3rd Party Models/Media Chat / Easy SkyBoxes For All

Author
Message
grobyken
3D Media Maker
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Aug 2010
Location: Aurensan France
Posted: 13th Sep 2018 08:34 Edited at: 13th Sep 2018 08:35
It's possible the following link has already been posted in the forums as I am usually late to every party .

The following link to QBIT, a SkyBox graphic files generator is worth a look. Very easy to use and has enabled me to make a number of SkyBoxes very quickly.

The product is for sale at $12 but the author gives it away totally free and in the hope that you may buy it out of the honesty of your heart. I thought this was called DonationWare.

https://pragmar.com/qbit/

Video at https://youtu.be/ePvqPE1KJDQ
GraPhiX
Forum Support
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2005
Playing: Fixing stuff ;)
Posted: 13th Sep 2018 15:21
Hi Ken excellent find thank you, this is now my preferred tool for High Quality skybox.
I have took the liberty of doing a side by side comparison with QBIT and the app on my website 'testq' is the QBIT generated PNG's and 'testg' is the cubemap generated PNG's so in this video the first skybox chosen was the one created with cubemap the second with QBIT and the difference is highly noticeable, the app on my website was just for cubemaps the skyboxes it creates are ok but it was not designed for that.

Welcome to the real world!
Main PC - Windows 10 Pro x64 - Core i7-7700K @4.2GHz - 32GB DDR4 RAM - GeForce GTX 1060-6G 6GB - 1TB NVe SSD
Test PC - Windows 10 Pro x64 - G4400 @3.3GHz - 16GB DDR3 RAM - GeForce GTX 950 2GB - 500GB SSD
Laptop - Helios 300 Predator - i7 7700HQ - 32GB - Nvidia GTX1060 6GB - 525GB M2 - 500 SSD - 17.3" IPS LED Panel - Windows 10 Pro x64
Various Tutorials by me
synchromesh
Forum Support
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 13th Sep 2018 16:57
It wont install for me due to a conflict ?
Happy to buy this but need to sort this first
The only person ever to get all his work done by "Friday" was Robinson Crusoe..
PM
GraPhiX
Forum Support
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2005
Playing: Fixing stuff ;)
Posted: 13th Sep 2018 17:01
Quote: "It wont install for me due to a conflict ?"


it has installed fine on all my PC's whats it conflicting with ?
Welcome to the real world!
Main PC - Windows 10 Pro x64 - Core i7-7700K @4.2GHz - 32GB DDR4 RAM - GeForce GTX 1060-6G 6GB - 1TB NVe SSD
Test PC - Windows 10 Pro x64 - G4400 @3.3GHz - 16GB DDR3 RAM - GeForce GTX 950 2GB - 500GB SSD
Laptop - Helios 300 Predator - i7 7700HQ - 32GB - Nvidia GTX1060 6GB - 525GB M2 - 500 SSD - 17.3" IPS LED Panel - Windows 10 Pro x64
Various Tutorials by me
synchromesh
Forum Support
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 13th Sep 2018 18:08
Sorted now … very strange .. Just rectified itself
The only person ever to get all his work done by "Friday" was Robinson Crusoe..
PM
Pirate Myke
Forum Support
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st May 2010
Location: El Dorado, California
Posted: 13th Sep 2018 19:05
Only runs on win10 64 bit op sys.
I will have to take it to another machine to try it out.
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz, 2400 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s), 8gb RAM, Nvidia gtx660, Windows 7 Pro 64bit, Screen resolution 1680 x 1050.

DannyD
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2018
Location:
Posted: 14th Sep 2018 01:14 Edited at: 14th Sep 2018 02:21
Guys
I really miss something>
Why does my background only reflect the sky and not the terrain aswell. My images all cutoff at about 50%?

Is there a setting?

Looking at Graphix Link above, his view is full 360 x 360 degrees

F11, take away terrain,water. But when I test again, it's back. How to do it permanent,LUA?


Any advice?
Thanks

Attachments

Login to view attachments
PM
GraPhiX
Forum Support
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2005
Playing: Fixing stuff ;)
Posted: 14th Sep 2018 08:06
These are the LUA commands you need:

HideTerrain() - stop the terrain drawing

ShowTerrain() - show the terrain again

HideWater() - stop water from being drawn

ShowWater() - show water again
Welcome to the real world!
Main PC - Windows 10 Pro x64 - Core i7-7700K @4.2GHz - 32GB DDR4 RAM - GeForce GTX 1060-6G 6GB - 1TB NVe SSD
Test PC - Windows 10 Pro x64 - G4400 @3.3GHz - 16GB DDR3 RAM - GeForce GTX 950 2GB - 500GB SSD
Laptop - Helios 300 Predator - i7 7700HQ - 32GB - Nvidia GTX1060 6GB - 525GB M2 - 500 SSD - 17.3" IPS LED Panel - Windows 10 Pro x64
Various Tutorials by me
DannyD
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2018
Location:
Posted: 14th Sep 2018 08:50 Edited at: 14th Sep 2018 08:54
Thanks GraPhiX, appreciate

a Beginner question.
With the new background it all looks good, but thats about where it stopped, right?
I see none of my background/terrain move when I walk with my character. looks like the character is just standing at one place.
But when the terrain is ON, you can see the ground move.
Suggestions?

