Easy Building Editor / [SOLVED] Do EBE objects slow things down now?

Author
Message
Jerry Tremble
GameGuru TGC Backer
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Nov 2012
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posted: 14th Oct 2018 01:59
Hadn't messed with it in quite a while, but just the past couple days I've been playing around. With a blank map I start running at around 115-120 fps (laptop, w/vsync off). If I add an EBE object consisting of a floor covering just half of one EBE object, I drop by about 5 fps. If I add say, one stairway to the EBE object, I drop about 20 fps. If I duplicate this object, - 40 fps. Really. I remember EBE objects having really no effect on performance. Is this just something on my end causing this or is this perhaps due to one of the recent updates? My GG says it's the 9/23 monster update but Steam says Public Preview. Just remembered I might wish to validate my local files. Will try that as well. Thanks in advance for any help!
Desktop: i7 4770@3.4Ghz (passmark 9809), 12GB RAM, Win 10/64, GeForce GTX 1080 (passmark 12006), 1TB SSD, 1TB HDD; Laptop: i7 4800MQ@2.7Ghz, 16GB RAM, Win 10/64, GeForce GTX870M , 1TB SSD.

The author of this post has marked a post as an answer.

Go to answer
PM
Kitakazi
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Feb 2007
Location:
Posted: 15th Oct 2018 00:14
Not sure if it has to do with your issue but EBE makes my map file size huge. I mean 1 room that is 2 walls high is more in file size than most of the tutorial maps. Not sure why its so crazy or if its working as intended.
PM
Jerry Tremble
GameGuru TGC Backer
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Nov 2012
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posted: 16th Oct 2018 00:32
Thanks for the reply! That doesn't seem to be the case, although a half gig has always seemed a bit hefty to me for a game/level that essentially has nothing in it, lol. BTW, how many draw calls are people seeing on an empty map? I get 163, haven't really paid any attention to that in a couple years.
Desktop: i7 4770@3.4Ghz (passmark 9809), 12GB RAM, Win 10/64, GeForce GTX 1080 (passmark 12006), 1TB SSD, 1TB HDD; Laptop: i7 4800MQ@2.7Ghz, 16GB RAM, Win 10/64, GeForce GTX870M , 1TB SSD.
PM
Earthling45
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Sep 2016
Location: Zuid Holland Nederland
Posted: 16th Oct 2018 22:31
The texture atlas of EBE is quite large, especially the normal map has a large file size so that explains the file size.
A simple structure has a simple mesh and hence only a few polygons, but every opening and added block with EBE adds to the face count of the structure and of course the collision box which is a polygon collision.
So in my view we need to use it in a smart way, have separate parts such as the stairs.
Quite handy is that with separate parts we can have full functionallity of scaling and rotation which enabled me to make a tunnel and a stairs like you can see in the building editor guide.

The texture atlas consists of 16 textures, if you do not need more than 16 it means that all your assets made with EBE can use that same texture atlas, just rename it and do so accordingly in the FPE.

Jerry Tremble
GameGuru TGC Backer
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Nov 2012
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posted: 17th Oct 2018 01:15
I get that the texture atlas is pretty big, but I swear when the EBE was first introduced, the objects I made with it had almost no effect on performance. I tried one object as described above on my desktop, and it lowered my framerate from just over 400 fps to just over 350. Pretty big drop if you ask me! Oh well, there's always Blender, lol.
Desktop: i7 4770@3.4Ghz (passmark 9809), 12GB RAM, Win 10/64, GeForce GTX 1080 (passmark 12006), 1TB SSD, 1TB HDD; Laptop: i7 4800MQ@2.7Ghz, 16GB RAM, Win 10/64, GeForce GTX870M , 1TB SSD.
PM
Earthling45
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Sep 2016
Location: Zuid Holland Nederland
Posted: 17th Oct 2018 07:59
This post has been marked by the post author as the answer.


I've made a mosaic pattern wall for this little test to up the face count.
It is actually not too bad in my opinion, my system specs are AMD6300, GTX960, 16gb ram.
I'm also using the public preview and getting the message 9/23 monster update.
A difference might be that i have pbroverride set to 0 in the setup.ini
Jerry Tremble
GameGuru TGC Backer
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Nov 2012
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posted: 17th Oct 2018 15:18 Edited at: 17th Oct 2018 16:05
pbroverride - 0. That was/is the answer, Earthling45, thank you so much!!!!!!!


EDIT: Still a bit of a drag on performance, but much better than it was, thanks again!
Desktop: i7 4770@3.4Ghz (passmark 9809), 12GB RAM, Win 10/64, GeForce GTX 1080 (passmark 12006), 1TB SSD, 1TB HDD; Laptop: i7 4800MQ@2.7Ghz, 16GB RAM, Win 10/64, GeForce GTX870M , 1TB SSD.
PM

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2020-07-06 11:55:20
Your offset time is: 2020-07-06 11:55:20