Free Models and Media / [SOLVED] DLC Classics...

Author
Message
GubbyBlips
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2019
Location:
Posted: 30th Apr 2019 23:57
Anyone know how to fix the textures on them?
They are very bright. (At least most of them I've seen.)
Thanks. I'm complete noob @ modeling.

The author of this post has marked a post as an answer.

Go to answer
PM
GraPhiX
Forum Support
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2005
Playing:
Posted: 1st May 2019 07:53
99% of the classics only have a colour map and most of the material indexes are wrong you would need to create the rest of the maps required to get them to look anything like normal but I also assume most of the models are not up to scratch either. I can demonstrate this if you let me know which model in particular you are trying to use I will create the missing maps for you for that model
Welcome to the real world!
Main PC - Windows 10 Pro x64 - Core i7-7700K @4.2GHz - 32GB DDR4 RAM - GeForce GTX 1060-6G 6GB - 1TB NVe SSD
Test PC - Windows 10 Pro x64 - G4400 @3.3GHz - 16GB DDR3 RAM - GeForce GTX 950 2GB - 500GB SSD
Laptop - Helios 300 Predator - i7 7700HQ - 32GB - Nvidia GTX1060 6GB - 525GB M2 - 500 SSD - 17.3" IPS LED Panel - Windows 10 Pro x64
Various Tutorials by me
perelect
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2015
Location: Australia
Posted: 1st May 2019 16:42
This post has been marked by the post author as the answer.
It can also be because there is no shader assigned in the fpe of the items.
There are a lot of fpe with no shader assigned in the classic folder.
for example if you look at the below fpe in notepad

entitybank\Classics\Ancient Rome\fort_wall.fpe

the effect field is empty

textured = fort_entrance.dds
effect =

so if you change it to..

effect = effectbank\reloaded\entity_basic.fx

it will apply that shader to the entity.
Then it will look pretty good after that.
note: you will need to restart gg or start a new level for the change to take effect.
Desktop: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8700K CPU @ 3.70GHz, Windows 10 Pro, 64-bit, 16 GB Ram, ASASUS Geforce TURBO GTX1080 8GB, 34" 21:9 2560x1080 Full HD UltraWide IPS Monitor

[RIP] Laptop: Pavilion dv6 Notebook, Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2410M CPU @ 2.30 GHz, Win 7 64 bit, 16 GB Ram, Radeon (TM) HD 6490M, 2336 MB Memory. Resolution 1366x768, Intel(R) HD Graphics 3000. (WEI 5.8)
PT V9.0 3DMark=377, Passmark=1222.
Teabone
Forum Support
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2006
Location: Earth
Posted: 2nd May 2019 00:18 Edited at: 2nd May 2019 00:20
I was in the process of fixing most of those classics entities. But its extremely time consuming and I'm not sure if TGC will add the update to the Steam DLC if i were to do the work as I believe they are focused on PBR updates mainly now.

I might put a resource together on the external resource i run for this in the future:
http://www.freetoronto.org/gameguru/

But again its very time consuming and would be better if it was directly integrated/updated with the steam DLC. Or else the hard work may be for only a few rather than everyone.
Twitter - Teabone3 | Youtube - Teabone3 | Twitch - Teabone3 | TGC Assets - Store Link | Patreon - Teabone3

i7 -2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz - Windows 7 - 8GB RAM - Nivida GeForce GTX 960
GubbyBlips
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2019
Location:
Posted: 3rd May 2019 00:25
Thanks guys. I will definitely take you up on that offer
GraPhiX in time. Actually if you are interested, in the folder
"nature" are the rock/ cave items. In particular the large
"cave section 1" and the "rocky entrance". At least these
would be great to see not so bright-- particularly if one
entered the cave to explore!


Nice info, perelect. I will try what you suggested.

That's cool Teabone! At this point-- with most or all of these items,
standard textures is just fine over PBR anyhow.
Of course whatever happens here, happens for everyone!

PM
GubbyBlips
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2019
Location:
Posted: 3rd May 2019 01:31
Okay, perelect, so I tried that method
with a rock cave entity. Good and bad news.
It made it dark-- basically normal looking, BUT
it made it glossy like plastic! So many times
I've seen this happen to what should be
matte finish (dull finish) objects. Sandstone
should not glisten like glossy painted pots!
Lol

We're on the right track it looks like, just
maybe there's another setting I could check.
PM
tdreisinger
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jan 2018
Location: Indiana
Posted: 3rd May 2019 01:54
I believe the specular settings will fix that.
Timothy D. Reisinger
GubbyBlips
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2019
Location:
Posted: 3rd May 2019 02:26
It seems to help a bit If you turn
global specular down all the way.
PM
tdreisinger
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jan 2018
Location: Indiana
Posted: 3rd May 2019 02:34
There is a specular setting in the fpe I believe you can adjust.
Timothy D. Reisinger
GubbyBlips
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2019
Location:
Posted: 3rd May 2019 03:29
Nice. Thanks tdreisinger that will help!
Also, with a little experimenting then if you want,
you could tweak them further by assigning the fx
like mentioned above and replace with skycore,
(bright but not washed out) or shadowcore,
(like it sounds, a darker version) of original.
So Good News! No need to a great deal of
in-modeling work to get results!

