Scripts / AmenMoses Please Help !

Author
Message
PCS
Reviewed GameGuru on Steam
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jul 2016
Location: South Africa
Posted: 12th Apr 2019 15:27
AmenMoses, please help me, i want to use your ezplatform.lua to move the ship in the picture below from right to left over the screen with the player on it. when the game start the boat must move from were it is until were the arrow stops. that is it.
i have looked inside ezplatform.lua and got a headache and almost fainted. lol ( script way above my brain. ) haha
i would be much grateful if you can tel me what to change in the scrip to move it from right to left , and how to stop it after some time or after a certain distance.

Thank you very much.

Pcs
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU G3260 @ 3.30GHz (2 CPUs), ~3.3GHz RAM 16GB NVIDIA GeForce GT 730
DirectX Version: DirectX 11

Attachments

Login to view attachments
PM
Bolt Action Gaming
GameGuru Tool Maker
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Oct 2013
Location: Harrisburg, PA (USA)
Posted: 12th Apr 2019 16:19
Suggestion:
Instead of using the ezmover (which I admit can be difficult to wrap your head around sometimes), use an NPC AI script and waypoints.

PCS
Reviewed GameGuru on Steam
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jul 2016
Location: South Africa
Posted: 12th Apr 2019 17:46
Bolt Action Gaming , yes i can try that, but then i must still get the player / camera to also move with the ship, the idea is so that the player can have an over view of the harbor he is supposed to infiltrate , while he is on the boat.
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU G3260 @ 3.30GHz (2 CPUs), ~3.3GHz RAM 16GB NVIDIA GeForce GT 730
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
PM
smallg
Community Leader
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2005
Location:
Posted: 12th Apr 2019 18:10 Edited at: 12th Apr 2019 18:13
do you mean ezentitymover.lua?
don't you just put
["Ship2"] = {"mf1000","h"}
(assuming your ship is called Ship2 in GG) inside g_ezentitymover_sequence = {}
so

change 1000 to however far the ship needs to move (just going to have to tweak and test that i guess)
lua guide for GG
https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=398177770
windows 10
i5 @4ghz, 8gb ram, AMD R9 200 series , directx 11
PCS
Reviewed GameGuru on Steam
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jul 2016
Location: South Africa
Posted: 12th Apr 2019 19:24
Hi smallg , with this ezentitymover.lua , will the player also move with the boat/ship ?
i am clueless with these fancy lua scripts. lol
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU G3260 @ 3.30GHz (2 CPUs), ~3.3GHz RAM 16GB NVIDIA GeForce GT 730
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
PM
PCS
Reviewed GameGuru on Steam
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jul 2016
Location: South Africa
Posted: 13th Apr 2019 09:38 Edited at: 13th Apr 2019 09:44
Hi smalg.
edited.:: had an error but fix it.

boat do not move, i ques i have to look for the trigger part to get it to move.

Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU G3260 @ 3.30GHz (2 CPUs), ~3.3GHz RAM 16GB NVIDIA GeForce GT 730
DirectX Version: DirectX 11

Attachments

Login to view attachments
PM
PCS
Reviewed GameGuru on Steam
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jul 2016
Location: South Africa
Posted: 13th Apr 2019 10:40 Edited at: 13th Apr 2019 11:10
Ok i have manage to get the boat to move with the player on it, but it only moves for a short distance.


if i change the {"mf1000","h"} then the ship only moves faster and then the player falls off.
there must be another place in the script were one adjust the distance.
this is such a powerful script, its a pity not everyone understand it.
the script i downloaded looks like this.

