Product Chat / [SOLVED] Weapon Editing, gunspec.txt, and Newbie Questions About Various Properties

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 17th Apr 2018 00:10
So I'm somewhat new to GameGuru. I picked it up (and a few mega bundles) in a Steam sale a few years back but just started fiddling about this month. Big props to Lee and the team because this program is pretty fantastic. I've been watching a bunch of Lee's broadcast uploads on YouTube and got a little bit inspired by the weapon creation one. I've plotted out a few weapons on paper but now I'm trying to bring them to life. If anyone would be kind enough I'd love to find out the answers to some questions I have.

1. Is there a gunspec.txt and/or <weaponname>.fpe parameter for making a weapon full-auto?
2. Has anyone had any luck with the DDS plugin for GIMP?
3. Is there a command for a quickfire of alt-fire?

Elaboration:
So the first question. I have a plan for a full-auto shotgun. Now I could just clone the modern/Uzi and set iterate to 12 (or whatever) but then I'm stuck with the Uzi model. I've been fiddling with a storebought combat shotgun that is semi-auto (no pump) and have learned a lot of flags/parameters from some RTF files floating online. Unfortunately I cannot find where/how a weapon is defined as full-auto. Is there a tag as simple as "isfullauto" that I've overlooked or is this something hardcoded into the program?

Second question is more about textures. In Lee's broadcast he talked about using Visual Studio community edition to convert DDS to PNG. That's a good idea of course but community edition comes with a lot of usage caveats. If I want to someday make money off of my completed projects I probably can't use it. Even if I can though it'd be really convenient to just edit DDS files directly in GIMP. I saw GIMP has a DDS plugin but reviews are noting it doesn't work with 64-bit versions. Does anyone have any experience with this plugin?