Product Chat / GG script descriptions, API definitions/uses and overall documentation

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Lee,
I am new to Game Guru and Lua scripting but been in various IT roles for literally decades. For fun, I started to get into gaming I was pleasantly surprised with GG and especially with its simplicity and now the new graphics. One area though that needs help is documentation. I'm not sure why it isn't already there but it would be a huge help to those who are trying to learn LUA and get familiar with the various scripts provided if there was a one or two line description for each script and what is used for. I think Game Guru would gain a much larger following and many new users if there were more information about the Lua scripts, an associated comprehensive description of all API components and GG Lua script relationship diagrams. The claim of being a simple game engine would be tremendously advanced in the market as an alternative to the other more complicated engines. At this point, however, for the trouble it takes to figure out each script and the APIs for GG, it is almost easier to go through the long tedeous process of going through the documentation and training process to learn one of the move complicated engines.

It could also be revenue stream for you or someone as I would eagerly buy a version the GG documentation if it was offered through the store.

Thanks much and I'll be interested in get your thoughts and those of other fledgling game developers.

JASAILOR
AmenMoses
GameGuru Master
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 15th May 2018 08:21 Edited at: 15th May 2018 08:41
global.lua contains a list of all the available commands with brief description.
The Lua scripting guide (which for some strange reason is only available on the steam pages) is a good first step.
Someone is currently writing a book! (which everyone can buy and then not read)