Product Chat / Manipulating player health regeneration

Author
Message
RockingCamel
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Apr 2018
Location: Germany + Sweden
Posted: 24th Apr 2018 18:33
Hi everybody
In the properties for the Player Start Position there are two fields to obviously influence the player health regeneration.
One is named "Regeneration Rate", the other "Regeneration Speed".
Whatever I am trying to change in these two fields it seems to have no effect on the regeneration for the player health but setting it to zero, which in fact stops any regeneration. All other combinations of values for reg-rate or reg-speed let the regeneration process start after the value set in Regeneration Delay but within 2 or 3 seconds the health value of 100 is always reached way too fast no matter which values I set in those fields.
Does someone please have an idea how this works or is it just a bug? Thanks.
PM
synchromesh
Forum Support
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 25th Apr 2018 10:18
I got pretty confused playing with these settings a while back .
Load up and try big escape ( unless its changed ) the heath regenerates in seconds and you can see how the settings have been worked out .
The only person ever to get all his work done by "Friday" was Robinson Crusoe..
PM
Anubis
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Nov 2012
Location: 010011100110010101110100011010000110010101110010011011000110
Posted: 25th Apr 2018 14:59
1. Regeneration Rate = How much X health will be regenerated
2. Regeneration Speed = After how many (milli)seconds you get X added to your health
3. Regeneration Delay = After how many (milli)seconds should the regeneration begin

For example
1. input 1
2. input 1000
3. input 5000
means..

When you have taken damage the regeneration proces starts after (3.) 5000 milliseconds (equals 5 seconds)
Then the regeneration will be (1.) 1 Health per (2.) 1000 milliseconds.. meaning.. 1 healthpoint per second.

Hopefully this makes sense
-+- There are only 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary, and those who don't -+-
-+-------------------[Chipset:X58 CPU:i7.950.64 GPU:R9 Fury RAM:12GB DDR3 WIN:7.x64 PRO]--------------------+-
PM
Belidos
3D Media Maker
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Playing: The Game
Posted: 25th Apr 2018 16:28 Edited at: 25th Apr 2018 16:28
Quote: "1. Regeneration Rate = How much X health will be regenerated
2. Regeneration Speed = After how many (milli)seconds you get X added to your health
3. Regeneration Delay = After how many (milli)seconds should the regeneration begin

For example
1. input 1
2. input 1000
3. input 5000
means..

When you have taken damage the regeneration proces starts after (3.) 5000 milliseconds (equals 5 seconds)
Then the regeneration will be (1.) 1 Health per (2.) 1000 milliseconds.. meaning.. 1 healthpoint per second.

Hopefully this makes sense "


From what he's saying in the opening post, i think he actually knows all that, but he's reporting that changing the numbers doesn't do anything except turn it on or off.

Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.
Teabone
Forum Support
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2006
Location: Earth
Posted: 25th Apr 2018 16:30
I've been working on a possible improvement for this. Think there is room for better control over how the player auto-heals or does not.
Twitter - Teabone3 | Youtube - Teabone3 | Twitch - Teabone3 | TGC Assets - Store Link | Patreon - Teabone3

i7 -2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz - Windows 7 - 8GB RAM - Nivida GeForce GTX 960
Anubis
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Nov 2012
Location: 010011100110010101110100011010000110010101110010011011000110
Posted: 25th Apr 2018 16:45 Edited at: 25th Apr 2018 16:49
Quote: "From what he's saying in the opening post, i think he actually knows all that, but he's reporting that changing the numbers doesn't do anything except turn it on or off."


Possibly.. but for me this works.. as intended.

