Feature Creep / EBE ingame 4 base building games

Author
Message
G4M3R13
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th May 2015
Playing:
Posted: 20th Aug 2018 05:09
I would like to request that the Easy Building Editor be accessible ingame to make base building games.

It shouldn't be that hard to do ? Just a little system script adjustment for it to be able to be used ingame ?

Thanks
recreating dreams into reality
synchromesh
Forum Support
7
Years of Service
Recently Online
Joined: 24th Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 21st Aug 2018 01:12 Edited at: 21st Aug 2018 01:13
Quote: "It shouldn't be that hard to do ? Just a little system script adjustment for it to be able to be used ingame ?"

Trust me .. Its not that simple
The only person ever to get all his work done by "Friday" was Robinson Crusoe..
PM
Teabone
Forum Support
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2006
Location: Earth
Posted: 22nd Aug 2018 05:04 Edited at: 22nd Aug 2018 05:04
Would be more do-able for the F9 edit mode (if a contributor wanted to take that on... doubtful)

But for EBE i cant see how it be possible since it requires the grid, snapping, perspective building texture and asset selection ... all from within the engine UI. This would be way more then just a Just a little system script adjustment.
Twitter - Teabone3 | Youtube - Teabone3 | Twitch - Teabone3 | TGC Assets - Store Link | Patreon - Teabone3

i7 -2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz - Windows 7 - 8GB RAM - Nivida GeForce GTX 960
Belidos
3D Media Maker
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Location: Hertfordshire
Posted: 22nd Aug 2018 09:00
Quote: "t shouldn't be that hard to do ? Just a little system script adjustment for it to be able to be used ingame ?"


I'm getting funny looks from my co-workers, i can't stop giggling.
[img]belidos3d.swgrp.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/blogo.png[/img]
Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.
granada
GameGuru TGC Backer
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 22nd Aug 2018 20:12
Still a interesting idea though,bridge building ect

Dave
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
GeForce GTX 1050 Ti
AMD FX (tm)-9590 Eight-core Processor
31.96 GB RAM
1920x1080,60 Hz
PM
Belidos
3D Media Maker
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Location: Hertfordshire
Posted: 22nd Aug 2018 21:08
Oh yeah it's a great idea, it's just not going to be a quick addition in any way.

If you know how to script however, it could be possible to make a rudimentary builder script, but it will have limitations, the biggest of which is all objects have to be placed on the map when it's designed, you can't just add and spawn entities that aren't already added to the map, so you would have to limit the amount of building blocks a player can have.

[img]belidos3d.swgrp.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/blogo.png[/img]
Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.
G4M3R13
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th May 2015
Playing:
Posted: 27th Aug 2018 06:19
Quote: "I'm getting funny looks from my co-workers, i can't stop giggling."


Well I just thought you guys might want a little laugh over there by requesting this outlandish idea lol
recreating dreams into reality
Belidos
3D Media Maker
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Location: Hertfordshire
Posted: 27th Aug 2018 10:32
It's not the idea I found funny, it's that you thought it would be a quick easy change to a script, believe me it wouldn't.

The editor and game engine are actually two pieces of software that work together (you can see this in task manager when you run a test, you will see two different processes), adding something like that would be quite a big job.

I found it amusing because I see it a lot, where people make suggestions and because theyre not coders just assume it's a few lines of code to change, when in truth it could be weeks or months of work. It's kind of an in joke with game Devs and coders.
[img]belidos3d.swgrp.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/blogo.png[/img]
Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2021-03-04 15:43:37
Your offset time is: 2021-03-04 15:43:37