Off Topic / beginner here interested in coding in lua

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
i have no coding experience really other then copy and pasting other peoples scripts and have played with the lua scripts contained in game guru which has helped me learn a little but for the most part i really have no experience in writing any code with lua or C++ period. other then going to school is there any recommendations on the best place to start in learning coding such as what books work best for beginners or websites anything really. thank you.
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 Six-Core Processor, 3200 Mhz, 6 Core(s), 12 logical Processor(s), 16gb ram, NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1050, windows 10
PM
Len the man
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 9th Apr 2019 21:29 Edited at: 9th Apr 2019 21:33
There are a few places you can look for help on this subject matter, such as the following:

1 Some help is listed on the Steam website for Game Guru at this link - https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=398177770

2 Here is a visual scripter to help you learn how to put some scripts together - https://ank00.itch.io/codeworks
The visual scripter is also talked about at this link - https://forum.game-guru.com/thread/207960

3 Many folks here use Notepad ++ for typing up some scripts. It is free software that you can download for free on the internet.

4 It's also nice to use another free program called Lua edit. This program will help you quickly debug or find any errors in your script before you try to use it.

5 Another good place to look is at this link in this forum that talks about Lua scripting - https://forum.game-guru.com/thread/208970

6. Another good place to look is at this link to find more information on Lua scripting - https://www.tutorialspoint.com/lua/index.htm

7 I have also heard of some people purchasing books on how to write Lua scripts.