3rd Party Models/Media Chat / Game-guru imported fbx from 3Dcoat

Author
Message
imothep85
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2006
Location: Belgium
Posted: 22nd Jun 2018 19:48
Hi
today i have buy 3d coat licence on steam

i imported my cave rock textured and exported.

The weird thing is, GG understand FBX files from 3Dcoat why....mistery, and he also understand the textures coming from 3Dcoat... but i have a problem, when i look at my object inside GG.
the fbx from 3dcoat works perfectly, it is NOT the case with 3ds max 2017 and fbx exports...!
so here you can see my textured object inside 3dcoat.
then you can see the imported object inside gg, it works from 3d coat....
And finally the result when i run the game teh problem is, we see all the seams divisions.
how this can be solved???

and also what i have to do to my metal material to look like metal inside gg because the result is not the same as 3dcoat pbr material exported to textures.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Pirate Myke
Forum Support
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st May 2010
Location: El Dorado, California
Posted: 22nd Jun 2018 23:32
Check the fbx version from 3d coat and set export in max to same version and See if that works.
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz, 2400 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s), 8gb RAM, Nvidia gtx660, Windows 7 Pro 64bit, Screen resolution 1680 x 1050.

Stab in the Dark software
GameGuru TGC Backer
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Dec 2002
Location: Upstate New York USA
Posted: 23rd Jun 2018 01:40 Edited at: 23rd Jun 2018 01:48
Here are the settings I used. Make sure that you hide the Ambient Occlusion layer before exporting.
If it is visible it will be baked on the color texture and you will have the AO twice in GG which will make it darker.
The AO texture will still export even if the AO layer is not visible. Also pad the texture by 8, its at the bottom of the
export window. This should help with the seams. If your object is a high poly bake you may also need to add this line
to the FPE file. preservetangents = 1
The coffee is lovely dark and deep,and I have code to write before I sleep.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Pirate Myke
Forum Support
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st May 2010
Location: El Dorado, California
Posted: 23rd Jun 2018 06:03
Thanks for the info Stab in the Dark software.
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz, 2400 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s), 8gb RAM, Nvidia gtx660, Windows 7 Pro 64bit, Screen resolution 1680 x 1050.

imothep85
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2006
Location: Belgium
Posted: 23rd Jun 2018 13:13
if i add preservetangents = 1 it brokens my object, i get black parts.
if i try to export with dds format from 3ds coat, i see nothing inside gg
if i directly export in fbx from 3d coat it's not working

if i export into obj from 3d coat to 3ds max and then reconvert to fbx2013 it works randomly, sometimes yes sometimes no.

i have no ambient occlusion in my texture & export
imothep85
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2006
Location: Belgium
Posted: 23rd Jun 2018 14:45
and for those who want more infos about what is edge padding
http://wiki.polycount.com/wiki/Edge_padding
imothep85
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2006
Location: Belgium
Posted: 23rd Jun 2018 15:11 Edited at: 23rd Jun 2018 15:44
Stab in the Dark software, i tried to do exactly like in your picture but my mesh is invisible inside gg when i import from 3d coat the obj to 3ds max it works but then if i convert the object again from obj to fbx version 2013 for gg the object doesn't load in gg.
this is what i get all the time in gg

Attachments

Login to view attachments
imothep85
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2006
Location: Belgium
Posted: 23rd Jun 2018 15:53
the only result i get from 3d coat to 3ds max and then into gg is this

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Pirate Myke
Forum Support
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st May 2010
Location: El Dorado, California
Posted: 23rd Jun 2018 16:03
Can you please email me a link to the fbx file that comes from 3d coat, and the texture output.

I would like to check out what is going on.
My email address is in the email button below.

Thanks.
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz, 2400 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s), 8gb RAM, Nvidia gtx660, Windows 7 Pro 64bit, Screen resolution 1680 x 1050.

imothep85
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2006
Location: Belgium
Posted: 23rd Jun 2018 16:32 Edited at: 23rd Jun 2018 18:22
Idon't export from 3ds coat in fbx i export to obj then in 3ds max i export to fbx for gg, but nothing works
imothep85
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2006
Location: Belgium
Posted: 23rd Jun 2018 16:44
i sended an email with all my files

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2018-10-16 16:58:42
Your offset time is: 2018-10-16 16:58:42