There is other settings like moonlander, door1 and 2 and deathpad. so i am not sure if it can stay there or it will have an influence at what i am trying to do or what.
Maybe if we ask AmenMoses nicely he would modify this awesome script for us so that we can use it on any model ( if possible ) to move left or right or up and down. , just a basic script to move an entity left , right, up and down. that would be so kind of him.
In the mean time i will still try and see what i can do.
( who am i kidding. i will by accident go up to the moon with my attempt but not left or right. hahaha )
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU G3260 @ 3.30GHz (2 CPUs), ~3.3GHz RAM 16GB NVIDIA GeForce GT 730
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
PM
smallg
Community Leader
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2005
Location:
Posted: 13th Apr 2019 12:56
perhaps increase the g_default_spd = 10 -- seconds per sequence
or just keep adding mf1000
so
["Ship2"] = {"mf1000","mf1000","mf1000","h"}
lua guide for GG
https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=398177770
windows 10
i5 @4ghz, 8gb ram, AMD R9 200 series , directx 11
AmenMoses
GameGuru Master
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2016
Location: Portsmouth, England
Posted: 13th Apr 2019 17:47 Edited at: 13th Apr 2019 17:48
There was a thread explaining all the various commands that you can put in the sequence, I made that script such a long time ago that if I did anything to it now I would completely rewrite it! (hint, it's damn ugly)

The last iteration of it that I posted was the ezentitymover one btw, that was much improved over the explatform version.
Been there, done that, got all the T-Shirts!
PM
GubbyBlips
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2019
Location:
Posted: 13th Apr 2019 18:22 Edited at: 13th Apr 2019 18:36
Hey there, PCS-- maybe?
If you look at either the Grappler script or the Zip Line
scripts that both AmenMoses and smallg created, perhaps
particularly the zip line, you could pry some code out of that
and what it does is move the player from point A to point B
and you could find those exact in- map coordinates via
the grappler script. My Grappler script had a text call to
show the coordinates of where you went when the grappler
was shot.

Then you could match the player coordinates with the ship
coordinates ( Playerx = shipx[e] + or - adjustments) type method,
and move player and ship together. Sounds complicated?
Well, shouldn't be too bad. Just a suggestion!


Actually I guess you want to allow the player to move
while on ship? Let me know if you get that to work!
Otherwise, there's the vehicle gunner script- maybe something
out of that also could be useful?
https://forum.game-guru.com/thread/207801?page=15#msg2551879
PM
Len the man
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Jun 2015
Location:
Posted: 13th Apr 2019 18:53 Edited at: 13th Apr 2019 18:53
Hello PCS,

If you ever get this kind of script to work, please let us know because I have been trying to get something like this to work for years.

Eventually some one (I think Bugsy) told me that if you can't do it by scripts, then try to do it artistically. I did this with a cowboy walking on top of a train. You can see what I did at this forum link - https://forum.game-guru.com/thread/216086?page=4#msg2614319

I eventually created the illusion of movement, but actually the train is standing still, while looking like it's moving. I created scrolling ground texture on ground tiles that I scaled to be very long, and cut and pasted some scripts to make trees and hills move past and disappear in the distance.

I wish you all the best, and if you need help or have questions, feel free to PM me or look me up in Discord.
PM
PCS
Reviewed GameGuru on Steam
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jul 2016
Location: South Africa
Posted: 13th Apr 2019 19:24 Edited at: 13th Apr 2019 19:29
@Len the man, i will let you know if i get it right, i was actually hoping AmenMoses would volunteer to quickly do it in his sleep , even if it is just a script that can move either ways left to right or forward and backward. i know there is a lot of users that would like to have such a script, but unfortunately ....
@GubbyBlips, thank you for you advice i will look into it. will let you know if i have any success.
@AmenMoses,
Quote: "The last iteration of it that I posted was the ezentitymover one btw, that was much improved over the explatform version."

i am Actually trying to use the ezentitymover script.
But Thank you, .... i will continue to try.
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU G3260 @ 3.30GHz (2 CPUs), ~3.3GHz RAM 16GB NVIDIA GeForce GT 730
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
PM
AmenMoses
GameGuru Master
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2016
Location: Portsmouth, England
Posted: 13th Apr 2019 19:28
I'm on holiday at the moment, really bad internet access.

