3rd Party Models/Media Chat / FBX vs .X in Latest GameGuru

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hello! I'm new to GameGuru, so learning. But not new to 3D or even game content creation. I've been testing bringing in my own models to GameGuru and have noticed something a bit odd.

Currently I am using Blender to test with, creating a basic cube with a material, and exporting out. I am exporting to a folder that has my model (FBX or .X), my .fbe file, and my textures (in this case, a diffuse and a normal). There's also the 64px BMP file for the screenshot.

Exporting from Blender to either FBX or .X works and the object comes into GameGuru. However, there are differences. The same object is a very different size depending on whether it's FBX or .X. The FBX cube seems to come in to GameGuru about 50 times larger than the .X file of the same cube. In my FBX export settings, scale is set to 1.0. So, to get the .X file sized properly, I need to increase it's size in Blender by 50!

So, my first question is, why are they coming into GameGuru at different sizes?

Secondly, the FBX file has strange artifacts. The item is a cube and there is a strange shadow cutting across each face diagonally. The same cube, exported as a .X file does not have this artifact.

Any idea what's going on here? Any help would be appreciated.
PM
wizard of id
3D Media Maker
Years of Service
User Offline
Playing: CSGO
Posted: 25th Aug 2018 09:44
FBX is not intended to be used directly in the engine per say, it is suppose to be used with the FBX importer which converts it to DBO, I find that rather pointless having to import FBX only to be converted to another format.

You will need to play around with the scaling a bit to get the right size...not sure on blender FBX scales.The quick fix is to scale it in the FPE file to the size by a factor of 500 then.

Edit this in the FPE file till you get the right size, but ideally you should be exporting the correct size from blender.