emit light to surrounding textures? Curious what it does?
Youtube - Teabone3 | Store Assets - Store Link | Patreon - Teabone3

i7 -2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz - Windows 7 - 8GB RAM - Nivida GeForce GTX 960
GraPhiX
Forum Support
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2005
Playing:
Posted: 31st May 2019 23:13 Edited at: 31st May 2019 23:17
Quote: "Does the emissive texture emit light to surrounding textures? Curious what it does?"


unfortunately not no... I use dynamic lights of the same colour as my emissive texture if I want it to cast light

here is a weapon with an emissive texture https://forum.game-guru.com/thread/217932?page=13#msg2610448 it does not cast light on anything but if I did it static like my fluorescent tubes I would add a dynamic spot light the same colour as my tube to fake the light cast
Welcome to the real world!
Main PC - Windows 10 Pro x64 - Core i7-7700K @4.2GHz - 32GB DDR4 RAM - GeForce GTX 1060-6G 6GB - 1TB NVe SSD
Test PC - Windows 10 Pro x64 - G4400 @3.3GHz - 16GB DDR3 RAM - GeForce GTX 950 2GB - 500GB SSD
Laptop - Helios 300 Predator - i7 7700HQ - 32GB - Nvidia GTX1060 6GB - 525GB M2 - 500 SSD - 17.3" IPS LED Panel - Windows 10 Pro x64
Various Tutorials by me
OldFlak
GameGuru TGC Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jan 2015
Location: Tasmania Australia
Posted: 1st Jun 2019 22:43 Edited at: 1st Jun 2019 22:45
To me the emissive\illumination is pretty flat atm, you can enhance it using the Bloom slider, but the problem with that is it affects everything, and you can only go so far before it will wash out everything else.

And when using lights you get more brightness on the side where the sun is if the light is near a wall for example.

I think overall GG lighting is OK, but nothing like PBR should be as yet.

It would be nice to have a glare slider adjust the glow like you can in Substance. Perhaps one day.

gg:
Light source below each main light
Light radias 60
Lense Flare 20
Bloom 60
Notice light from sun on right wall


Substance:
No light source all glow is from emissive
Glare set at 0.16


Reliquia....
aka OldFlak
i7-4790 @ 3.2GHz. 8GB Ram. NVidia GeForce GTX 1060 6GB. M1: Acer 31.5" @1920x1080 M2: Samsung 31.5" @ 1920 x 1080. M3: Acer 24" @ 1920 x 1080. OS: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit Insider.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
PM
synchromesh
Forum Support
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 1st Jun 2019 22:47
Left pic looks brilliant nevertheless
The only person ever to get all his work done by "Friday" was Robinson Crusoe..
PM
Gtox
3D Media Maker
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jun 2014
Location: South Africa
Posted: 2nd Jun 2019 06:37
It does look brilliant - very clean and soothing
i3 8350k 3GB GTX1060 8GB RAM Windows 10
OldFlak
GameGuru TGC Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jan 2015
Location: Tasmania Australia
Posted: 2nd Jun 2019 14:14 Edited at: 2nd Jun 2019 14:14
Hear is a couple more shots with more adjustments to the sliders for more immersive atmosphere.
This looks nice in-game except for noticeable banding which doesn't show in the pics.
While runs fine on my machine, but on a less specked machine it would studder like mad.

Bloom 65
Shadows 30
Lense Flare 20
Brightness 50
Contrast 40
Global Specular 30
Fog: Near\Distance\Intensity 0\2\70




Reliquia....
aka OldFlak
i7-4790 @ 3.2GHz. 8GB Ram. NVidia GeForce GTX 1060 6GB. M1: Acer 31.5" @1920x1080 M2: Samsung 31.5" @ 1920 x 1080. M3: Acer 24" @ 1920 x 1080. OS: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit Insider.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
PM
Wolf
Forum Support
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Nov 2007
Location: Luxemburg
Posted: 4th Jun 2019 17:00
Quote: "I think overall GG lighting is OK,"


The lightmapper is broken and dynamic lights don't cast shadows.
Please explain this statment to me.
OldFlak
GameGuru TGC Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jan 2015
Location: Tasmania Australia
Posted: 5th Jun 2019 00:57 Edited at: 5th Jun 2019 13:16
@Wolf
Well as you know I have been rather critical of TGC of late, and to be honest I was just trying to be a little more positive toward GG.

I am also referring more to the illumination\emissive functionality, so probably not worded too good there

I think the GG shots I posted above don't look too bad considering they are in-door environments - for me I find inside environments rather difficult since PBR was added.

Illumination of course relies on post processing to bring out the glow for lights on the illumination map, and that is nothing like how it could\should be. You can't for example get anything like this shot:

Again this is just post processing. In GG you have to use lights as well as bloom, but you won't get anywhere near that kind of effect.

Honestly it just irks me no-end that features like PBR are added but just aren't polished. And they just move on to other bells and whistles.

And I still can't get rid of banding which doesn't really show in screen-shots - but moving around in the level it is very noticeable.

With out-door scenes PBR looks much better.

Elsewhere I have stated that the lighting is abysmal for the following reasons:
The light-mapper is broken.
Simply can't light-map if you have illumination maps - the map will be tiled over you models - been that way since DX-11 was added.
Dynamic Lights don't cast shadows..
Sun affects interior walls even when turned off - wall opposite sun will be brighter, especially when a light is used (see previous post pics)
Example:

Note the signs on left and right walls - they are the same sign!

Reliquia....
aka OldFlak
i7-4790 @ 3.2GHz. 8GB Ram. NVidia GeForce GTX 1060 6GB. M1: Acer 31.5" @1920x1080 M2: Samsung 31.5" @ 1920 x 1080. M3: Acer 24" @ 1920 x 1080. OS: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit Insider.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
PM
synchromesh
Forum Support
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 5th Jun 2019 01:09 Edited at: 5th Jun 2019 01:09
I still love the top screenshot ..
https://forum.game-guru.com/thread/220778?page=1#msg2615968
The only person ever to get all his work done by "Friday" was Robinson Crusoe..
PM

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-10-06 20:24:57
Your offset time is: 2024-10-06 20:24:57