If you search on the forums for the original threads and follow the instructions it should all work but make sure you get the latest version of the ezentitymover script.
Been there, done that, got all the T-Shirts!
PM
PCS
Reviewed GameGuru on Steam
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jul 2016
Location: South Africa
Posted: 13th Apr 2019 19:34
@AmenMoses. i got the script from this tread. https://forum.game-guru.com/thread/216730#msg2563764
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU G3260 @ 3.30GHz (2 CPUs), ~3.3GHz RAM 16GB NVIDIA GeForce GT 730
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
PM
smallg
Community Leader
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2005
Location:
Posted: 13th Apr 2019 20:24 Edited at: 13th Apr 2019 20:27
as i said above, add the mf command multiple times til you get to the desired point
["Ship2"] = {"mf1000","mf1000","mf1000","h"}
sideways is already in the script just replace the f with the direction
i.e.
["Ship2"] = {"mf1000","mx1000","mz-1000","h"}
i think it's global but for a scripted path it shouldn't be an issue with a bit of testing
lua guide for GG
https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=398177770
windows 10
i5 @4ghz, 8gb ram, AMD R9 200 series , directx 11
PCS
Reviewed GameGuru on Steam
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jul 2016
Location: South Africa
Posted: 13th Apr 2019 20:52
@smallg, oh ok, will do it and test again, thanks a lot.
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU G3260 @ 3.30GHz (2 CPUs), ~3.3GHz RAM 16GB NVIDIA GeForce GT 730
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
PM
PCS
Reviewed GameGuru on Steam
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jul 2016
Location: South Africa
Posted: 14th Apr 2019 09:43 Edited at: 14th Apr 2019 09:46
Ok got the boat to to move from one point to the next,
by adding this ["Ship2"] = {"mf1000","mf1000","mf1000","mf1000","mf1000","h"} like smalg said.
the only problem is that when i am standing on the boat the surface of the boat do have collision because i am standing on it
see picture below:: but it does not move the player as well.

but when the boat move up to here in the next pic then there is collision an then the player moves along. but as soon as you move away from this spot then you have to move with the boat otherwise it will just move with out you.


I guess its got some collision on that spot were the part of the boat have an box like shape sticking out upwards.
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU G3260 @ 3.30GHz (2 CPUs), ~3.3GHz RAM 16GB NVIDIA GeForce GT 730
DirectX Version: DirectX 11

Attachments

Login to view attachments
PM
AmenMoses
GameGuru Master
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2016
Location: Portsmouth, England
Posted: 14th Apr 2019 12:20
What have you put in the g_ezentitymover_dimensions list for the ship?

You should have the length, width and height of the 'platform', which in your case would be the deck of the ship that the player can stand on, unfortunately this can only be a flat rectangle.

The radius value just needs to be bigger enough to encompass the whole model, so for example if your ships deck is 1000 long by 200 wide then use radius = 600, length = 1000, width = 200 and just play with the height value till you get the effect you want. (if the ship is not pointing forwards you may need to swap the length and width values)


Been there, done that, got all the T-Shirts!
PM
PCS
Reviewed GameGuru on Steam
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jul 2016
Location: South Africa
Posted: 14th Apr 2019 19:10
Thank you AmenMoses i will try it.
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU G3260 @ 3.30GHz (2 CPUs), ~3.3GHz RAM 16GB NVIDIA GeForce GT 730
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
PM
GubbyBlips
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2019
Location:
Posted: 15th Apr 2019 06:25
Nice. Works great in my test AmenMoses.
I used a building platform 400x400 about
50 height.
Only player doesn't turn (example "ty120")
along with platform. Otherwise, it's a very
useful tool. GG just doesn't give collision on
dynamic objects much. That would be super
if so. I'm sure it's an engine requirement for
dynamic entities. I tested on 3rd person so
it's easier to see what's happening!
PM
AmenMoses
GameGuru Master
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2016
Location: Portsmouth, England
Posted: 15th Apr 2019 10:50
Rotating the player would be trickier without it interfering with mouse handling in first person, could probably be done for 3rd person though.
Been there, done that, got all the T-Shirts!
PM

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-04-19 14:08:54
Your offset time is: 2019-04-19 14:08:54