Maybe it has got something to do with the (milli)seconds..
if you put 1 or 2 for speed thinking its in seconds.. it's a very speedy regen.. and the difference between 1 or 2 in milliseconds is nothing.
-+- There are only 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary, and those who don't -+-
-+-------------------[Chipset:X58 CPU:i7.950.64 GPU:R9 Fury RAM:12GB DDR3 WIN:7.x64 PRO]--------------------+-
PM
synchromesh
Forum Support
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 25th Apr 2018 16:51
For me unless you got the recipe right it doesn't seem to work ...
One seems to throw the other right out so that's why I suggested big escape for an example.
The only person ever to get all his work done by "Friday" was Robinson Crusoe..
PM
Flatlander
GameGuru Master
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2007
Location: The Flatlands
Posted: 25th Apr 2018 22:01 Edited at: 26th Apr 2018 19:14

Morning Mountain Stroll also has an example of the settings as well. My difficulty at first was discerning between rate and speed. Seemed those two are the same. However, that might be a Queen's English issue . :SMILE:

Regeneration

Rate = 25 Sets the value at which the players health will restore.
Speed = 100 Sets the speed in milliseconds at which the players health will regenere
Delay = 3000 Sets the delay in milliseconds after last damage hit before health stats regenerate

FYI: 1000 milliseconds is 1 second.

The rate is the health value. Let's say it starts at the default value of 100.

When the value hits 25 it will start regenerating after 3000 milliseconds and after the last time player got hit. That is a 3 seconds. It can be adjusted as a shorter time or longer.

The speed is how fast it will regenerate. In the example that is 300 milliseconds or 1/3 of a second. I'm assuming it increases one digit at a time; or it might wait until it actually is larger than the 300 ms and regenerate all at once to 100. I think that is probably how it works and if the player gets hit it will start from the beginning. I'm not sure how that part works.

Hope this helps
Alienware Aurora R7 with SSD 256GB boot drive ( C: ) and a secondary drive ( D: ) that is 2TB
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8700 CPU @ 3.20GHz 3.19 with Intel Turbo-burst
Installed RAM 16.0 GB
64-bit operating system, x64-based processor
Windows 10 Home
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 with 8192 MB GDDR5 and 8095 MB shared system memory
RockingCamel
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Apr 2018
Location: Germany + Sweden
Posted: 26th Apr 2018 11:47
Thank you all for the discussion and help. Yes, it's like synchromesh and Anubis said, I know that but it doesn't do anything just regenerates health within say 2 seconds or so back to 100 whatever I am trying. I am at work now but will test your suggestions this afternoon with big escape and alike and will keep you updated on this.

BTW: Sorry for the question, it seems that I don't understand how the quoting function works in this forum. At least I can't find "quote"-buttons on the posts.
"Nothing is real"
John Lennon
PM
RockingCamel
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Apr 2018
Location: Germany + Sweden
Posted: 26th Apr 2018 11:56
Found the "quote" button in the Post Reply. Somehow strange, I expected it on the posts itself. Anyway sorry again
"Nothing is real"
John Lennon
PM
RockingCamel
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Apr 2018
Location: Germany + Sweden
Posted: 26th Apr 2018 20:41
OK, so it's working fine now indeed. Why it didn't do it earlier stays probably the secret of my computer or maybe some crossing problem between GG and some other software in my PC
Anyway, I found the following settings are working pretty well for me as I want the regeneration to be a bit more challenging:
Health 200
Reg.Rate 5
Reg.Speed 1000
Reg.Delay 5000

Thanks again for your help.
"Nothing is real"
John Lennon
PM
Flatlander
GameGuru Master
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2007
Location: The Flatlands
Posted: 27th Apr 2018 03:49
Glad it's working for you now. Hope you understand the mechanics of values. Those numbers should be quite challenging.
Alienware Aurora R7 with SSD 256GB boot drive ( C: ) and a secondary drive ( D: ) that is 2TB
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8700 CPU @ 3.20GHz 3.19 with Intel Turbo-burst
Installed RAM 16.0 GB
64-bit operating system, x64-based processor
Windows 10 Home
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 with 8192 MB GDDR5 and 8095 MB shared system memory

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-10-06 14:23:40
Your offset time is: 2024-10-06 14:23:40