Thanks
Danie

PM
GraPhiX
Forum Support
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2005
Playing: Fixing stuff ;)
Posted: 14th Sep 2018 09:00 Edited at: 14th Sep 2018 09:04
there is a ready script in your scriptbank 'goindoors.lua' just place a triggerzone and apply that command to it, then place the startmarker on top.


the skybox is fixed it never moves so even though you are going forward its like walking on the spot, place either a floor or make your own terrain and walk on that I put a bridge from cityscape in this scene.

for it to work and show the full skybox you have to build a 'platform' level a bit like Avatar I suppose lol, in this scene below you could have some big trees with wooden platforms connecting them just don't allow the player to roam away from the set paths

Welcome to the real world!
Main PC - Windows 10 Pro x64 - Core i7-7700K @4.2GHz - 32GB DDR4 RAM - GeForce GTX 1060-6G 6GB - 1TB NVe SSD
Test PC - Windows 10 Pro x64 - G4400 @3.3GHz - 16GB DDR3 RAM - GeForce GTX 950 2GB - 500GB SSD
Laptop - Helios 300 Predator - i7 7700HQ - 32GB - Nvidia GTX1060 6GB - 525GB M2 - 500 SSD - 17.3" IPS LED Panel - Windows 10 Pro x64
Various Tutorials by me
GraPhiX
Forum Support
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2005
Playing: Fixing stuff ;)
Posted: 14th Sep 2018 11:01 Edited at: 14th Sep 2018 11:59
another example, this is an Ocean skybox, terrain off water on

I was rendering in Quixel when I recorded this I will do another one that does not stutter my Mac cannot cope with GG, Bandicam and Quixel at the same time
all fixed now

Welcome to the real world!
Main PC - Windows 10 Pro x64 - Core i7-7700K @4.2GHz - 32GB DDR4 RAM - GeForce GTX 1060-6G 6GB - 1TB NVe SSD
Test PC - Windows 10 Pro x64 - G4400 @3.3GHz - 16GB DDR3 RAM - GeForce GTX 950 2GB - 500GB SSD
Laptop - Helios 300 Predator - i7 7700HQ - 32GB - Nvidia GTX1060 6GB - 525GB M2 - 500 SSD - 17.3" IPS LED Panel - Windows 10 Pro x64
Various Tutorials by me
OldFlak
GameGuru TGC Backer
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jan 2015
Location: Tasmania Australia
Posted: 14th Sep 2018 11:10 Edited at: 14th Sep 2018 11:16
Just to add: the skybox gives the illusion of a much larger environment, and moves with the player. So if you turn terrain off there is nothing to show that you are moving.

Reliquia....
aka OldFlak
Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-4160 @ 3,60GHz. 8GB Ram. NVidia GeForce GTX 750. Acer 24" Monitors x 2 @ 1920 x 1080. Windows 10 Pro 64-bit.
PM
Belidos
3D Media Maker
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Location: Hertfordshire
Posted: 14th Sep 2018 11:56
Woah, how did your video get removed for violating terms of service!??!?!?
[img]belidos3d.swgrp.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/blogo.png[/img]
Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.
GraPhiX
Forum Support
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2005
Playing: Fixing stuff ;)
Posted: 14th Sep 2018 11:58 Edited at: 14th Sep 2018 12:02
Quote: "Woah, how did your video get removed for violating terms of service!??!?!?"


HA HA HA it didn't I just deleted it uploading one that does not stutter, just uploaded the replacement above ^^
shaved off about 3 million polygons with terrain off
Welcome to the real world!
Main PC - Windows 10 Pro x64 - Core i7-7700K @4.2GHz - 32GB DDR4 RAM - GeForce GTX 1060-6G 6GB - 1TB NVe SSD
Test PC - Windows 10 Pro x64 - G4400 @3.3GHz - 16GB DDR3 RAM - GeForce GTX 950 2GB - 500GB SSD
Laptop - Helios 300 Predator - i7 7700HQ - 32GB - Nvidia GTX1060 6GB - 525GB M2 - 500 SSD - 17.3" IPS LED Panel - Windows 10 Pro x64
Various Tutorials by me
Belidos
3D Media Maker
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Location: Hertfordshire
Posted: 14th Sep 2018 12:12
That's odd because the message i got when i tried to play it said it was quite specific, you shouldn't get that message if you delete it yourself lol, typical buggy youtube.
[img]belidos3d.swgrp.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/blogo.png[/img]
Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.
DannyD
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2018
Location:
Posted: 14th Sep 2018 12:14
As always, a life saver, thanks GraPhix, will test that...

