Off Topic / A little bit more Retro Fitting

Author
Message
synchromesh
Forum Support
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 17th May 2018 16:33
Well I was enjoying myself so much I decided to put a little Website together.
My latest Retrofit is the Amiga 500 … Its turned out pretty cool if I do say so myself
http://www.commodoremods.co.uk/amigabuild.html
Check it out see what you think .
The only person ever to get all his work done by "Friday" was Robinson Crusoe..
PM
cybernescence
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2013
Location: UK
Posted: 17th May 2018 22:25
That's really cool Synchro

I once did a similar thing with a BBC micro case - years back, didn't look as professional as your mod though.

Cheers.
granada
GameGuru TGC Backer
15
Years of Service
Recently Online
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 20th May 2018 16:12
Very nice synchromesh,Ime always interested in this sort of thing.nice looking web site

Dave
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
GeForce GTX 1050 Ti
AMD FX (tm)-9590 Eight-core Processor
31.96 GB RAM
1920x1080,60 Hz
PM
GraPhiX
3D Media Maker
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2005
Playing: Quixel & PBR stuff
Posted: 20th May 2018 20:49
I like this @synchromesh very clever any old ZX Spectrums lying around
Welcome to the real world!
Main PC - Windows 10 Pro x64 - Core i7-7700K @4.2GHz - 32GB DDR4 RAM - GeForce GTX 1060-6G 6GB - 1TB NVe SSD
Test PC - Windows 10 Pro x64 - G4400 @3.3GHz - 16GB DDR3 RAM - GeForce GTX 950 2GB - 500GB SSD
Laptop - Helios 300 Predator - i7 7700HQ - 32GB - Nvidia GTX1060 6GB - 525GB M2 - 500 SSD - 17.3" IPS LED Panel - Windows 10 Pro x64
Honkeyboy
Valued Member
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Sep 2015
Location: Doesnt know half the time ;)
Posted: 20th May 2018 22:53
Now that is pretty nifty
Intel i5 4950 Quad core 3.3ghz AMD FX 6300 x6 cores 3.5ghz(unclocked)
8gb Ram 8gb Ram
AMD Radeon 7570 1gb AMD Radeon HD 6670 2gb
and a well fed mouse on a wheel

I only smile because i have absolutely no idea whats going on
Landman
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2011
Location: Cape Town
Posted: 24th May 2018 13:26
That is fantastic! Love it! Such a cool project to work on!

Well done synchromesh! That looks like a production unit!
Youtube.com/c/Landmanhd1080p - LandmanHD Youtube Gaming Channel | chrislandman.mypixelbox.net - My Design Portfolio | Artrift.com - Digital Art Community
Tarkus1971
Reviewed GameGuru on Steam
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2015
Location: England, UK
Posted: 27th May 2018 12:33
I used to have one of these, anyone remember it.



I hold the World Record on Minestorm of over 3,000,000 points.

The below text is wrong MB, corrected the bug in UK consoles. My Minestorm went way over level 13

The original version that came packaged with the Vectrex system included a bug causing the game to crash on the thirteenth level. Players who called GCE (Milton Bradley in the UK) and reported the bug received a MineStorm II cartridge free of charge in the mail.[4] Only a few people did this, making the game extremely rare among collectors.
Aftershock Quad Core AMD FM2+ 3.5 GHz 8GB Motherboard and Processor, A7700k apu, Asus GT970 STRIX 4gb Nvidia gfx card.
King Korg Synth, Alesis SR18 Drum Machine, Akai MPX8 sample player, Roland Fantom XA Synth, Axus Digital AXK2 Digital Drum Kit, Novation Ultranova Synth, Waldorf Blofeld Synth, Roland D05 Synth Module, Bluedio Victory V Headphones, AKG K141 Studio Headphones, Lenovo Ideapad, with Windows 10 64bit, 8Gb Ram and AMD A10 7th Gen Graphics.
Belidos
3D Media Maker
2
Years of Service
Recently Online
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Location: Hertfordshire
Posted: 27th May 2018 16:08
3 millions the world record?

