Scripts / Possible to detect walls?

Author
Forum Support
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 29th Nov 2018 03:28 Edited at: 29th Nov 2018 03:34
Hey all, Ive been bouncing around many different ideas and prototypes with Game Guru to see what kind of game i should make. I started playing around with the idea of a grid based system. Similar to Dungeon Crawler first person games. Where the player controls are overwritten by a slower based system that falls in a grid. I got the movement working great. However I have no way of detecting walls.

Similar to this

Is it possible to detect static EBE walls or entities?

I'm curious as i have situations where the player is in a hall and i dont want him to walk to the right or left if there are walls there. Perhaps a very complicated task and not right for Game Guru? I'm assuming this gets into complicated territory using raycasting.

One option i think i can try to do is create invisible walls that box in the player more to a more narrow path despite how spacious a hallway might seem.
Twitter - Teabone3 | Youtube - Teabone3 | Twitch - Teabone3 | TGC Assets - Store Link | Patreon - Teabone3

i7 -2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz - Windows 7 - 8GB RAM - Nivida GeForce GTX 960
Teabone
Forum Support
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 29th Nov 2018 03:46
the more i look into this the more code it looks like i would have to create just to get the level design working within a grid system. Not sure its something i want to pursue :/
Twitter - Teabone3 | Youtube - Teabone3 | Twitch - Teabone3 | TGC Assets - Store Link | Patreon - Teabone3

AmenMoses
GameGuru Master
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 29th Nov 2018 20:03
Raycasting detects walls.
Been there, done that, got all the T-Shirts!
PM
PCS
Years of Service
User Offline
Playing:
Posted: 2nd Dec 2018 10:31
@Teabone, WOW , is that your game. its Wow.
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU G3260 @ 3.30GHz (2 CPUs), ~3.3GHz RAM 16GB NVIDIA GeForce GT 730