Tutorials & Guides / Particles, a GG tutorial series.

Author
GameGuru Master
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 12th Oct 2018 19:58
You may have heard something regarding new particle control commands in Lua, whether it be Lee's brief announcement about an extra command to attach particles to an entity or my own announcements and demos. Well these commands are in the Beta and will probably all be in a public release some time soon so I'm going to start in on a series of tutorial posts.

I'm going to aim this at the absolute complete beginner level:

What exactly is a 'particle'? Well in 3D engines a 'particle' is really just a small simple object that rather than being positioned by hand or by the physics interactions, is created on the fly and positioned according to a simple set of rules.

What does that mean in GG terms?
Currently a 'particle' in GG (to be precise a 'ravey_particle' as there are others ) is actually a 'camera orientated quad' or to put it another way a small flat square always facing the camera. Onto this is projected an image generated from a sprite sheet. The sprite sheet can contain many images which can either be played as an animation or simply have one selected at random.

But that's just a 'decal' isn't it?
Well yes, and no, it is the exact same principal as a 'decal' but a 'decal' is usually a statically positioned object (unless you move them about under script control as I've amply demonstrated in the past) and they are also usually quite detailed. A decal for example may be used for pasting a sign on a wall or something similar so needs to be high definition.
A 'particle' otoh can be just a small fuzzy blob (in fact for most fancy effects that is what works the best!), using an animated image is *not* the norm for most particle systems, particles are also designed to be used in multiples, many many multiples in most cases whereas a 'decal' is normally a single use beast.

So how does it work?