Damn, wish I'd been into the gaming scene back then, didn't know there were records and such or I would have submitted mine and blown that out of the water, I was obsessed with it, used to hit the millions while watching TV, I must have had the second generation version because my version went way past level 13.
[img]belidos3d.swgrp.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/blogo.png[/img]
Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.
Tarkus1971
Reviewed GameGuru on Steam
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2015
Location: England, UK
Posted: 27th May 2018 18:33
My brothers wife, my brother now deceased still has his old Vectrex and the very, very rare 3D Imager. 2 carry cases, and loads of old games, Polar Rescue and Pole Position which are quite rare too. Just need to get them.
Aftershock Quad Core AMD FM2+ 3.5 GHz 8GB Motherboard and Processor, A7700k apu, Asus GT970 STRIX 4gb Nvidia gfx card.
King Korg Synth, Alesis SR18 Drum Machine, Akai MPX8 sample player, Roland Fantom XA Synth, Axus Digital AXK2 Digital Drum Kit, Novation Ultranova Synth, Waldorf Blofeld Synth, Roland D05 Synth Module, Bluedio Victory V Headphones, AKG K141 Studio Headphones, Lenovo Ideapad, with Windows 10 64bit, 8Gb Ram and AMD A10 7th Gen Graphics.
synchromesh
Forum Support
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 30th May 2018 11:27
Vectrex is a rare machine indeed and reaching hundreds of dollars on ebay
Hmm I wonder if I can come up with a Vectrex emulator launcher like my Commodore ones ?
The only person ever to get all his work done by "Friday" was Robinson Crusoe..
PM
Belidos
3D Media Maker
2
Years of Service
Recently Online
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Location: Hertfordshire
Posted: 11th Jul 2018 15:27
Sitting here all excited waiting to go home from work because i'e just had a message to say my Sega Megadrive Flashback has arrived (a sega mega drive with hd support, wireless controllers, and 85 built in classic games), it's gona be a long long night tonight
[img]belidos3d.swgrp.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/blogo.png[/img]
Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.
synchromesh
Forum Support
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 11th Jul 2018 19:11 Edited at: 11th Jul 2018 19:11
They are very cool !!
Im starting to collect these Minis
Although I don't have that yet
The only person ever to get all his work done by "Friday" was Robinson Crusoe..
PM
Belidos
3D Media Maker
2
Years of Service
Recently Online
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Location: Hertfordshire
Posted: 11th Jul 2018 19:56
Great thing about this one is its a full working mega drive so you can use all your old cartridges, a lot of the retro machines they've released lately don't do that, most of them are just emulators in a case shaped like the original console and don't have the functionality.
[img]belidos3d.swgrp.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/blogo.png[/img]
Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.
synchromesh
Forum Support
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 11th Jul 2018 23:57
Quote: "Great thing about this one is its a full working mega drive so you can use all your old cartridges, a lot of the retro machines they've released lately don't do that, most of them are just emulators in a case shaped like the original console and don't have the functionality. "


Ok you mention its a flashback which I assume is a remake … Can you point me to the version .. I want one now
The only person ever to get all his work done by "Friday" was Robinson Crusoe..
PM
Belidos
3D Media Maker
2
Years of Service
Recently Online
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Location: Hertfordshire
Posted: 12th Jul 2018 14:15 Edited at: 12th Jul 2018 14:19
This one:

http://www.argos.co.uk/product/7307500




It comes with 2x 2.4g wireless controllers (has two original sockets so you can plug original controllers in), a hdmi cable, and the following games built in:



You can also use 98% of the original console games on it too (the 2% includes those games that had the special chips in them for saving , and some multi-game cartridges).

Accidentally stayed up until 2am playing with it last night, had to be up for work at 4:30 lol
[img]belidos3d.swgrp.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/blogo.png[/img]
Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
synchromesh
Forum Support
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2014
Location:
Belidos
3D Media Maker
2
Years of Service
Recently Online
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Location: Hertfordshire
Posted: 12th Jul 2018 15:12
I would recommend if you can find some to get a couple of original controllers that plug in, wireless is good, but you never know whats going to interfere with it, or how long the batteries will last.
[img]belidos3d.swgrp.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/blogo.png[/img]
Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.
Belidos
3D Media Maker
2
Years of Service
Recently Online
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Location: Hertfordshire
Posted: 12th Jul 2018 17:01 Edited at: 12th Jul 2018 17:03
I'm not sure, the console has issues with multi-game cartridges, some it just won't read, others it reads fine, and again others it will only show some of the games on the cartridge.

Edit: It says on the first image on that page "ATGames gaming machines are not compatible", and the flashback is an ATGames console.
[img]belidos3d.swgrp.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/blogo.png[/img]
Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.
Landman
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2011
Location: Cape Town
Posted: 14th Jul 2018 20:28
Those ATGames machines have really bad sound quality due to bad emulation. That's one major drawback.

As Belidos said, it'd be better to get classic wired controlls too.
Youtube.com/c/Landmanhd1080p - LandmanHD Youtube Gaming Channel | chrislandman.mypixelbox.net - My Design Portfolio | Artrift.com - Digital Art Community
Belidos
3D Media Maker
2
Years of Service
Recently Online
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Location: Hertfordshire
Posted: 15th Jul 2018 08:01
Land man that's old bad information, the old versions had the sound issues, but the newer version are much better.

I agree they're not perfect emulations, but they're close enought for me
[img]belidos3d.swgrp.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/blogo.png[/img]
Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2018-07-23 10:47:12
Your offset time is: 2018-07-23 10:47:12