Third Party Tools / milkshape 3d

Author
Message
Sicbot69
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Apr 2017
Location:
Posted: 14th May 2018 11:31
Hi im chind of new to milkshape 3d but HOW do i open a entity like a charakter from gameguru in milkshape 3d?
cant find what format i scould importit like

thnx

sicbot
PM
Len the man
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Jun 2015
Location:
Posted: 14th May 2018 20:22 Edited at: 14th May 2018 20:23
I do not use Milkshape, but I found a demo version and couldn't figure it out either, so I had to search the internet... I found a link to the old forum of "The Game Creators" where someone said that you cannot do this by using import, but you need to click tools, then on the drop down menu (about 10 items down) you will see "Direct X Mesh Tools". I think that should work. If that doesn't work you might need to use other software (like Blender) to convert the model to an FBX or OBJ format.

I am not an expert, but I think this should work.
PM
Wolf
Forum Support
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Nov 2007
Location: Luxemburg
Posted: 24th May 2018 12:50
To convert files back and forth its good to also have the tool fragmotion ready.
Belidos
3D Media Maker
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Location: Hertfordshire
Posted: 25th May 2018 12:53
Quote: " If that doesn't work you might need to use other software (like Blender) to convert the model to an FBX or OBJ format"


Blenders .X add-on only exports .X it doesn't import .X, there is a version of the add-on that will import .X, but so far i've found it will import about 80% of gamegurus models with no objects in them.
[img]belidos3d.swgrp.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/blogo.png[/img]
Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.
RJ is out Leave a message
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Nov 2005
Location: The butt end of the U.S.
Posted: 27th May 2018 04:09 Edited at: 27th May 2018 04:11
What about importing & exporting the bone animation from a GG character? What program would be or could used with and or a plug in? And would Blender be the only one that could be used for rigging the 3D model for animation? If so, I'd love to see a tutorial on that one.
granada
GameGuru TGC Backer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 27th May 2018 10:21
A lot of people use this http://www.fragmosoft.com/fragMOTION/index.php

It’s easy to use and dose animation

Dave
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
GeForce GTX 1050 Ti
AMD FX (tm)-9590 Eight-core Processor
31.96 GB RAM
1920x1080,60 Hz
PM
seppgirty
Game Guru Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 27th May 2018 15:02 Edited at: 27th May 2018 15:04
Quote: "A lot of people use this http://www.fragmosoft.com/fragMOTION/index.php

It’s easy to use and dose animation "


Yes, the best cheap model/animation program to use with TGC products. You can also use UU3d for converting between file formats.
https://www.unwrap3d.com/u3d/index.aspx
Windows 7 Home Premium Service Pack 1.Intel core i5-2300cpu @2.80 GHz 2.80 GHz
RAM 16 gb G-Skill G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1066 (PC3 8500) Desktop Memory






Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2018-10-16 07:30:22
Your offset time is: 2018-10-16 07:30:22