........that's just for the couple models I tested on though.......

Thanks for all the help guys.
PM
GubbyBlips
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2019
Location:
Posted: 3rd May 2019 03:38
BTW, just one more comment, I haven't done a
Stand-Alone test on these, but let's hope that what
we see in the GG test level carries over. It should!
PM
GraPhiX
Forum Support
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2005
Playing:
Posted: 3rd May 2019 08:31
not sure if I can post the fixed asset I will enquire this is with a PBR shader and all maps

Welcome to the real world!
Main PC - Windows 10 Pro x64 - Core i7-7700K @4.2GHz - 32GB DDR4 RAM - GeForce GTX 1060-6G 6GB - 1TB NVe SSD
Test PC - Windows 10 Pro x64 - G4400 @3.3GHz - 16GB DDR3 RAM - GeForce GTX 950 2GB - 500GB SSD
Laptop - Helios 300 Predator - i7 7700HQ - 32GB - Nvidia GTX1060 6GB - 525GB M2 - 500 SSD - 17.3" IPS LED Panel - Windows 10 Pro x64
Various Tutorials by me

Attachments

Login to view attachments
perelect
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2015
Location: Australia
Posted: 3rd May 2019 12:33 Edited at: 3rd May 2019 13:06
Quote: "Okay, perelect, so I tried that method with a rock cave entity. Good and bad news.
It made it dark-- basically normal looking, BUT it made it glossy like plastic! So many times
I've seen this happen to what should be matte finish (dull finish) objects. Sandstone
should not glisten like glossy painted pots! Lol
We're on the right track it looks like, just maybe there's another setting I could check."


Now this is in the area of adjusting texture maps to suit your needs, as Graphix first posted.
This is the best option, and to get the best end result in this version of GG they need to be converted to PBR.
This is beyond my skill set.

But if you want to experiment you could try..

You could try adjusting the specular setting as tdreisinger suggested,
This can be done to some extent by clicking on the entity then going to properties and adjust the specular settings.

( This is what i do myself to adjust these older models to this PBR version of GG. )
If you have an app like Paint.Net you can adjust the texture itself,
I usually just adjust saturation, brightness, contrast and color levels.
If you understand how DNIS maps work you can make them in Paint.Net as well.
So if a texture is named xx_D.dds it will use xx_N.dds, xx_I.dds, xx_S.dds if they are provided.
Look at another entity that uses this, to understand its fpe settings and texture maps to see how it works.

The other option is to adjust/change shaders which i see you have already tried.
If you try to tweak some setting in the .fx files you need to change forceloadtestgameshaders=0 to forceloadtestgameshaders=1 in setup.ini and restart GG for it to take effect.

You can also go back to a non PBR version of GG on steam, if you dont want to use the PBR features.

Cheers
Desktop: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8700K CPU @ 3.70GHz, Windows 10 Pro, 64-bit, 16 GB Ram, ASASUS Geforce TURBO GTX1080 8GB, 34" 21:9 2560x1080 Full HD UltraWide IPS Monitor

[RIP] Laptop: Pavilion dv6 Notebook, Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2410M CPU @ 2.30 GHz, Win 7 64 bit, 16 GB Ram, Radeon (TM) HD 6490M, 2336 MB Memory. Resolution 1366x768, Intel(R) HD Graphics 3000. (WEI 5.8)
PT V9.0 3DMark=377, Passmark=1222.
GraPhiX
Forum Support
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2005
Playing:
Posted: 3rd May 2019 22:13 Edited at: 3rd May 2019 22:16
Hi I have had permission from Lee to post the fixed models here I will upload them asap
Cave section 1 is attached to this post

Welcome to the real world!
Main PC - Windows 10 Pro x64 - Core i7-7700K @4.2GHz - 32GB DDR4 RAM - GeForce GTX 1060-6G 6GB - 1TB NVe SSD
Test PC - Windows 10 Pro x64 - G4400 @3.3GHz - 16GB DDR3 RAM - GeForce GTX 950 2GB - 500GB SSD
Laptop - Helios 300 Predator - i7 7700HQ - 32GB - Nvidia GTX1060 6GB - 525GB M2 - 500 SSD - 17.3" IPS LED Panel - Windows 10 Pro x64
Various Tutorials by me

Attachments

Login to view attachments
GubbyBlips
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2019
Location:
Posted: 3rd May 2019 23:12
That's cool. Thanks Graphix!
Our Mothers day in the U.S. is coming up in just a few days...
long story short, I thought a unique idea would be to make
a game for my (70 something... haha), Mother and see if I can
get her to play it! LOL So the game is just a walking around
maybe ride a horse or something game with as much pretty things
like flowers, birds etc I can find. I'm from the red rock country
of western U.S. desert but live 2200 miles/ 3500 km from my parents.
Thanks again!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
PM

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2022-01-28 05:58:35
Your offset time is: 2022-01-28 05:58:35