Cherio
D
PM
grobyken
3D Media Maker
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Aug 2010
Location: Aurensan France
Posted: 14th Sep 2018 22:05
OK GraPhiX I have made some Sky Boxes with QBit but next to yours they look pretty poor.

So how about you do one of your tuts on QBIT and how to set up a good sky box.

Just asking

Ken
synchromesh
Forum Support
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 14th Sep 2018 23:04 Edited at: 14th Sep 2018 23:06
Mine wasn't great either … seem to end up with 6 fishbowl effects ?
Not nice ones like the vid …
Is everyone adapting a GG skybox ?
The only person ever to get all his work done by "Friday" was Robinson Crusoe..
PM
grobyken
3D Media Maker
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Aug 2010
Location: Aurensan France
Posted: 15th Sep 2018 08:44
I used the atmos one. Didn't look like a fishbowl. In fact looked OK in that respect. It's just that GraPhix's just looked great where as mine were sort of OK. I mean the one with the sea and the birds taling off ETC. HOW THE HELL DO YOU DO THAT!
GraPhiX
Forum Support
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2005
Playing: Fixing stuff ;)
Posted: 15th Sep 2018 08:50 Edited at: 15th Sep 2018 09:58
I will do a step by step video and put it in my tuts thread as soon as I can
the Birds are from Gtox's bird pack on the store https://www.tgcstore.net/artist/206327/products
Welcome to the real world!
Main PC - Windows 10 Pro x64 - Core i7-7700K @4.2GHz - 32GB DDR4 RAM - GeForce GTX 1060-6G 6GB - 1TB NVe SSD
Test PC - Windows 10 Pro x64 - G4400 @3.3GHz - 16GB DDR3 RAM - GeForce GTX 950 2GB - 500GB SSD
Laptop - Helios 300 Predator - i7 7700HQ - 32GB - Nvidia GTX1060 6GB - 525GB M2 - 500 SSD - 17.3" IPS LED Panel - Windows 10 Pro x64
Various Tutorials by me
DannyD
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2018
Location:
Posted: 15th Sep 2018 10:35 Edited at: 15th Sep 2018 14:38
Hi Guys

Playing around with GraPhix CubeMap Generator
https://www.graphix.org.uk/app/index.html

and my SkyMap GUI creator from GraPhix Cubemaps
http://www.leznadsoftware.co.za/gameguru/download_cubemgui.php
And for what it is worth.... Nothing wrong with GraPhix Cubemap generator compare to Qbit

Just a pitty you can really use this type of Skymap anywhere.. :-(
Anyone to create Flying Simulator Models/Lua Scripts... that can make things interesting....

PM
GraPhiX
Forum Support
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2005
Playing: Fixing stuff ;)
Posted: 15th Sep 2018 11:13
here is a quick tutorial on Qbit https://forum.game-guru.com/thread/219897#msg2605656 hope it helps
Welcome to the real world!
Main PC - Windows 10 Pro x64 - Core i7-7700K @4.2GHz - 32GB DDR4 RAM - GeForce GTX 1060-6G 6GB - 1TB NVe SSD
Test PC - Windows 10 Pro x64 - G4400 @3.3GHz - 16GB DDR3 RAM - GeForce GTX 950 2GB - 500GB SSD
Laptop - Helios 300 Predator - i7 7700HQ - 32GB - Nvidia GTX1060 6GB - 525GB M2 - 500 SSD - 17.3" IPS LED Panel - Windows 10 Pro x64
Various Tutorials by me
synchromesh
Forum Support
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 15th Sep 2018 11:41
Awesome that was a great help thanks … I see where I went wrong
The only person ever to get all his work done by "Friday" was Robinson Crusoe..
PM
Teabone
Valued Member
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2006
Location: Earth
Posted: 17th Sep 2018 18:17
how did i miss these. I love these real life photo skyboxes. Some really interesting stuff could be made with these.
Twitter - Teabone3 | Youtube - Teabone3 | Twitch - Teabone3 | TGC Assets - Store Link | Patreon - Teabone3

i7 -2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz - Windows 7 - 8GB RAM - Nivida GeForce GTX 960

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-11-15 03:22:28
Your offset time is: 2019-11-15 03:22:28